We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice for tourists” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The best choice for tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are visiting Sydney for holiday, the hotel is optimally located in the Rocks area. It is a stones throw from the opera house, harbour bridge and ferry terminals and a 10 minute walk to the shopping district. If staying on business, a hotel near Darling Harbour may be better.
We were upgraded and our room was huge. It did have a harbour view, though this was out of a smaller corner window so not as impressive as we anticipated but the size of room and facilities made up for this.
The hotel was low key and in no way pretentious for a 5 star hotel. Staff were nice and efficient, although we did get people knocking on our door multiple time to clean or check tvs, which was unnecessary.
Overall we are pleased that we chose this hotel and friends in city confirmed this was best choice for tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,557
    1,510
    538
    254
    149
See reviews for
883
3,065
282
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

a 2 star hotel posing as a 5 star hotel. If you want a lower standard hotel, why pay to be ignored, mistreated, and abused for your holiday stay. Sydney is a beautiful city filled with wonderful, energetic, kindly people who make up for all the shortcomings of a hotel that is considered to be above average. I loved every moment in time while visiting Australia. With a smile from ear to ear, each day brought more than expected and I felt very blessed to be visiting such a great country.
What happened Shangri La?? I am not pleased to write this review. I will return to Sydney, but would prefer to find the spirit of this wonderful land within the place I call "home" at night.. There is no doubt about it, the PEOPLE make a lasting impression, not the soft pillow.





















Room Tip: try another hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Rosalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Rosalie H,
Thank you for staying at the Shangri-La Sydney. I do apologise that you felt this way about your stay and have sent you a separate response about your concerns which you mentioned in our online hotel survey.
Yours sincerely,
Arpad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed in other Shangri La properties and was thrilled with Sydney. Excellent location 2min walk from Circular Quay in the Rocks, Despite being busy at Christmas the staff were genuine and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a treat to ourselves on Christmas night. The room and bathroom were nice and spacious and though the view of the opera house was in a corner of the room you could only view from a certain angle, I was still overall very happy with the accommodation.

The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the pool area - it was very small and was completely overrun by a family group full of young kids splashing around, including in the hot tub. We ended up staying for 5 minutes and when we couldn't even swim from one side of the pool to the other without being splashed or bumped into by a family playing "catch", we just turned around and went straight back to our room.

I completely understand that this isn't the hotel's fault, and I certainly don't expect the Shangri-La to ban young kids from its premises. Nevertheless, a stay in a luxury hotel like the Shangri-La was a special treat for us and is certainly not something we do on a regular basis - we're expecting our first child next year and this was a bit of a "babymoon" for us. We were really looking forward to having a relaxing and leisurely swim in the pool together, and a quiet, peaceful experience was something that I would have expected from a hotel like the Shangri-La. Perhaps a separate pool area for kids and adults in the future?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggerinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at Shangri-La for two nights last week. Our room is a standard room with the breathtaking view of harbour and Opera House. The size of room is large, as we knew it, compared to other hotels in the city.

Room is great, but housekeeping is a real issue:
1) I slept in on the second day and told the Front Desk on my way out for lunch that our room needed service. When I returned to the room around 6pm, the room was not cleaned - this was a shock at a 5-star hotel. I asked for towels/mineral waters and told Housekeeping to clean our room only after 7pm. Housekeeping came with towels, but forgot the mineral water. Then again a maid came to knock my door at 6:50pm when I wasn't ready to leave the room.
2) We left a pair of jeans in the room on the day we checked out. Called at 5pm to notify the hotel (later I learned that no one took any action for our request) and went to the hotel at 5:40pm to collect the jeans. The collection of the jeans was a 40-minute process and I had to speak to three different employees at Front Desk and finally a forth employee went to Housekeeping to collect the jeans. The question is why it had to take so long? During the entire process, there was no communication, explanation or whatsoever. Front Desk employee Danielle was not very helpful either (she suggested that I should point out the problem with Housekeeping), as she appeared lacking an intereset in helping me - I was waiting at the lobby anxiously while my partner was circling around the hotel in a car. I also found the service quality from Front Desk employees was quite inconsistent.

I stayed at other Shangri-La Hotels in the region, and our experiences in Sydney are not what we have expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Fundamentally, the Shangri-la is a beautiful hotel with all the basic amenities you need, and more. In the room, the Shang has thought through all the details, including computer-TV projection abilities and an iphone dock. It's a first class hotel so I expect the best, and the Shang delivered.

When requesting for restaurant recommendations, the concierge went ahead and booked restaurants first, then walked us through the options and all we had to do was pick and choose. The concierge made the stay very comfortable for us.

Most notably on this trip however, was how the Shang delivered on a unique request of mine (and solidifying this 5-star rating in the process). I was in town to attend a wedding and 10 minutes before I needed to leave for the wedding, I realized I hadn't packed my shirt. Upon calling down the front desk asking for store locations around the area, they took the initiative of offering me a shirt from the hotel, and brought it to me room immediately. I was even more pleasantly surprised when I discovered that it was complimentary.

Lastly, upon checkout, there were charges to my room that were not attributable to me, but immediately upon explaining how they were not mine, they waived them without a fuss.

I recommend the Shang given its ability to deliver on quality service that goes beyond reasonable expectation, and given its beautiful premise as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We spent four nights at the ShangriLa Sydney in a Harbour view room. We made prior requests which weren't met and struggled to get the reception staff and housekeeping to deal with fairly basic requests when at the hotel itself. Having said that the room, view and facilities (pool, gym and sauna) were all good. There may be better value hotels in Sydney but overall a nice stay in a good quality hotel. We may also have got better value for money had we booked direct to the hotel rather than via an agent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing