We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel really meets most of anyone's needs. It's well located, views from most rooms and comfortable beds. The design of the bathroom in our room was most peculiar - the shower over a large corner triangular bath with an odd step to negotiate getting in and out. Also - with two guests staying, why do you only ever get one shower cap! Breakfast was included in our deal and it was excellent. We couldn't master the coffee machine so the staff were very obliging and made an excellent cappuccino. All staff were very welcoming. Still waiting for wifi to came as a standard inclusion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lun2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lun2Travel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate your comments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    791
    336
    110
    79
See reviews for
457
784
135
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having stayed at many Pullman Hotels like Pullman Aachen Quellenhof, Germany and Pullman Montpellier Hotel Antigone in France to name just two, you could understand why I tried this Pullman Hotel in Sydney. On arrival an aggressive German Girl with an attitude did not understand she was in the hospitality industry, however I have learnt not to judge a book by its cover. The room was not ready so we had lunch in the first floor restaurant and whilst the food and the service were very good the surroundings and fixtures were very old, stained and tired, so cannot be recommended for a romantic dinner but for good value for money food, no problem. The room was an Executive King which was quite large with a great view of Sydney's Hyde Park, but again very dated and we needed to have maintenance replace three light globes that were blown and fix the airconditioning which was only on one temperature freezing. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was functional...but everything was very tired and sad. The housekeeping and room service staff were very good. The Executive Lounge staff were very good as was the food, but again the very tired and old. Breakfast was a buffet set-up and quite 'adequate'. I cannot confirm its advertised Five Star status more like a 4 star at best. Consequently my recommendation is spend an extra $35 per night and stay at the Sofitel Wentworth. I hope the management have an upgrade plan in mind as this Hotel does not reflect the Pullman brand name.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, which I cannot recommend make sure you get a Hyde Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneyAndPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear HoneyAndPaul ,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Whilst the hotel has been newly refurbished last year in 2013, we do have a few floors that were refurbished four years ago and being a popular and busy hotel, our rooms can experience a lot of wear and tear. It seems as though you were checked into the earlier refurbished rooms which is clearly due for a rooms audit. For this we apologise.

We do have many team members from many different countries including Germany that work with us and have worked in many of our other properties globally. Eastern European staff members in this instance, clearly appear too efficient and task focused, for this we sincerely apologise.

We would be happy to discuss this further otherwise whilst you have decided not to recommend us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for business in late July. It is rated as a 5 star but there is a bit lacking to warrant this. I would suggest that it is more a solid 4 - 4.5 stars. Why?
Ok - there is no doorman to greet you and we were required to haul our own luggage out to reception and take our own luggage to the room. This might sound petty (probably is) but I would expect this from a 5 star hotel. Check in was efficient and pleasant no more - no complaints.
Room was very spacious and easy to navigate the facilities such as lighting and heating/cooling. Bed was comfy and I had decent view of the city - no Hyde Park View as I was in a lead in category room. My major criticism of the room was the bathroom. It had a shower curtain! Arghhhhh! Call me fussy but no 5 star hotel should have a shower curtain! It was a big let down. Other colleagues had more luxurious bathrooms with glass shower screens which was disappointing for me!
Brekky was plentiful and lots of choice of both hot and cold items. Having breakfast at peak time will make table selection limited but this is obviously no fault of the hotel.
Hotel is in great location and accessible to lots of great restaurant and bars and also shopping across the Park.
Taxi's were easy to come by but you just had to risk life and linb to hail one as there was no door man.
I would recommend this hotel to others but not if you are looking for a true 5 star experience. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear mmij,

Many thanks for your feedback. We do have a rotating doorman rostered however at times they are called away to run other errands. We apologise that did not meet your expectations and understand your position.

Yes, whilst our hotel rooms were refurbished last year, our bathrooms with corner baths do have shower curtains. We agree that this is not ideal and will require a major capital refurbishment of the bathrooms in the future. Notwithstanding this, our bathrooms are well appointed and spacious.

mmij, many thanks again for your feedback and we do hope to see you return.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was in a reasonable location. Close enough to the city and overlooks the beautiful park. Check in was fuss free and quick.

I was allocated room 911 which was the room nearest to the lifts. The reason why my wife and I always go for a 5* hotel is because a good quality sleep is most important for us when we are travelling. Unfortunately, on this occasion we were not able to get proper sleep due to an undersized doona.

1) Undersized Doona - This is absolutely shocking! Never had this even in a 3* hotel!
The doona was much smaller than what it should have been (see attached pic). It did not even reach the ends of the bed when placed flat on the bed. Imagine if there was 2 adults under the doona, the blanket would be a lot smaller (see next attached pic). A bit silly isn't it?

I emailed Lorraine (the general manager of the hotel) at H8763@accor.com (got this email address on the official website) and also sent a message on the website to let her know of the issue but did not receive a reply (still have not received a response even after a few weeks now). Its shocking how the service industry can ignore your note if it was sent privately but respond promptly when it is in a public forum such as this.

2) Flooding shower
While showering, water overflowed to the outside of the shower area. (see attached picture). It was very inconvenient (and frustrating) to have to dry up the floor after each of us showered. I didn't notice it at first and it was my carelessness that I almost had a slip. Fortunately no injuries.

3) Lack of room service
There were only 2 very thin and used pillows in the room. We called reception for 2 extra pillows right after we checked into the room. Thought I'd call before we head out for dinner. First called at about 8pm, waited for 30 minutes but no one came. Called reception a second time and waited another 20 minutes but still no one came. Then decided to head out but dropped by reception to ask for those pillows again. Would have expected more from a hotel of this price.

To sum up the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park hotel - if you are looking for quality sleep, a shower without having to mop up the toilet floor, and service you can rely on... the money you would pay for this hotel would have been much better spent elsewhere. Trust me on this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Jeremy W

Many thanks for your feedback. Firstly let me apologise for the tardiness of this response as I have been on annual leave and your feeback was passed onto another manager who whilst investigating your concerns inadvertently missed responding to you. This by no means is an excuse but simply the facts.

I am surprised and concerned about the duvet matter which had been rectified as soon as your email was received. We do conduct regular room audits however will highlight that this room had not been audited for a few weeks. A thousand apologies for the incident. Were you able to contact our hotel team to have the duvet replaced?

With regards to the water in the shower there is small gap between shower glass and tiles floor which was not filled. The pillows are less than a year old and had not been used. This maybe an issue with the ironing of the pillow case which we have discussed with our laundry supplier. Both these issues have been rectified after audting the room. We apologise again and thank you for highlighting these matters to us.

Jeremy W, we do sincerely apologise for these shortcomings and welcome the opportunity to welcome you back. We will be in touch to discuss further with you.

Have a lovely day

Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The service was faultless; very friendly and efficient staff. Room standard was very good, as was the view across Hyde Park. Can't comment on value as we were using a loyalty club complimentary night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed overnight in this hotel, the cost of the stay including parking and breakfast for 2 was only $229. The hotel was clean, rooms spacious, location very good. Airconditioning was not functioning correctly and so it was hot and stuffy in the room. We ordered room service, which was nice and the breakfast was in a lovely room overlooking the park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raecunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear raecunn,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our room service.

Please accept our sincere apologies that the air conditioning did not appear to be functioning correctly during your stay. We would like to discuss this with you in further detail so that we may investigate the room that you stayed in to ensure that the air conditioning is functioning correctly for our future guests.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was very disappointed .We usually stay at the Sheraton on the park but my staff said this was 5 star .No way ! Felt like a travel lodge .
Rooms basic , foyer average .
Plain is the word .Maybe average .
I was just about to post this and it got worse .Cold soup and the english room service guy told me to call the operator .I hate whinging but $400 plus a night come on guys do your quality assurance as friend told me your paris hotel was rubbish too.

Room Tip: forget it if you want 5 stars this is not it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGM01, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear glenn m,

Thanks very much for your feedback and opinion. Whilst I respectfully disagree with your description of the hotel being average and basic, I do apologise if the soup was cold. Did you request a replacement as certainly we would have replaced the soup at no cost to yourself.

With regards to the room rate, this will fluctuate according to demand levels and if you have a corporate rate with us. It is clear that you did not have a corporate rate with us and we would be more than happy to discuss further if you wish.

Once again, thanks so much and have a wonderful day.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#100 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Property: Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Address: 36 College St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing