We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #36 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Late booking made via hotel's website, on arrival at hotel the young chap at reception had me booked in within 3 minutes, car taken away by valet, and in room within about 10 minutes of arrival on a busy Friday - not bad! After a long day couldnt be bothered to go out in the evening so had room service meal - quality was actually really good and value for money, considering what I would have spent on a similar meal in a restaurant. The really good thing about Shangri-La is the free wi-fi which is fast and never once dropped out while I was there. Checked out next morning at 11am, same chap at reception who dealt with me efficiently, car already waiting for me 5 minutes after calling down for it - I don't see how the experience could be improved on?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank BobMcGilvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,467 - 3,473 of 6,734 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Upgrade to room on corner of hotel double views over the Opera House and the Sydney Bridge. We woke at 5 to see the sunrise and watched the sunsets. No need for anything else. Chips on the Quay and breakfast at MD's great use of finances.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmotherearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I often travel to Sydney for work and have the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel. It stays true to the meaning of its name and is a true oasis in the middle of the busy city! Beautiful harbour views, very friendly staff, great service, very nicely designed rooms, a bed that makes you fall asleep in seconds.....bliss! I am in love with this property and don't look any further when visiting Sydney. Great work team!!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank struckbywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent a magnificent weekend at this hotel in July to celebrate a milestone birthday. We had earlier gone in to the hotel to view rooms to get an idea of the room and view we would like to mark this occasion. The service we experienced was exceptional and we booked it in straight away. On arrival at the hotel there was a queue to check in. Lorraine from Guest Relations came and got us out of the queue to help us with our check in. She was wonderful and made us feel very welcome and important. It was earlier than the usual check in, yet she told us the room was ready and we could go and check it out before we went off to do the Bridge Climb that day. We got the corner deluxe harbour view room on the 29th level. Room number 2913 on the Sydney Package. What an exquisite room with a view to die for all encompassing the bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay. When we arrived back to the room after our climb there was fruit, chocolates and a very special dessert to mark the occasion. Lorraine has organised all of this after she found out about the occasion. The room was super spacious and comfortable . It had a king sized bed, seating around the panoramic windows with a spot for a glass of wine. There was a desk, lounge, TV, ample mini bar and a lovely marble bathroom. We could not fault the room or service. Breakfast in the morning (Included with Sydney package) was wonderful, again with emphasis on service. A great hotel if you are doing the Bridge Climb like us, as it is just a short 6 minute stroll down the road. The close proximity to meander through The Rocks is also a benefit. You definitely get what you pay for. We can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: Corner suite with the views are well worth the extra money, with view of both the Harbour Bridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What can i say, fantastic service, staff very accomidating and helpfull, My room was not ready upon checking but the staff found me one so i could change and attend my 12 oclock meeting, rooms sensational.
A short trip from the Airport, and centrally located in Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in a Grand. Harbour view room on level 17, we had fantastic views of the Opera house and the Bridge. The Grand Harbour view rooms are slightly larger than the deluxe opera or city view rooms. The bench seat window was great to sit and have a coffee to take in all the happening of Circular Quay and the Harbour. The room furnishings were lovely and the marble bathroom with full bath was fantastic. Hotel facilities pool, spa, bar, lounge and the sky bar are all great. The hotel is situated in The Rocks area so easy to get around by exploring the lane ways and the many steps. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Grand harbour view will give you a view of both Opera house and Bridge, opera house and circular qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyramykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent views of the Opera House and Circular Quay.
Friendly and accommodating staff, who listened and responded to booking inquiries.
Best value for money with the a compared with other close-by hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,641 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#26 of 182 in Sydney
1,348 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 182 in Sydney
4,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £141 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing