We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Higher end property but the views are some of the best views over Sydney harbour but you must select the right room I guess. There was some pre arrival communication problems but we enjoyed it. The buffet was nice & the Horizon Club was good to make use of.

Room Tip: Pay more gets the best room views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TY4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,301 - 3,307 of 6,524 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful rooms and a convenient location. The hotel seemed just a bit too business oriented. Staff were friendly, but did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome (as was done at the Intercontinental Sydney)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My teenage daughter and I recently stayed in a Horizon Club Executive suite on the 32nd floor. The view was amazing and the service of all staff was excellent. Staff went out of their way to help us with any query we had during our stay. It was well worth the extra money to have access to the club lounge with it's breathtaking views of the harbour. The food and drinks in the club were great as well as the delicious and huge buffet breakfast available at Café Mix. The hotel is central to everything in Sydney and I would definitely recommend this hotel for luxury and convenience.

Room Tip: If possible book a Horizon Club suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Travelled to Sydney from interstate to celebrate a 30th birthday and our 5th wedding anniversary.
Booked a Horizon Club Premier Grand Harbour View Room for three nights and informed the hotel about the special occasions we were coming to celebrate.
Check in and check out was efficient and friendly. We arrived at 11:00am and our room was not ready for an early check in but was promised to be SMS'd when it was available. At around 1:30pm we received an SMS.
The room was on the 32nd floor and was very spacious and the view was absolutely amazing and any one that wants the perfect view of Circular Quay with the harbour bridge and Opera house this is the must have room.
The Horizon club was nice and staff were friendly but it looks like it might need a freshen up, which i believe they are doing soon. Serving of drinks were quick but the taking of plates was not so quick. Also on the last day when we had breakfast the carpet and the bottom base of the table was dirty/stained with some red looking liquid which would of been good if we knew beforehand so we sat at a different table.
Many have commented on the slowness of the lifts and the steep hill to the hotel. During our stay we didnt have any issues with the lifts and the most we waited for the lifts was less than a minute. The hotel does have a 45 degree incline if coming from George St but coming the other way it is not a problem. Keep this in mind if walking and coming with bags or if you find inclines difficult.
We used the Chi Spa and found it very relaxing and good and is highly recommended.
The Blu bar on the 36th floor is nice but no preference on seating is given for hotel guests and you have put your name down for a harbour view seat otherwise you seat toward the bar looking toward Darling Harbour. It has an interesting and different array of cocktails.
Room cleaning was very good and all staff were always happy and accommodating and is a very big plus for the hotel.
Now for the reason why i could not give a 5 star rating. The hotel knew the reason for our stay and it did not in any way go out of its way to recognise it. We were not after any thing (although others have received things going by previous reviews) but a simple congratulation or an acknowledgement would of been nice. Its this personal touch the hotel missed the mark on big time. I must admit for the price of the stay here i was surprised but maybe it is typical of the clinical nature of this place or maybe it was just an oversight. Other hotels for example the Langham in Melbourne went out of its way on our first anniversary to congratulate us with a plate of Petit Four desserts.
Finally i would recommend this place if you after a spectacular view of the harbour bridge and Opera house as long as you choose the right room, although you pay for it.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with Horizon Club Premier Grand Harbour although you pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. 1 night only but absolutely incredible. We checked in and told them it was our 1 year to which after we arrived in the room, they greeted us with a bottle of champagne and chocolates to celebrate! Great added touch. Our room was opera house view room and was spacious with big bright windows which you could lay right in front of on the padded window bays. Bathroom was superb with large tub, stand alone shower, and plenty if amenities. Well worth the price, location and comfort.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jaclyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This review is 24ish months overdue but better late than never :-) my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our way back from New Zealand in January 2012. We could have chosen any top end hotel in Sydney but decided on the Shangri-la and we're so pleased we did. Our travel agent recommended we book a harbour view room which we did. The view on entering the room for the first time was breathtaking and we never tired of it. To see both the harbour bridge and opera house whilst having our morning coffee was a grand start to each day. The service was impeccable and the room a very high standard. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Holidayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Shangri-La last weekend. My room was upgraded to the 34th floor and the view was breathtaking. I made use of both the gym and pool which were quiet and more than adequate. The service was excellent and the quality of the hotel was reflected in the rooms and provision of anything you could need. I would definitely stay again - particularly for special occasions!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 179 in Sydney
1,836 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £137 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing