We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of Harbour & opera house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great views of Harbour & opera house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on business, arrived early and had no issue checking in, had a room with Opera house view. Rooms are modern and well equipped.
Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food. Bathrooms are large with both bath & shower

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,300
    390
    146
    78
See reviews for
746
1,259
207
841
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Tried this hotel for the first time after a recommendation from friends and was thoroughly happy. The staff are efficient polite and top class from the domestic staff to the guys out front of house. The room was outstanding and the location is superb for anyone wanting quick easy access to transport links and the Bridge View worth the extra surcharge. It is an expensive hotel but you pay for location / views. Perhaps the breakfast was slightly overpriced and in fact we ended up eating at a place around the Block but overall a highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Decided to stay in the city after a meal and a show at Opera House even though we live at Curl curl . Got a city view room but still had a small glimpse of harbour. Rooms comfortable and very clean and our room was very quiet even though we were opposite the lifts, did not heat a pin drop. The beds were the most comfortable bed I have slept in and I want one of them ! Buffet breakfast was included in tariff and it was very adequate. Staff at this hotel are so happy and friendly . I will now use this hotel when we spend a weekend in the city in future .

Room Tip: Rooms on eastern side quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Close to the Opera House, ferries, The Rocks etc. Rooms are very good. The staff on reception were the stars, very friendly and helpful. We asked for some guidance re restaurants (I often ask reception staff "where would you go") and they were spot on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We chose to stay at the Marriott as we usually do when travel. Over the years we have come to expect top-notch service at any the Marriott need hotels, especially the JW or the W series. While this hotel is named "Sydney Harbour", the service and accommodations are absolutely top drawer or top notch, whichever superlative you prefer. We stayed for several days to unwind from our twelve days of a photo safari on the South Island of new Zealand and chose to stay in Australia as our plane tickets were on United were from Sydney to SFO. We chose the Marriott. We were not surprised as we have come to expect a certain class of service and this hotel delivered. Because we are Platinum Marriott members we were able to enjoy the evening appetizers served at the upper floors. These were not appetizers, they were full blown meals! We did not gorge ourselves as we some other people eating there as though this was their only meal of the day. The staff was always cordial and accommodating. after the second day, they knew we were coming and actually greeted us by name and helped us find a quiet place to sit and enjoy our appetizers and sample the wines. We always ask for a king sized bed and this hotel has beds that are almost as comfortable as our Tempur-pedic at home. We were about halfway up and the street noise was quite muted, except in the morning drive time when the locals seem to enjoy proving that their cars are equipped with horns. We even splurged one evening and ordered room service that was absolutely excellent. We stayed for five days and every day was enjoyable mingling with the tourists and the staff each evening. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room with higher floor number as the vehicle traffic in the AM is quite busy and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 943RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Rick R,

I am delighted to hear that your stays with marriott continue to exceed your expectations and that your stay with us was so enjoyable. It is also fantasic to learn that you enjoyed the many benefits our Executive Lounge has to offer.
Thank you for your review and 'highly recommended'. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Sydney Harbour Marriott in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Jennnifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is located in circular quay, which is the CBD area of Sydney. It's a booming area during the day but pretty dead at night. However, you have great access to trains, ferrys, airport, cabs, and most of the Sydney tourist attractions. The staff is fantastic and extremely accommodating to all types of requests. I highly recommend upgrading to executive lounge access. It gives you access to water bottles and soda and breakfast and cocktails every night overlooking the opera house and harbour bridge. The fitness center and hotel amenities are fantastic for those looking to stay in shape during their trip. Highly recommend using the concierge services to help plan your trip.

Room Tip: Worth upgrade to bridge view and executive lounge access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgalatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've had the misfortune in staying here three times over the last five years and the only good things I can about this joint is that the rooms are clean and the location is great.

Service on the other hand borders on indifferent with staff not prepared to budge an inch from their fast food franchise style of service which is fine as long as they charge fast food rates; but they don't !

This shouldn't come as a surprise given the last room I stayed in just happened to have a copy of a book written by Bill Marriott casually lying around spruking about the secrets to the Marriott family's success. Guess what? Page after page of self congratuatory nonsense with hardly a mention of the people who should be central to the books plot: THE CUSTOMER!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. I am similarly disappointed to learn of the shortfall in our service and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of service, and the issues which you mentioned is certainly not the experience which we strive to provide to our guests.
We appreciate your feedback and will take the necessary measures to conduct an internal follow up with our staff to avoid reoccurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our Circular Quay hotel's location can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in our Sydney Harbour hotel's luxurious treatments at our on-site spa, or they may savour finely-crafted cuisine at our renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip to Sydney now at our premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing