We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our roomwas very big and had a beautiful bathroom with top ameneties , the buffet breakfast was very generous with a lot of choice , it is easy to walk to many local attractions , there are a lot of shops around and some very good restauranta .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bai l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    1,280
    381
    144
    77
See reviews for
730
1,239
206
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a suite on the 7th floor, overlooking the harbor. The room was spacious, very clean and well appointed. The wifi was excellent. We had access to the club on the top floor which had a bountiful buffet breakfast similar to that in a fine hotel restaurant. The evening cocktail hour offerings were also most generous, certainly sufficient for dinner. Drinks including champagne were included. The hotel is 0.5 km from the Opera House and close to the Botanical Gardens. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on high floor facing harbor. Worth the extra charge for access to the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

At check-in, I was offered an upgrade to a room with a view of the Sydney Opera House for an additional $60/day. I declined because you can walk to the Opera House in less than 10 minutes and spend the $60 on a good meal!

The best thing about this Marriott hotel is its proximity to Sydney Harbour, the central business and shopping district. My room was comfortable and well appointed, but would feel a lot fresher with some painting and carpet cleaning/replacement, there was very noticeable orange stain near the desk and a few other dirty looking spots. The phones and remote control were rather grimy. I don’t know why hotels miss this important housekeeping chore, but I always carry a little pack of Clorox wipes for this purpose. Since these are handled frequently by every guest, they are loaded with germs.

The in-room safe and other features were decent, as one would expect in a hotel of this brand and price range. Towels and bed linens were very good quality and fresh. The bathroom was had very good lighting, plenty of hot water and good shower spray. The toilet didn’t fully clear after flushing; it seemed to take 2-3 flushes, but that might be a regional issue. There was no rear-view mirror in the bathroom, so I couldn’t see the back of my head when blow-drying my hair in the morning. I simply don’t understand why most hotels haven’t clued-in to the needs of their female business travelers.

I ate three meals in the hotel: one dinner in the dining room, a lunch at the bar and on in-room supper. All were good as they met my immediate needs for convenience, but nothing special or worth a recommendation. Portions were generous, but like the hotel, I found the menu options overpriced.

Don’t be deceived by the promotions for the “spa”. There are massage services and aesthetic services, but I certainly wouldn’t call it a spa. I booked a manicure/pedicure; the service was in a small, very cramped and disorganized room. Customarily, I would expect a nice leisurely foot soak, leg and foot massage, plus the regular attention to grooming the nails and polish. Unfortunately, for a $160, I was in a chilly room with only a short tepid soak, very cursory foot massage. As for the manicure, there was no table, instead, I was on the “bed” and had to stretch my arm across my body for the manicure. The aesthetician was pleasant enough, but I wouldn’t call this a professional service. The manicure looks nice, but the polish on my toenails turned out streaky and clumpy looking – a really poor job. Further, I am not confident that the “spa” has a good procedure (if any) for sanitizing their tools. If you are looking for any personal grooming services, I suggest you look for a good, full service salon outside of the hotel.

Overall, the accommodation side of my stay was OK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagmamanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear MagmamanCan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am truly sorry that you found so many aspects of your stay with us to be unsatisfactory. The matters you have raised have been shared with all departments concerned and immediate action has been taken to improve the service and facilities we provide. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sydney Harbour Marriot.

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for several nights last spring. Our room was fine; views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera were a nice bonus. We were close to several museums, the Rocks district, and public transportation including the Circular Quay ferries. The Marriott's breakfast seemed a bit pricey (so many hotels do these days), but there were lots of nearby cafes to suit every taste. A special memory for us opera lovers was attending a performance of an old favorite ("Carmen" in a modern, sexy incarnation).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights in the spa suite, it was a great space we had a good view of the bridge, breakfast was good and the sevice was terrific.A great place to base yourself close to everything.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just stayed overnight in Sydney to board a cruise from overseas passenger terminal, was only a 10 min walk from the hotel. Staff were very friendly and we received a room upgrade to overlook the opera house which was lovely. Room nice size and very clean. The only small criticism would be even on a non smoking floor I could smell cigarette odour in the hallway. I would definitely return to this hotel. So close to Circular Quay.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you join the Marriott rewards. Rooms overlooking opera house was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I visited The Marriott for two nights and had an overall pleasant stay. The room was clean, nice and quiet, although the air conditioning did not handle change quickly, and it was impossible to get the room cold enough to combat the warmth of the extremely thick/hot quilt, so did spend most of the first night trying to find a pleasant equilibrium with regard to the temperature.

The staff were notably friendly and extremely helpful. The parking situation is a little awkward, and we forfeited the car to a valet upon arrival (though we would have preferred to park it and organise ourselves). Overall not a bad place to stay if you need to be in Sydney. Easy walking distance to shops/restaurants and obviously The Harbour -- would recommend.

Room Tip: There is free WiFi if you join the hotel as a member. There are movies available to buy, but New R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our downtown hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in luxurious treatments at our on-site spa or savour finely-crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip now at Sydney's premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing