We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for. Great location, nice breakfast room ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #155 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Decided to stay at the Capitol Square Hotel purely because of the price, paid $149.00 for my wife and I including breakfast. We were checking in late afternoon, then going out to dinner and a show so wanted a room just to sleep in.
The room was clean, the pillows hard, the bathroom small and in need of small repairs.
Breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, toast, cereals, juices, coffee from a machine.
The staff at reception and at the restaurant were polite and efficient.
Used the parking station next door at the cost of an extra $30.00.
All in all for the price I will stay again as hotels at the other end of George St cost at least twice as much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect when we came to see The Lion King, but unfortunatley the motel car park doesnt open til 8am and we had to catch a flight at 7am the following morning so we had to move our car onto the street after 10pm ....if we could find a car spot and still pay the car park $30..which is reasonable for overnight but not for parking from 2pm to 10pm. Extremely disappointed. The room was teeny tiny and the motel does not supply soap in the shower....only shampoo. The soap is located over the sink. Would not come back. Would rather pay a little bit more for comfort and security for the car.....not to put on the street!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jules170959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a good stay close to all that Sydney has to offer best of all its in the middle of the city there a free loop bus that goes around and there a really nice church opposite the hotel place to eat there is China town there eating world food food Court and market city for outlet shopping when the best local I have stayed at.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Teckhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as we went to the Lion King. This hotel is really good, you just have to have realistic expectations.

Location- We paid $99 for one night stay in queen room breakfast and late check out inclusive. This hotel is right in the thick of the city 2 minutes from China Town and Paddy's markets, a stone throw away from the Capitol theatre and a short walk to Darling harbour. This is extremely good value.

Cleanliness- Our room was very clean, we could see faults in the bathroom but nothing that would be enough to bother us. Great heat and water pressure in the shower.

Breakfast- If breakfast is not included in your stay do not purchase, Sydney has an array of excellent cafes and restaurants you can have breakfast at and this is not one of the best. Range offered was poor and the eggs looked revolting and the french toast was soggy and tasteless.

Staff- lovely.

Parking- $30 for guests directly under hotel. Very reasonable.

We would definitely stay here again if on a budget - close to everything clean and convenient, but i wouldn't pay over $120 to stay at this hotel, i do believe the prices should reflect the quality of the stay offered. If you can get a good price and stay realistic in your expectation of the hotel then you will love your stay

Room Tip: fourth floor was good, take and extra pillow as only one thin one is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatesGotTheTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is ok for one or two nights but if your going to spend $150+ a night may be worth looking around.
Pros - location. Close to Chinatown, restaurants,nightclubs. Next door to the Capital Theatre. Walking distance to Darling Harbour. Breakfast is ok. Secure parking next door at $26 a night for hotel guests.
Cons - staff average as is the hotel. Rooms are small and need refurbishing. Hotel looks worn and tired. A good maintenance overhaul would help. Loose floor boards at Reception and in the lift, chips in walls, carpet worn in spots, bathrooms dated. Putting it bluntly some areas of this hotel look dirty.

We arrived mid afternoon got past at least four trolleys of laundry still waiting to be picked up at the hotel entry (not a good look). Manager spent a lot of time on phone (does not appear to interested in guests) ran into the manager (or possibly senior member) in lift next day couldn't be bothered saying hello to any of the guests crammed in the small lift with him (again -not good for public relations). Receptionist was average.

This hotel is busy and it appears to cater primarily for those attending the Theatre. Don't expect anything great - it's not. Needs work. My recommendation for one night maybe two it's ok, three nights or more and you'd be pushing it. If your looking for somewhere to impress or want something a bit special - this is NOT it.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, check if they have any large rooms available and their cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nitemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is no fancy hotel but for the price and the location, I think it's good value for money. The rooms are a little dated but have everything you need: tea/coffee making facilities, bar fridge, hair dryer, tv, temperature controlled aircon and comfy beds. Our room had no view to speak of - just a view across the tiny central space into the next building's corridor! We needed extra pillows and even though reception is manned mostly just by one person (a one-desk no-frills affair), our pillows were delivered without delay. The water in the shower was great and again, although dated and small, the bathroom was adequate. The location is excellent - next door to a food court with the Capitol Theatre besides that! In the other direction, one building accross and you are on George St. The Receptionist kindly told us about the free buses going up & down George St and we made good use of those. A short stroll and you are in the heart of Chinatown. We had the hotel breakfast one morning and found the hot & cold buffet to have variety and of good quality. I did not require internet or parking so I cannot comment on those. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was attending a performance at the Capitol Theatre. This is good value for money in Central Sydney but do not stay here if you like modern 5-star hotels! For the budget-minded traveller, you will find this hotel convenient and good-value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2tvl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Friendly reception staff, an excellent location, and clean and simple. The rooms are smallish, and so are the bathrooms (hot water is excellent), but I had a little balcony (room 507) that looked over the city which was nice. On level 5 the noise isn't bad at all either.

It's not the Ritz, but it's clean and perfectly fine. I paid $129 for 1 night which is excellent for the location and cleanliness. Don't pay more than $160 though, I wouldn't say its worth that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#73 of 179 in Sydney
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#25 of 179 in Sydney
154 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
1,012 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing