We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good for value - 2mins from the city.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good for value - 2mins from the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited hotel Stella for five days in August 2014. We had pre booked months before the visit and booked a double room with an extra single bed for 3 adults.
We arrived at hotel stellar two hours before it said we could check in. This was no problem and was greeted by a lovely gentleman who booked us in and gave each of us a room card. The room was very clean and tidy. Beautifully decorated and modern. There was a small kitchenette, dressing table, king size bed, single bed(which was extremely comfy both beds), small breakfast table, large shower (very big and lovely), air con/heating, hair dryer,iron and ironing board.
Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front but there was little noise in the night (I never woke up) despite being on a busy main road. Due to it being winter the room was cold at night but this was soon rectified by using the air con. (Plus there was extra duvets in the wardrobe).
The only negative if one was that the bathroom was very cold (I think the window was single glazed and poorly fit as a draft came through it and was noticeable every time you went in the bathroom , I'm sure this is no issue in the summer!!!) however it really did help having a heat lamp in the bathroom which soon heated the room up.
The hotel was literally 10 minutes walk from the city which was brilliant but meant you wouldn't hear loads of noise at night.
We all really enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit this hotel again. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRG48202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    398
    73
    19
    10
See reviews for
137
307
83
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked well in advance via Expedia - arrived to be told we had an "upgrade" to a Superior Room - plenty of space, sofa, table and chairs and roomy entrance area - all on 3rd floor. Quiet room - very clean and neat - everything you need to do basic self-catering. We found it a very convenient location, easy walking to Museum station, Hyde Park, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour facilities. Helpful and polite staff.

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor corner suite facing down onto Wentworth Avenue - quiet enough yet with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janny-Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This small hotel has a lot more positive than negative.
Positive:
1. Amazing staff...very helpful, always smiling and courteous - all of them...(great customer service skills)
2. Spacious room
3. Clean - whether it is the room or the building itself...this hotel is well maintained
4. The hotel is centrally located - everything is walking distance
5. Safe location
6. Affordable rates with free wifi

Negative:
1. The restaurant in the basement is serving the same food everyday (buffet breakfast) however there is a small cafe in the main floor...they serve great coffee, tasty breakfast sandwiches and very friendly staff
2. There are some clubs nearby which can be a little noisy in the wee hours but there's nothing the hotel can do...honestly, it didn't bother us and we stayed in room 101 (second floor).

Over all...I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sydney...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Looks bad on the outside, but brand new rooms and bathrooms are lovely! Spacious, clean and sparkly new. Free wifi. Easy walk across park to shops.
I made a mistake with my booking, and the front desk staff were so wonderfully helpful, kind and supportive.
I stayed at the Sofitel the last few nights for work, it's much nicer here at BW!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPhotoCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Rooms were very large and comfortable. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. We could walk to Kings Cross, down to the Harbour, bus stops and train stations very handy. Shuttle bus from the airport will drop you right outside the hotel and pickup on your way out. Fabulous little licensed bar right next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is a old historic building and not extremely attractive from the outside but It's actually quite nice inside. The room is big, clean and comfy. Great location only 5 mins walk from the museum station. Staff is helpful and polite. Will come again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

After having lived around the corner from this hotel for 5 years, I found myself staying the night here after moving away and needing to stay overnight in the city for an event. What a little gem for anyone coming from out of town!
First of all, it's in a great location nestled between the city and Surry Hills; 1 minute to Hyde Park, 5 minute walk to the shops and Pitt St, 20 minute walk to Circular Quay and only footsteps from some of the best cafes, restaurants and bars in Surry Hills (e.g. Two Good Eggs, Paramount Coffee Project, Nomad, Longrain, Zushi, Wild Rover, the Winery to name a few).
Secondly, the rooms have been modernised and the one we stayed in was huge! Basic but clean and comfortable with a nice, clean modern bathroom and little kitchenette. Nice big windows overlooking Wentworth Avenue as well.
Thirdly, great value for money.
The only negative was that the elevator was having issues but I am sure they have fixed that by now.
Having lived in that neighbourhood for years, I'd really recommend this hotel for tourists as it's in a great location for exploring and eating out, and well priced for Sydney. Not a luxury property like the Shangri-La or Sheraton on the Park, but a nice, comfy little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#46 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Address: 4 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney
Best Western Stellar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing