We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Not up to the mark”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Great position with comfortable beds and clean bathroom.Hovever, on arrival there were no bathrobes.After phoning housekeeping two tattered robes appeared which should have been destroyed.After mentioning the matter to the concierge,two new robes arrived.Not what one expects at the price.We decided to join the Marriott award club- now not so sure.However,we will give them another chance.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,682
    1,324
    394
    149
    79
See reviews for
758
1,281
214
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott which was centrally located near the wharf and restaurants and walking distance to the Opera house and botanical gardens. We had a great view of the bridge as well from our room.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The downside was the size of the room was quite small and the cost quite expensive.

Room Tip: Request a room at a higher floor with Bridge views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The location in The Rocks neighborhood is nice, but there are better choices and better values. The rooms that my colleague and I had were relatively small by American standards (and small compared to a hotel in another chain that we had in Melbourne). The air conditioners had a tendency to drip condensation onto the carpet, resulting in chronic dampness. The laundry is incredibly overpriced (AUD $18 to launder a dress shirt? Really?), and I had problems with the concierge that I have addressed directly with the hotel. All in all I have had a better experience at other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Delegator,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is with regret to note of your dissapointment and would like to apologize for the service experienced which did not meet you standards. Rest assured that the points you have raised has been well received and shared with all concerned. I sincerely hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to gain back your confidence in the quality of our service.

Kindest regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the amazing views over the harbour but it is pricy. I requested a high up room as I wanted a good view & it certainly was! The staff were really friendly & the hotel was lovely & clean. I dont think you should have to pay for internet in a 5 star hotel though

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed in other hotels around circular quay and only stayed at the Marriott because other options were booked out. Our room was on a higher level and had a view of the Opera house which was nice.

On booking we asked for extra towels. These were not provided until requested a second time. The phone in the room was broken. A vent in the bathroom door was also falling out. Overall whilst the room showed recent signs of renovation it was already looking tired. The air conditioner was also difficult to control and seemed to turn itself off. Either way we couldn't get the room cool enough.

The breakfast buffet was good but once again nothing special and the atmosphere of the lobby was unappealing with loud dance music being played from the bar which echoed around the lobby.

For what we paid we will stay elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elphenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Elphenstone,

Thank you for sharing your comment and sharing your feedback on what appears to have been an unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the service failures you experienced. Please rest assure that the team has been notified of these issues and have taken the necessary precautions to prevent these shortcomings to occur again in the future.
Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the opportunity to deliver a great stay in the future.

Kindest regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Marriott was a nice 5 star hotel. Good things:
* Clean
* Roomy
* Practical
* Price

Disappointing-
* Being told none of the rooms I booked were available (at my Qantas price ) so had to pay $50.00 per night extra to get a opera view room.
* Paying for internet at a 5 star resort?
* Charged for breakfast on one day when I was there alone ( supposed the be included)

I like this hotel and will stay here again as its so close to Circular Quay but little things just annoy me when 5 star hotels shouldn't have these excuses with the prices they charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jay F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It appears we feel short in meeting your expectations in some areas and for this we sincerely apologise. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a welcoming and comfortable stay with us. Be assured, your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this property. Not only is the location completely ideal for those wanting to explore Sydney (without a car), but the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We were able to get assistance from booking tours to scheduling our own day trips with the concierge. We had a spectacular view of Sydney Harbor, and the room was quite comfortable and quiet. We couldn't get over how many restaurant choices were within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The trolly was just a block away and we found walking around very easy convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdolinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing