We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very convenient to Circular Quay, The Rocks, Opera House, Botanical Gardens and 10 min walk to Queen Victoria Bldg. Check in staff was excellent when we asked to change room to improve view. We reserved an Opera House View Room. We were given room 2225, but asked to be changed to a room configured with the bed on the North side of the room, which provides a MUCH better view when sitting at the round table. We were moved to room 2203 and it has been fantastic to gaze up the Harbor (while on my computer :-). Gorgeous sunrise this morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,299
    390
    146
    78
See reviews for
745
1,257
207
841
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed at this hotel in january for 9 nights, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were literally treated like royalty and made to feel so welcome, the staff were excellent nothing too much trouble, excellent concierge who went above and beyond, they arranged private trip to the blue mountains, excellent knowledge of restaurants and bars,the hotel is in such a great location minutes from the harbour, the rooms were excellent well presented clean, we didn't east in the hotel but had breakfast the first day down on the harbour front, the rest of the time we ate at a little restaurant right next to the hotel (come out of hotel turn left the restaurant in right next door)
hotel bar relaxed and reasonable prices
would not hesitate in staying here again if went back to sydney

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This Marriott has one of the best locations in Sydney being yards away for Circular Quay , as well as the British High Commission!
However thats also a problem with the hotel trying to key out people who shouldn't be in the hotel as well. Marriott are in the process of renewing the electronic key lock systems and this has caused all sorts of issues . If you have access to the executive lounge the hotel 'protects' this floor preventing you from walking to it from 'local' floors by having a one way oak on the emergency stairs...not sure how 'legal' that is fire wise!

Anyway, means you have a key to get to the 30th floor, as long as it works...I had to visit reception 5 days out of 6 to get my key 'recut' as it kept failing. To be fair they are renewing the locks and readers in the lifts but its a real issue at the moment.

Worse still, the key locked floors applies only to the 30th (exec lounge - protecting all that high value tea and coffee...) and didn't stop a 'lady of the night' banging on my door at 10.30pm asking me if I wanted some business! Not really the sort of thing you expect from Marriott and a 4 star hotel in Sydney's CBD! Security arrived and advised she had probably got the wrong room...sorry guys , shouldn't have been allowed to happen and those electronic keys should be set to prevent this happening on all floors!! Lets hope someone in Marriott gets this fixed!

Service was very good in the lounge and many thanks to 'Nicole' in the exec lounge who was very helpful in sorting out key issues etc etc.

Final comment was really aimed at the check out staff who were not the most friendly when I asked why my rate varied form day to day...they 'demanded' I show them my reservation etc ...I thought they had it already and simply wanted a clarification and really got a short and terse response form the desk clerk..as a result I have cancelled my onward Marriott reservations for this trip ( another 7 nights) and switch to the Shangri la where their check in staff really do make you feel welcome. Sorry guys, all the good work spoiled due to 'abrupt' check in staff!

Room Tip: Choose the partial bridge view (and it is partial as its on an angle) or the premium opera house vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely hotel with fantastic staff in an even better location. Perfect for tourists as well as business clients due to its location. We stayed here with children to visit Taronga Zoo - Perfect to catch the ferry from circular quay.
Our room had a fantastic view of the Opera House. Its expensive but its worth it. We will return on our next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforeric7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
305 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On this stay, I had access to the executive lounge which offered outstanding food and drink. Everything else worked well, although the elevators are under reconstruction leading to some delays and difficulty using the key card system. Otherwise, it was an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Sydney Marriott for 7 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is a basic big city Marriott, very nice but nothing spectacular. The location is perfect, right at Circular Quay and central to shopping, the ferries, the Opera House, etc. The breakfast and drinks/food in the executive lounge were quite good. However, it was the wonderful Marriott employees that made the Sydney Marriott so special. From the front desk, to the concierge desk, to the executive lounge staff, everyone was friendly, helpful and wonderful. A special thanks to Nicole and Maria in the executive lounge, who were both so helpful and friendly, with great tips and advice as to things to do, etc., that it just made our stay in Sydney all that more special. We hope to get back to Sydney some day, and will definitely stay at the Marriott if we do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloboHobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great location for an event in the CBD. We stayed here for one night and didn't have an issue. We were given a room with a view of the Harbour Bridge which was nice. Staff were very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. The room was well appointed, couldn't ask for more. Price is up there but you are paying for location, convenience and a standard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,141 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing