We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Swan Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Stay over”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What can i say, fantastic service, staff very accomidating and helpfull, My room was not ready upon checking but the staff found me one so i could change and attend my 12 oclock meeting, rooms sensational.
A short trip from the Airport, and centrally located in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,745
    1,594
    567
    268
    169
See reviews for
931
3,240
300
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in a Grand. Harbour view room on level 17, we had fantastic views of the Opera house and the Bridge. The Grand Harbour view rooms are slightly larger than the deluxe opera or city view rooms. The bench seat window was great to sit and have a coffee to take in all the happening of Circular Quay and the Harbour. The room furnishings were lovely and the marble bathroom with full bath was fantastic. Hotel facilities pool, spa, bar, lounge and the sky bar are all great. The hotel is situated in The Rocks area so easy to get around by exploring the lane ways and the many steps. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Grand harbour view will give you a view of both Opera house and Bridge, opera house and circular qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyramykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent views of the Opera House and Circular Quay.
Friendly and accommodating staff, who listened and responded to booking inquiries.
Best value for money with the a compared with other close-by hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My parents had got my partner and I one nights stay at this hotel for an engagement present in June. We were extremely excited as we were visiting family in Sydney and thought this would just be the perfect end to our holiday before we flew back to Ireland. Well, where do I start? I was horrified to say the least. When we entered the hotel we were extremely impressed with the decor and layout, it was just beautiful. We approached the guy at the desk to check in and our "prefect night" was just swept from beneath us within a matter of minutes. We were checked in by a guy whom was nothing but rude and ignorant. He began by reading my booking details in which I provided him with. Whilst reading the details the male looked me up and down with an unwelcoming, belittling look upon his face. I thought maybe he just had extremely bad customer service experience but it only got continuously worse... It was only to my surprise when he said to me "Oh sorry you need a credit card to check in, and there has to be $100 deducted for a deposit." I was unaware of this and began to panic as nor my partner or I had a credit card with us as the room was pre-paid as a gift. I explained this to the member of staff and he replied "then you cant check in," with an intimidating grin upon his face. As I continued to panic my partner asked the guy if we could pay in cash and he replied whilst laughing at us " Yes you can BUT its $400." I could not understand how this was funny? We were frowned upon as if we were dirt. My partner then informed the guy that this wouldn't be a problem and handed him $400 from our $2000 cash we were willing to spend in the bar and restaurant upstairs. The guy almost seemed shocked that we had the cash and continued to proceed with the check-in whilst continuously looking me up and down from head to toe. This made us not only feel extremely unwelcome but also highly uncomfortable. The guy asked if he could have a signature to complete the check-in, so as anyone would I lifted the pen to sign the page. To my surprise the guy informed me that he could not use the females signature and it had to be the males. I would have overseen this if the booking had been made in my partners name but it hadn't!!! Once the check-in was complete the guy asked me loudly in front of a queue of guests and other members of staff " Are you just here for a few hours with Mr.Boyle or will you be checking out in the morning?" whilst looking down his nose. I was HORRIFIED at this accusation. Why else would a male be accompanied by a female for a "few hours" in a hotel room unless she was an escort or provided some sort of service in order to get money. I was disgusted at this remark as we had only got engaged the previous week. My partner was shocked and was literally speechless for the first time in his life!! I had no choice but to inform the guy I WOULD be checking out the following morning. He then snapped "anything else?" I asked what time breakfast would be served as we had planned to have an early breakfast followed by an afternoon using the hotels facilities. The guy once again frowned and replied " Its served between 7am & 10am BUT its $40 each!" Again, I was SO embarrassed. Who is this guy to judge anyone? Little does this ignorant, judgmental human being know that my partner and I could no doubt BUY his house or car or whatever he may own 5 times over!!! We are both very successful entrepreneurs and have never frowned upon anyone in our lives, especially not by a hotel receptionist anyway. My partner and I left the check-in desk to make our way to our room and literally stared at each other in complete and utter shock for a few minutes. We had planned to go for dinner in the restaurant and spend the night in the beautiful bar on the 36th floor of this hotel whilst drinking Krug to celebrate our engagement... I think its safe to say our plans were swiftly changed! We left our belongings in the room and left the hotel straight away to go for dinner. We ended up having Pub Grub in a bar close by called "The Argyle". This was our only saving grace. The staff in this bar were amazing! So welcoming and friendly. We ended up staying here for a few hours to try and recover from the shock of our horrible experience from the HORRIBLE male on duty. Once we had finished in the Argyle, my partner and I returned to the dreadful place in which we were staying, "The Shangri-La," and went straight to bed. We checked out as soon as we woke the next morning and were so relieved on our departure. Only the room was pre-paid as a gift I would most definitely have left upon check-in!!!!! Think it is safe to say that our experience was nothing short of HORRENDOUS and would never recommend this place to any1!!!! If you want a good night in Sydney AVOID this hotel at all times!!!
Moral of the story- "DON'T judge a book by its cover ;) "

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank mccuskerseanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having spent one night on a business trip in Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, I felt it was a rewarding experience. I stayed in a clean, comfortable room with a great, panoramic view of the harbour and spacious bathroom full of amenities. The breakfast was truly a feast with arrays of international breakfast dishes to sample. Too bad, I didn't have time to explore and utilize other facilities in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank paribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First class hotel and easy walk to Circular Quay and Rocks is no problem. Very convenient location . Wonderful rooms across all standards ,professional staff and a killer experience in the Blu Bar at Level 36 must not be missed.

The best hotel gym I've seen so far also

Room Tip: Any room is great. We booked three different room standards for a family reunion. All fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricknol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed one night and we were upgraded to an Opera view room without even asking. Everything down to the night light is thought out in the amazing rooms, toiletries, comfy beds & pillows. You will love it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,318 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,281 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing