We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and i stayed at the Hilton on our honeymoon arriving from Hong Kong at 8am. The Hilton staff were amazing and let us check in early for no extra cost. As we had flown for about 10 hours overnight we couldnt have needed the sleep more. Our room was huge, and spotlessly clean. The location was perfect for sightseeing. We wished we could have stayed there longer.

Definitely worth staying, even the gym was worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    1,478
    548
    191
    118
See reviews for
424
1,599
432
1,573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

over the last year my partner and I have stayed in the Hitlon on 4 separate occasions and while it offers sentimental value to us (the reason we went back), i can't say that we would stay again. On two separate occasions (in two different rooms) we had air conditioning problems. While responsive to our complaints (they sent up a handyman who spent 3hrs!!!! in our room trying to fix it) we still spent two nights in unbearable heat and were not compensated one bit (this room isn't cheap and we were very disappointed).

In the more basic rooms the walls are paper thin, so hopefully you have some quiet neighbours when you stay (we unfortunately did not on our last stay). They also do not have doors wide enough to accommodate room service tables. Both dinner and breakfast they tried to get the table into our room with no luck (you think they would know this by now). As the table did not fit in we were then requested to take our own plates outside when we have finished - not 5 star service if you ask me!!!!!!

Overall the hotel is ok but the little things are frustrating. Every time we ring the "MAGIC" room service button it is not so magical; in-between being on hold every time you ring up to taking hours for room service to bring up requests. The TVs have minimal channels and are very frustrating to use (you literally have to click 3 times to change each channel!).

You would think the Hilton would treat their repeat customers a little better. to them, we are just another number who they don’t really care about

PS not their fault, but they are located on one of the busiest streets in Sydney - expect to hear traffic all night ...a very noisy hotel both internally (thin walls) and externally (are the windows even double glazed?)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Late, but had to log another fab Hilton experience. Great location, walked everywhere every day, and great for late evening stroll as well. Good shops nearby. Staff were excellent, I had a 'situation' they were very helpful phoning around for doctors on a Saturday and called around to book appointment, then even asked me how i was. We stayed on the Exec floors, accessing Exec lounge - breakfast and cocktails were one of the best we've had; not to mention the staff.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I agree with many of the 5-star reviews. The facility is beautiful, the location is central, and the service is excellent. My two favorite features were breakfast at Glass (the restaurant) and the gym. The restaurant had fresh eggs made to order every day, plus a wide variety of delicious fresh fruit, some of which was made into a variety of fresh juices/smoothies. The gym is fantastic: it is essentially a standalone membership health club that happens to be in the hotel. It has a lot of equipment and a range of classes such as Body Pump.

I would love to give this hotel 5 stars. I have to deduct, however, for the lobby and elevator experience. The lobby seemed always to be crowded, with few places to sit. Gangs of flight crews would mill about in the lobby, making it tricky to get to the elevators. Speaking of elevators, there were too few for all the traffic, especially when the flight crews arrived. If I wasn't out of my room by 7 in the morning, I might have to wait 10 minutes for an elevator. The only stairs were alarmed emergency stairs, so walking was not an option.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

To stay at the Hilton Sydney is excellent, all the essential boxes are ticked. When you leave home to take break you want to be able to relax, regardless whether its for business or pleasure. Hilton Sydney is located in within walking distance of everything that make Sydney one of the best cities in the world. The staff are all exceptionally well presented so helpful & courteous. Rooms have been tastefully done in modern comtempory style, absolutely giving thought to make ones stay sheer enjoyment. The restaurant & room service is first rate, five-star.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

WOW , Stayed @ Hilton during Mardi Gras and i would have to say this is one of the most trendy and stylish hotels in town. When we arrived at the Hotel the Concierge team greeted us with big smiles and directed us to check in, we had arrived early from an international flight from LAX. And we understood that check in was at 2pm but to our amazement we only had to wait 30 minutes in the lobby before they had a room for us. This gave us time to chat with the boys at concierge and geez they are handsome. ;) Well let me tell you about the rooms they are fantastic so modern and clean all you could wish for during a business / pleasure trip. During our stay we ate at the hotels restaurant Glass and it was soooo niiice can throughly recommend for breakfast and dinner.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paulseaman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

After a weekend of family commitments we spent a short 24 hours at the Hilton and dreaded checking out as we had so much fun.

We had a room on the Executive floor (which included some great drinks and canape's in the Executive Lounge) which despite us asking for one (admittedly only day's before we checked in) away from the lifts was immediately adjacent to the Lift Lobby. I was a little concerned - but didn't need to be. With the comfortable bed, the brilliant blackout blinds and the firmest of pillows from the Pillow Menu we slept like babies! (I am a little guilty of over analyzing hotels from other's comments on Trip Advisor).

We upgraded to the Hilton Breakfast that was brilliant too! (Although I'm sure the included continental breakfast in the Executive Lounge would have been good too!) The Glass Brassiere is a beautiful space.

As two Architect's having stayed in lots of hotels in Sydney, and in lots of 'boutique' hotels around Australia and the world we think we've found our new Sydney base. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully designed and finished and the staff were brilliant.

Couple of minor things - the room seemed a little small when we first arrived - but we quickly settled in nicely. The 'glass bathroom' is one of the better one's we've seen (as it was all 'frosted glass'). The night lighting was an excellent touch - as was the lack of 'direct' lighting on the ceiling - all lamps and recessed 'mood' lighting - brilliant!

Who would have known that you could get such friendly and personal service in such a big chain hotel - obviously aesthetic considerations are not the only consideration in making a customer's stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,803 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,949 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing