We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Room is quite average for a Shangrila hotel. Good thing is the rooms are renovated but the breakfast was very average. Probably will stay closer to the city centre or near Darling Harbour next time rather than up the Rocks.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alexis_aa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Alexis_aa99,
thank you very much for your comments and feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you didnt feel the quality and the experience of our breakfast where imressive.

We will continue to improve and work diligently to provide a better product and service in the future.

Very best regards and all the best,
Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,264 - 3,270 of 6,595 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was my 1st stay at this hotel after hearing raving reviews and it lived up to the hype. I had a corner room with a spectacular view. Breakfast was lovely each morning with a great selection available. I attended a conference held on site and the staff attending to us during the conference were polite and courteous at all times. I have no hesitation at going back and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MKB300808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in a room with a view over the Harbour and the Opera House. It was absolutely stunning.
My husband got a bit spun out by the low glass windows as he doesn't had a good head for heights.
Location brilliant. Would recommend Pancakes on the Rocks if you're staying in the area. www.pancakesontherocks.com.au/ or the German bar/cafe Lowenbrau.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcg2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I was extremely looking forward to checking in at Shangri La. as soon as I walked into the room nothing stood out to me it was just a typical room . The bathroom & fittings were lovely although the bath tub was a little on the smallish side. The view in the park side room was merely an outdoor view with just roads to the side & very bland would definitely not stay in this room again. The hotel lifts are insanely slow & this was commented on by other guests staying in the hotel. Expect to wait "5 minutes" for one to arrive & they are heavily dense. The breakfast was very nice but for $42.00 per person. The swimmimg pool was a major let down. The hours are only until 9.00 pm the water could have been warmer & the ladies change rooms are very far from the pool. A major let down as if honestly looked amazing on the photos but very average in deed not what you would expect from a hotel chain of this size. The staff are friendly & accommodating. Unfortunately , overall experience nothing will tempt me to go back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everything about our experience was exceptional. I have stayed here with my partner twice now and could not say enough good things: staff are knowledgeable, helpful, and genuine; our experience at CHI the spa was a blissful, relaxing escape from city life; the location is wonderful; the view included the Opera house and is breathtaking; our room was spacious and clean; the bathroom is large and feels luxurious. Cannot wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Laurarebeccax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Here is the reason why you need to stay in this hotel:
Location - Walking distance to Opra House, Pubs, Pizza Places, Harbour Bridge, CBD, Wynyard Station, this list can go on...! Do visit the bar on 36th floor after 8pm, the view is amazing...

Room Tip: excellent... no comments...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Rajnish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A great hotel centrally positioned in the Rocks, close to harbour bridge, opera house, circular quay, galleries and city shopping. Harbour view rooms are amazing, breakfast at cafe mix very delicious! A lovely hotel for a Sydney retreat!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank havivaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,514 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,867 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £147 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing