We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgans Boutique Hotel
Ranked #51 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I have just been to this hotel and it is in a good location, only 2 mins walk to kings cross and only 10 mins walk to oxford street. The street has some great cafes and restaurants. The Hotel room was very average and i stayed on the third floor . The hotel has free wi-fi, but i could'nt get any wi-fi in my room and was told by hotel staff it only worked on the ground and first floors. I was also told that if upon my arrival, i was coming in after 11.00pm i would have to pay $80.00 to be let in by security. This hotel is not a 24 hour hotel. I think this hotel is worth only $100.00 per night

Room Tip: wi-fi on level one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kram13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    61
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
20
63
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The one bedroom apartment was ideal for our seven day visit, with a full kitchen and plenty of room. Even a balcony with views over the street. The decor was a bit dated, and the bathroom had peeling paint, but daily cleaning was always very well done and the bed was comfortable so we slept well. Service from the person on duty was very prompt and helpful when requested. They were even happy for us to move the TV out of the bedroom to a better position in the living room! We will stay there on our next Sydney trip as it is less than five minutes from a train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

PROS: The Hotel is in a good location. Very Clean. 5 Minutes walk to St Vincents. Great places to eat just outside. For a reasonably fit person 20 Minutes walk to the city. CONS: In a room facing the street it is very noisy, and cold, as the windows are not sealed. The cold air blows in on a windy day. Microwave did not work properly. Very scabby on the cups and plates etc, coffee, soap. Maids poor on replacing coffee etc when used. For a "Luxury" room i would expect a bath towel that is larger than a tea towel!! I would stay again if i needed to be close to St Vincents Hospital. I would ask for a room away from the street in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Simple, really simple: they don't clean your room, just make the bed for it to 'look' clean... Cockroaches EVERYWHERE! Bathroom, corridors, bedroom...after 24h, I decide to kill one in the corridor to see and 5 nights later...the blood is still on the wall and the body still on the floor...come on guys, only 4 floors, 4/5 rooms per floor and AUD 160 a night...u couldmake an effort! :(

Hopefully the location is extremely good...but honestly there is better around for AUS 20 more...!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I stayed 1 night but could've stayed longer in the one bedroom suite I was given. The living room had a table and 2 chairs plus a 2 person couch. It opened onto a large balcony, lit with an outdoor light bright enough to read by. All windows and balcony door are soundproof so there was little noise from one of Sydney's busiest restaurant strips. Bed was comfy and the bathroom had bath and a large window. Would stay in this room again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0tell0ver88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed two nights at "Morgan's boutique hotel" on Victoria St. The street is full of restaurants and bars, so it is a great location for going out in the evenings (we enjoyed the Argentinian restaurant one night). It is also very close to Kings Cross station, with very good train and bus links.

The room was fine. It looked more-or-less as in the pictures on the website, though it had a few more scratches and a more "worn out" look than you'd think. Our room had a kitchen and living room. It was very comfortable and clean.

The "free wireless" internet doesn't reach the 4th floor. But it is free.

The staff were friendly and competent. We had no problems with online booking of the room from the hotel website.

The only downside was noise from the street. Our room was on the 4th floor so it wasn't too bad. But a couple of very noisy motorbikes zoomed up Victoria St late one night, which was irritating.

Overall, you're getting a reasonably smart hotel in a good location for a fair price. I've stayed at much better places (for more money) and at much worse places.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hg67as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My husband and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We were very impressed with the quality of our room. We were on the top floor in a one bedroom apartment and had direct access to the rooftop seating.Could not fault it. We had lots of room but did not use the kitchen facilities as we ate out all the time. The hotel is ideally situated for King's Cross station and buses to the town centre and Bondi beach. Staff were very helpful. Only thing I could fault would be the noise from the street outside but even that did not spoil our time spent at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#138 of 174 in Sydney
157 reviews
Darlinghurst
Medusa
Medusa
#85 of 174 in Sydney
166 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 174 in Sydney
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#116 of 174 in Sydney
17 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#71 of 174 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Boutique Hotel

Property: Morgans Boutique Hotel
Address: 304 Victoria St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Morgans of Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgans Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self rated Boutique Hotel in Victoria Street (Darlinghurst) surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Twenty sevens Apartments each comes with a kitchen, ensuite bathroom, free-to-air LCD TV, air/cond, telephone with direct number and video intercom security.WiFi internet access is available in the lobby area only and it is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Of Sydney Hotel Sydney
Morgans Hotel Sydney
Sydney Morgans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing