We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first visit to Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #149 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Whitburn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My first visit to Sydney”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our first visit to Sydney as we have always went to Brisbane, however Sydney is more akin to a larger city like London and we were looking for a reasonable priced hotel. I dont think there is such a thing as a cheap hotel in Oz however we found the hotel basic which we expected.

The hotel has a good but not a great location just of George street towards the bottom. I would say it takes about 20 minutes at least to walk uo to the opera house and maybe a bit more. A very good location to the bars and resturants in the harbour area and right next to China town where all the Chinese resturants are.

The staff were very pleasant and friendly, we arrived at 10am from an early flight from Brisbane and were surprised to get access to our room immediately which was a bonus.

We were room only so cannot comment on the food side however there were deals to advertise breakfast which we didnt bother about as we wanted to get out and about.

Our booking was for three nights and while the room was small and basic, it was clean and well maintained during our stay. The bathroom was also small and no extras except soap/ shampoo dispensers but adequate for what we wanted. There was also a tv in the room if required.

Overall no real complaints about the hotel as it was clean, tidy and comfortable. Only point I would make was there was only one lift that I could see and could take a while to come if you were busy.

Anorther bonus was we took the train from the airport and the hotel was within walking distance from the station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordyWhitburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time posting a review.
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay, and would like to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    121
    175
    89
    83
See reviews for
84
146
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed a number of times at this hotel when under the auspices of Rydges. Now that they have pulled out of management the hotel quality has obviously declined significantly. The maintenance of the rooms is basic at best. I was grateful to obtain a quite side room looking East on the 4th floor. ( I declined a 2nd floor room offered on the Campbell Street side even though I had specifically asked - in my email booking - for a high quiet room).
On room arrival, after opening the door, I was immediately confronted/struck by the stains on the carpet immediately inside the door - these stains could have been easily removed during daily cleaning - so much for room inspection by supervisors. The room was otherwise also tired, with wall damage evident and walls in need of refreshing. I had doubts about the cleanliness of the bed cover so used a towel on top whenever resting upon it. Having said that at least the bed was comfortable.
The bathroom only provides for a wall mounted soap/shampoo dispenser. No amenity kits are provided except for a cheap plastic shower cap. A sign in the elevator announces a dental kit can be purchased at the front desk for $2 !!!!
The air-conditioning worked satisfactorily, but the use of the TV was a challenge as it was programmed to display subtitles across the middle of the screen. I did ask the receptionist on one occasion did she know how I could resolve the matter but she did not know - it was left at that.
The plus in respect of this hotel is that it is most convenient to either Central Railway or Museum Station. It takes approx 10 minutes to walk from either location. A couple of blocks away one is in the heart of Chinatown, and masses of buses transit George Street, just close by to the front entrance, offering quick transit to downtown and Circular Quay . A tram one block away provides an easy connection to Darling Harbour.
Unfortunately the room rate is now rather exceptionally high for the nature and basic standard of this property, whereas once it was relatively good value when under Rydges management.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time in reviewing the hotel, and expressing your concerns.
We are currently undergoing some soft refurbishment throughout various parts of the hotel and trust that it would be back to the standard which you were used to. Please feel free contact me directly on your next stay in Sydney. I have taken note of your particular visit and concerns and will address them for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our first and last time here - it is very 'tired'. Peeling paint, no sound proofing, an old bed and very worn carpet!
Location is great, the staff were okay and the a/c works.
It was a Rydges, but has gone downhill.
Our room was OK in size.
Unless it's very cheap, stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your positive comments in regards to the location and our staff. As for your concerns in regards to the facilities and room, we are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment throughout various parts of the hotel and trust that it will be right for your next stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Nothing about this hotel was appealing. The entrance and rooms were nothing like the photos posted on the website. I took a family member to Sydney to celebrate her 70th birthday and was totally embarrassed to think I chose such terrible accommodation. The room with single beds was very small, the carpet dirty and very worn. The bedspread had stains on it, not inviting at all. The walls were dirty and marked, desperate for a fresh coat of paint. There was no fly screens so couldn't leave the window open. Was too scared to use the air conditioner because we could see how run down the whole place was, who knows when the air conditioner had been cleaned last! On checking out we asked for our bags to be stored for a couple of hours for which we were charged $2 per bag. The only positive is the location. Very close to the light rail which we used to get to the Lyric Theatre to see a show. Just a short walk to Paddy's Markets and Chinatown. Would not recommend this hotel at all. Would rather pay more to get a clean bed and room.

Room Tip: Don't believe there are any good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crunchie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Unless you secure this hotel for a great price, I'd suggest you keep looking. Whilst it is in a great location - right in China town, 2 mins walk to Paddy's market, not far from Darling Harbour, this isn't a very pleasant looking part of town. so don't expect scenic here. We stayed for one Saturday night and for our purposes it was fine. But we paid well for an ordinary hotel. i had fairly low expectations right from check in and they were met. Stained carpets, patched up parts in the rooms, questionable bed covers, but the beds were surprisingly comfortable. Our air con worked well and the room was quiet and quite generous in size. We didn't bother with the breakfast as there as so many cafes nearby. The parking is quite cheap for Sydney $30 but once you check out you do need to leave. Check out was 11am which was a plus. In short would I ever stay here again - not a chance but if you get a great deal and don't have high expectations - I'd probably say grab it as it is well situated to explore Sydney.

Room Tip: saw 3 different rooms they all were quite similar - nothing to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We got a really good deal for this hotel - $99 per night including breakfast and late check out. It was OK for the couple of nights we stayed there; the room could not be faulted in terms of cleanliness but a few minor changes could really lift this hotel. We had a double room and you literally could not swing a cat in there - once our bags were in there was not room for much else. Positives were: Central location, good breakfast with a lot of variety, clean room and bathroom, good amenities such as fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryer and flat screen tv. Negatives were: very small room, mattress hard as a rock, walls very thin (we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room) and could have done with a coat of paint and a couple of decent prints on the wall.
Overall, I would say if you get a good deal and only need one or two nights then it is fine.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a queen room - I assume they are bigger than the doubles....?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

good central located hotel for harbour(darling harbour about5-10 min walk) from which you can carry on to most of sydney. we upgraded to the breakfast package which was well worth it as all you can eat smorgasbord style kept you going to late lunch. good for transport links as 5mins from central station(train), 1 min from light rail or nearest bus stop. would return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#105 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing