We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business and pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for business and pleasure”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Marriott for three weeks for work, and it was the perfect location. It was a short walk from most of the main attractions, and transport links to the others. The room over looked the bridge, and was a nice view to remind you were you are in the morning! The breakfast had so much to choose from, nice on a weekend light to much every day.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,730
    1,360
    405
    150
    85
See reviews for
784
1,316
218
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aucklans
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a short stay here in July, location is pretty much perfect for tourists. Excellent train and ferry access. Rooms are nice, on check in was offered a view upgrade for $40 per night but declined as thought that was a bit excessive. Had a nice high up city view anyway and were not in Sydney to stare out the window all day.
Breakfast buffet was superp but didn't eat at other times in the hotel.
All in all a good safe choice, comfortable and a good service level .

Room Tip: wouldnt bother with view upgrade unless a cheap deal,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freebie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Marriott Hotel at Sydney Harbour is located in the prime area for anyone visiting Sydney. Perfect for hopping a ferry and cruising to beaches or just enjoying the ride. Great restaurants and shopping are with in walking distance but the thing that sets this hotel head and heels above others is the staff. I have stayed there over 10 times and at many other Marriotts and other hotels but at this Marriott each encounter with check in clerks, the concierge, all the staff in the executive lounge and each of the Managers is pleasant, helpful and professional. It makes being away from home seem more like being at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Long weekend escape to 5 star hotel .. not quite 5 star .
Great location .. Opera House view room from the back ! Average ! No bath robes, slippers, newspapers in room , no free wifi in room , no free bottled water in room , very limited selection on buffet breakfast , hardly 5 star for the price ! More like 3 star . Staff were friendly and attentive. Overpriced hotel .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Marty R,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your review. I am saddened to learn of our service shortfall and we understand the frustration and inconvenience you have experienced. As we strive to improve our service quality and facilities, your feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to continually monitor our guest’s needs. Please rest assured that we have taken your comments seriously and they have been brought up to the attention of the management to avoid recurrence

You may want to know that complimentary in-room wifi is extended to Marriott Rewards member and is free to sign up. Should you ever wish to consider joining and taking advantage of the many benefits of Marriott Rewards memberships, it is very easy to enroll via our website or on check in the next time you stay with a Marriott hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we may have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kindest regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic beach
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Sydney Harbor Marriott for five nights. It was a fantastic location! We were about a block or two off of Circular Quay where all the ferry boats, buses and trains are. We could walk to the Opera House and the bridge and to many restaurants. Our room was a suite on the 31st floor overlooking the bridge and parts of downtown. Our room was nicely furnished with a jacuzzi tub and robes. Since it was our 40th anniversary, we had a bottle of complementary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we got to our room.with a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the bed was so comfortable! The man running the gift shop was also very kind and friendly.
Sydney is a safe place to walk around day or night. We found a great little breakfast place 2 doors down to the left of the hotel and a convenience store right across the street. Around the corner were many shops and restaurants including a food court that opened early in the morning.
If you needed a cab, the attendants just whistled and was came up immediately. But most of the places you could walk to. There was even the Pitt St. Mall with 800 stores within walking distance! If you needed to take a ferry anywhere all you had to do was walk out of the hotel and turn right and there you were at the wharf, bus station, and train station. We were thoroughly pleased with our stay at the Marriott and would definitely stay there again!
They also had a very nice heated pool and gym but we were too busy sight seeing to try them
out! Also if you are a Marriott Rewards Member you get free wifi in your room as well as free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. The bridge views are the best because there are windows in both th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkeldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed a few nights at this hotel, both at the beginning of my trip (my first stop after the US to AU flight) and at the end, before my return flight. I was rurally please that they had a room available in the morning and made every effort to upgrade me into a nice partial view of the harbor. The rooms are clean, well decorated and quiet, all key for working through the jet lag. With breakfast included, getting the day started was a breeze. From there, it was only a 2 minute walk to the harbor, the Opera House and the train station. I didn't eat many meals (other than breakfast) in the hotel as you are within walking distance of several great restaurants. Be sure to get out and visit them.

Room Tip: Always ask for a harbor view, when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Actually were here in aug 2012. Great view of opera house and bridge from the exec Lounge. Hotel is in a great location, minutes by foot to the harbor. Would stay here if we return to Sydney, as this is a great spot to explore from. Opera house literally minutes away by foot.
We also arranged a day trip wine tasting trip through the concierge. Highly recommended . Sydney is expensive, but we felt as though the price here were fair and the quality of the hotel justified what we were charged.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jalen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,317 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing