We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location & good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Ranked #41 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The boutique hotel is smack right in the city centre, not far from a subway station. For those who don't mind walking a bit, most places of interest in Sydney are within walking distance.

We arrived at the hotel in late morning and the housekeeping was able to turn around a room quickly, so we had an earlier check-in, which we appreciate.

Our studio apartment room, which is the basic room for the hotel, is ok. The design of the room is comfortable, clean, and pretty spacious for a city hotel. The air-conditioner is however under-powered for handle its size. Even when we turned down the thermostat, the room remains kind of stuffy and warm. The room has a functional kitchenette for simple cooking, free wifi Internet, but no view. Baby cot's without charges, a plus since we've read some other Sydney hotels charging AUD20/night for cots.

Overall we think Hotel Stellar is decent for its location and ok rooms, and good bargain in Sydney if you book ahead to take advantage of their advance reservation prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

We loved our night spent here. Room with a kitchenette we didn't really expect. Staff was most helpful especially when we needed to store luggage before our flight. Cute little bar and great coffee shop attached. Would def recommend.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room. I do think it is a great value, though this is our first trip to Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here one night to go to a show at the Opera House. Average service at desk. Great rooms. Big with everything you could need in a small kitchen. Super Clean. Great bathroom shower. All looks very modern and new. Paid $150 which we thought was excellent considering the quality of rooms. Took us 25 mins or so to walk to Opera House. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Great little hotel with friendly staff and large, clean rooms. The cafe downstairs does a great coffee and rasin toast which I strolled over to Hyde park to enjoy the sunshine. Easy walking distance to china town or the many shopping malls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gr0wingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

My family and I had a great overnight stay at this hotel.The room was large with a kitchenette. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size. The room was spotless and was quiet. Check in was simple and we parked our car on site. Parking has to be prebooked as spaces are limited and they stressed due to space restrictions car must be small to medium sized. Access to the city shops is an easy 10 minute walk away. We purchased a Sunday funday family pass and for $10 for the whole family were able to ride trains,ferries, buses and lightrail all day. Checkout was easy. Loved this little hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micha1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booking for one night only on a Saturday is often fraught, especially at last miinute. We booked Hotel Stellar only a few days before, mainly because of its position (a few doors from Hyde and and five minutes to Museum Station) and lower price than other four star accom., but to be honest we had never heard of it. I suspect we had the plum room (corner room with side views to the park) but what a delight - warm but uncluttered with classy decor and furnishing, free wifi, desk and small dining table, kitchenette, large bathroom with excellent shower. We arrived early because we were going to an early opera matinee - our bags were cheerfully and safely stored in the luggage room until later in the day. Indeed all the staff morning and night were excellent. Next morning breakfast in a basement lounge was fresh, and tasty - a true continental breakfast with fruit cereals, toast, pastries and ham / cheese.

Room Tip: Corner room near top floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hopingfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Spacious clean room and very helpful and friendly staff. Nice cafe next door. Would have booked another stay right there but the frontdesk rate was the very same I get online, but found a better rate at another place in the meanwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 186 in Sydney
4,584 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
240 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,425 reviews
Veriu Broadway
#5 of 186 in Sydney
172 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar

Address: 4 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £94 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney
Best Western Stellar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing