We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but noisy room with no sleep and slow service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

* Arrived to the room early which was great but wanted a Sydney Harbour view. Immediately rang reception who couldn't take the call and said would ring back. Never did so visited myself and changed the rooms at a premium cost. Had I ticked the right box online it would have only cost an extra $20 a night but blew out to $65. That's what I get for not being careful.

*Free shoe shine which is nice. Rang up and was told they would come to get my shoes. 2 hours later they arrived quite late in the night.

* Shoes didn't arrive next morning as promised at 8am and at 2pm still weren't there. I rang to find they didn't know which room the shoes came from and couldn't find them. They rang back and said they had found them and would send them up. 30 minutes later they arrived. Lucky I didn't need them that day anymore. Still had to wait around for a simple shoe shine.

*Couldn't sleep. The lifts seems to echo into the room through walls and roof. Yes I tried putting a towel at the door and the noise seem to make it through other ways. Perhaps through the air conditioning. Very loud. Even guests visiting the room noticed the noise during the day. Even an airport hotel wouldn't have the nosies we had from the lifts. A lot like a plane taking off overhead and the roof off. Didn't sleep much and won't be staying here again which is a shame as the rooms are very nice and clean. But lack of sleep can kill a trip.

Room Tip: I don't know if you can avoid the noise from the lifts?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,285 - 5,291 of 6,786 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Large rooms with beautiful views. You pay for what you get - attentive service, clean and tidy rooms and a central location. We had booked a room only and weren't hampered by this as there are plenty of places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Lowlights:
- Our room was ready when we arrived at 10:30, but the rollaway bed only arrived after 4pm and the cot only arrived after after 12 hours with an hourly check from me. Mid afternoon I inferred to buy one so my son would have somewhere to sleep, but was told it would be fixed in 45min, (the usual response). In the end he had to go to sleep on the floor in a $900 pet night room.
- Room was dirty.
- The Horizon club party finishes straight after the fireworks. In Scotland midnight is only just the beginning, also not what was expected for the price.
- Pool is not worth using, tiny and too cold for kids, with over zealous a/c even I was cold quick when changing.
- A/C in Horizon club was set to freeze, meaning a lot of people were cold. Staff would adjust it on request but that only lasted an hour.

Highlights:
- Horizon club has an amazing view (almost worth the $900 per night.)
- Horizon staff attentive and friendly. Good wine and canapés were ok for 1 night but not to the same Standard as other Shangri La hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottAbroad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Wow, this was a great hotel. We booked a Darling Harbour room at a very reasonable rate for being in such a prime location and were very pleased to find that they put us in a room with a phenomenal view of the Opera House.

The room smelled brand new, furniture was very nice and comfortable and the room size/floor plan was also excellent. They really thought of everything...in-wall electrical converters, great toiletries, lots of fluffy towels, and lots of little things that make life really easy.

Pros: VERY comfortable bed, room decor, view, bathroom decor, housekeeping, restaurants and bars were excellent as was the service. Definitely visit Blu Bar on the top floor. Drinks are expensive but the views are worth it. Great location, but yes, as others have said, it's on a steep hill, but we needed to burn the extra calories!

Cons: crowded pool, lots of noisy kids. And yeah, the elevators were a bit slow but didn't bother us much.

We found the staff (housekeeping, reception, food service) to be very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Floor 8 Harbour side was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The room was really great. Staff were average except waiters for the buffet restaurant who did really well. This place is so busy with all functions happening inside that you thing you are in a shopping center. The wait for Breakfast and elevator was crazy during the weekend. People every where attending tea parties or wedding or coming for the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Beautiful room with stunning view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Breakfast was brilliant with a huge choice and extremely friendly and helpful staff. A large hotel but with a small-hotel charm because of the personal attention of the staff. We stepped out of the lift on the wrong floor where the business/executive lounge was located and children are not allowed. A member of staff invited us in, gave us drinks and offered to take photos of the family with the view as a backdrop. The only downside was the 15-20 minute walk to Circular Quay but I guess you can't have everything.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gan_zDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a beautiful place. The bar at the rooftop is spectacular. Definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 20 + floor with opera house views are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRICIAINOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,690 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#28 of 186 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#42 of 186 in Sydney
4,743 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 186 in Sydney
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £157 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing