We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Actually were here in aug 2012. Great view of opera house and bridge from the exec Lounge. Hotel is in a great location, minutes by foot to the harbor. Would stay here if we return to Sydney, as this is a great spot to explore from. Opera house literally minutes away by foot.
We also arranged a day trip wine tasting trip through the concierge. Highly recommended . Sydney is expensive, but we felt as though the price here were fair and the quality of the hotel justified what we were charged.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jalen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,300
    390
    146
    78
See reviews for
746
1,259
207
841
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hotel , clean and tidy. I have been here many times for work and highly recommend it! Perfect location for you tourists :) as for price...well it ant cheap but everything in sydney is not cheap... its worse then NYC but it is well worth the coin!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAceCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times on business. The hotel service is consistently strong. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. I like that the workout facilities are large and well stocked for my routine. The hotel restaurant is pricey and I had an overcooked steak there once. The breakfast is extremely nice. The executive lounge is very nice and they have great canapes in the evenings and views of the Harbor and Opera House. Very short walk to Circular Quay transportation, shops, and everything.

Room Tip: Try to get an Opera House view. Really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR42600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in a standard room with two double beds. This is a great hotel for tourists. It is less than a 5 minute walk to Circular Quay station, where a bus terminal situated there also gets you to get almost anywhere in the city or even the suburbs. Behind the station is the city's main ferry terminal, which brings you to Manly, Darling Harbour and Watson Bay among others. Hence this hotel is a great starting point for exploring Sydney.

The location also offers spectacular views of the harbour. (pro tip: only 3 other five star hotels offer a view of both the bridge and opera house)

The room itself is essential but well appointed. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The lighting is sufficient, and controls are simple and convenient. (by the bedside)

My main gripe is the lack of free power outlets near the beds, though you can plug out the one used for one of the the telephones, which curiously still worked even without a power source. The closet is also a tad tiny, which is a bane for longer stays. It would also be nice if they provided some free bottled water, but it's not a big deal.

The bathroom is small but functional. Toiletries are Thann branded as with all Marriotts, which are well stocked. I like the scent, though it leans to the masculine side, which may not appeal to women. It's also nice that they offer extras such as mouthwash and gel hand soap.

My biggest compliant is with the shower itself. It has one of those half glass things whereby the side further from the shower head is uncovered. This causes a lot of water to splash out of the shower cubicle, and the whole bathroom to fog up. Also the soap rack in the shower is quite small. If I had a dime for every single time I had to bend down to retrieve a bottle from the floor whilst showering...

Overall it's a solid offering with an excellent location both for accessibility and the views. The rooms are not fanciful but functional less a few quirks (that damn shower!), serving as a great place to crash after a day out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Marriott, returning after many years. It was nice that the rooms have been refreshed.

If you are a tourist, the best reason to stay is location. It is 3 minutes walk from Circular Quay ferry / train terminal, and easy walking to everything you would want downtown Sydney. Further, high rooms on two of the three sides of the hotel have fantastic views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge or Opera House / Harbour. Brilliant. Other things to like:
* Executive lounge is large and well thought-out. Worth considering. Great views too.
* Room fit out is fresh and sensible. Nothing lavish but above average.
* The staff are very helpful when you need.

For a business person, many of the reasons above are good reasons to stay. I would add:
* Compared to many parts of the CBD, the taxi to/from the airport to here is pretty convenient.
* You can catch to train to/from the airport - I find this really relaxing, trains at least every 10 minutes most of the day, and takes around 15 minutes to get there. Easy!
* The rooms were well setup for work if you need.

Downsides?
* Lower rooms are more "exposed" to street noise than many hotels in the CBD.
* It is large and corporate (although thankfully for a hotel this size the number of lifts is good).
* It is removed from the better shopping and eating zones of Sydney CBD. You can walk though...

Room Tip: The higher the better. Floors 20-32 would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for work. I upgraded to a suite with club access which were terrific, clean neat, tidy and great views across the harbour. Room was perfect, bed comfy and worth paying the extra for. Club, although small has done nice window tables with views of bridge and opera house. Food was delicious, fresh and replenished often. Drinks - top shelf with a few choices of beer. Overall - great stay...oh and the location is perfect. 150 metres to Circular quay. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at here during our stay in Sydney and had no complaints. The location of this hotel is one of the best in Sydney. You are very close to Circular Quay where you can catch a train or ferry. The hotel room was comfortable and we had a great view of the harbour. We had access to the Executive Lounge where the breakfast and other eats throughout the day were great. We can't say enough about the staff in the Executive Lounge who were incredibly helpful with information and scheduling of activities. We have stayed here a few times before and the great service, location and amenities bring us back each time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Togtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing