We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Ranked #42 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is perfectly located right next to Hyde Park & the cathedral, within easy reach of the central train station and just a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay & The Rocks.
We stayed over new year and compared to the prices of some places in Sydney, our apartment offered very good value.
It was spacious, had a nice bathroom, comfortable bed and a very useful kitchenette.
Didn't really utilise any of the facilities at the hotel as we were out & about all the time, but the staff were friendly and were happy to store our luggage in a locked room for several hours on our day of departure.
All in all, a good spot to stay in central Sydney and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    401
    76
    19
    10
See reviews for
140
312
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in November for 6 nights. The rooms were spacious and the bonus was the kitchenette which included a microwave and fridge. Given the cost of eating out in Sydney this saved us alot of money. We also made use of the laundry facility which was a bonus on an extended trip.The only complaint was the banging of doors due to the self closing fire doors of our neighbours early in the morning. Otherwise great value and well located for all the sights.

Room Tip: Avoid being too close to the lift and noisy families who are in and out of each others rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
753 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Stellar. There's an IGA around the corner on Oxford. Bought our breakfast fixings and ate in the room. Our room faced Wentworth and was reasonably quiet. Comfortable bed. Hot water. We walked everywhere in the CBD and beyond. Central Station. Paddy's Market. Paddington. Kings Cross. Royal Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I stayed over NYE, was quite pricey ($500ish just for the 31st of Dec, but that was still relatively cheap compared to other accommodation in Sydney city, plus we booked it 2 days before, very last minute!)
We stayed in a studio apartment on the 6th floor. The room was spacious enough, very clean and organised. The only things I could complain about would be the lack of bright lighting and how small the flat screen tv was BUT other than that, nothing to complain about.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly/ The day before we arrived we asked if there was a stove top included in the kitchen, we were advised they do not have any so upon our arrival, they had placed a hot-plate and a fry pan + cooking utensils for us to use if we wanted to. I thought that was pretty nice of them considering we didn't even ask for it.
Also, the cleaning staff were very sweet and polite when they came to give us fresh towels :-)

Room Tip: Because of the areas the building is facing, don't expect any awesome view or anything, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The rooms in this small hotel were clean and comfortable. The hotel is very conveniently located. Restaurants, shops and the railway station were a short walk away. The staff were helpful. Parking was available at a reasonable cost. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I booked a room about 5 hours from Auckland airport before checking in end November, for just 1 night. Expected a 4 star hotel, considering the price of AUD399. Checked in at 8PM and out next day at 9am. The hotel and the room failed to meet reasonable expectations, considering the rating and description on booking engines and the price. It was definitely not 4 stars.

I got a quiet facing studio room on the 4th Level.

My impressions:
1. Small hotel, felt very budget like, definitely not 4 star. I would give 2.5-3 stars.
2. Friendly single night receptionist did a quick check in and gave me enough information I required.
3. Room adequate, not 4 star standard, tired and dated. Not spacious but not very small. Average. Ditto the bathroom - quite dated. More effort required to get good cleanliness. Shower head and taps needs replacing. Hot water and power, good.
4. No room service - so had to go out for dinner. Cafe closed for the night. Good cafe / pub food within 10-15 minute easy walk away.
5. Great location, quite central, walking distance to George & Pitt Sts. Near train station.
6. Requested a late check out 12 pm instead of 10am. Not granted. No problem, left bag at storage. Polite and friendly morning receptionist did a quick check-out.
7. Cafe breakfast, did not bother.
8. Very difficult to get taxis. I had to go to nearby Pullman to get a cab.
9. Very expensive for what I got and not worth the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was the best hotel stay I have had. The hotel itself from the outside looks nice, well-kept, and boutique-like. Inside was just as positive - lovely studio apartment-type room. I was impressed with how well-kept the room was. Boutique feel and charm with modern fittings - clean, well-presented, and 100% functional. It was the first time, at any hotel in the countries I have stayed, where there wasn't one problem. I had no reason to phone the desk to ask for something missing, get something repaired, or ask for instruction on how to use something. That, itself was such a relief. The hotel desk staff were friendly, helpful, and inviting. The cleaning staff were polite and certainly seemed to ensure the rooms were cleaned to the last detail. The location was perfect for me. I could jog in Hyde Park in the morning - right across the street. Easily get to the train - right across the street and a two minute walk, and have immediate access to shops, theatres and cafes on Oxford and Stanley Streets. Central to all main centres and shops in the city. Thank you BW Sydney. You made my Christmas holiday so pleasantly remember-able!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,993 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#68 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Address: 4 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney
Best Western Stellar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing