We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,221)
Filter reviews
7,221 results
Traveller rating
4,236
1,792
672
306
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,236
1,792
672
306
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club blu bar opera house grand harbour circular quay top floor window seat rocks area room service corner suite harbour view turn down service club room bottle of champagne four seasons buffet breakfast late check
Filter
Updating list...
6,121 - 6,126 of 7,221 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

i have misplaced my sunnies in the altitude bar and rang in the next day and was told i will be contacted, this never happend. i rang in again to be told the same thing by Garth from switch, never happend. i send an email through the website but had no response in 2 weeks, it just seems that nobody cares about this. i am truly disappointed that a simple thing as this can not be followed up and i have to take it public to get a response.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas19811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2010

To the Author,
I sincerely apologise that you have had to use such a medium (Tripadvisor) to assist in locating a lost pair of sunglasses in our Blu Bar on 36.
If you would like to please contact the hotel and ask to speak to the Duty Manager we will ensure an immediate follow up and investigation is carried out and hopefully your sunglasses are found.
Kind Regards,
Mr. Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Arrogant staff... Good club on the topmost floor..

Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
Thank Pravinpednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2010

To the Author,
While I am pleased to see our views and Blu Bar on 36 met your expectations, I was concerned to read your felt our staff were arrogant.
Our staff are selected and consistently trained on their attitude and behavior towards guests and can assure you arrogance on any level has no place in Shangri-La Hospitality.
Kind Regards,
Mr. Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This was an amazing hotel and perfect for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Horizon Club and were totally blown away when we walked into our room. The panoramic views over the harbour, including the bridge and opera house, were awesome! The pillows on the bed were the most comfortable we have ever had. The staff were so friendly and just took care of everything, from returning our hire car to arranging our airport transfer. The Rocks were so close and everything we wanted to see and do was all within walking distance. We can't wait to go back ... just need an excuse to go to Sydney ...

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

Many thanks to the author for their wonderful review and a belated congratulations on your wedding! I was pleased to read our location, rooms, facilities and above all our staff & service meet and hopefully exceeded your expectations.
I do thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel Sydney as your hotel of choice for your honeymoon and we do hope to welcome you back for future anniversary stays.
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We just knew we would not be disapponted. Our room was huge, a wonderfully massive bed over looking the Harbour Bridge and Opera House - we woke each morning early just to watch the sun rise over the Opera House or the sea mist drifting in. One wall is glass so the views are unrestricted. Ate in the top floor restaurant on night but had difficulty booking a table as it is so popular. the breakfasts are also fantastic, there is nothing more you could want. The concierge was fantastic and helped us with checking in online for our onward flights, recommending restaurants and booking other places for us to eat. It is an expensive place to stay but totally worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

Many thanks to the author for their fantastic review and I was pleased you were not disappointed with our service and hotel. I am glad you were able to dine in our top floor Altitude Restaurant during your stay as it is quite a popular restaurant – offering unparrelled views of Sydney Harbour – much like all of our rooms!
Thank you also for mentioning our wonderful concierge team and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.
We do look forward to welcoming you back again for another wonderful stay at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney!
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

we stayed at the shangri-la sydney for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon to australia. the hotel staff presented us with a very nice spa basket and a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our wedding. a very nice touch to our stay as the staff was excellent in making our time in sydney awesome. we got a deluxe harbor view room. the view of the opera house and harbor bridge were simply amazing from our window. our room package came with a daily breakfast buffet. the breakfast buffet was decent the first day, but the second and third times started to get a bit old as the items did not change much. the juice selection was awesome though. i would only recommend eating the breakfast buffet only if your room rate comes with it. otherwise it is too pricey as there are other option outside of the hotel.

the room itself is spacious and comfortable and the room amenities are typical to what you would find in a luxurious, high end hotel with an awesome bed and nice bath products. my only complaint, and it is a trivial one, is that the tv was an old box. the other hotels we stayed at all had newer lcd or plasma tvs. but that really shouldn't be a deal breaker for the hotel.

the shangri-la is located in the rocks area. my only complaint about the location would be the steep hills and stairs you have to walk/climb through to get to and from the hotel. the rocks area is also a very touristy area. if you absolutely need to stay next to the harbor, the shangri-la is a great option. my wife wanted the views of the opera house and bridge from the room. however, if you want to be closer to the city action with more restaurant options, i would recommend staying closer to the darling harbour area. we stayed at the westin sydney on our last night in australia and found it to be a better location to eat and experience the sydney city life. from the shangri-la, the opera house, ferry terminals, and the center of the rocks area is a 10 minute walk. darling harbor and chinatown is about a 30-40 minute walk.

in summary, i would recommend the shangri-la if you want to be in the rocks/sydney harbor area. however, in the evening, the rocks area does not offer much for entertainment and dining options as the city center does. also, if you don't get a harbor view room, then i would also consider staying somewhere that offers more value for your money. we wanted views of the opera house and bridge from our room, and consequently paid for it and had no regrets as the views of australia's iconic symbols were inspiring.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruindan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Many thanks to the author for their wonderful review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney & belated congratulations on your recent wedding.
I thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, one of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney’s best asset, and am pleased they were able to do the little things to make your stay that bit more memorable (especially after such a memorable event!).
In regards to our rooms, I am pleased to announce as part of our 2010 upgrade we will be installing LCD HD televisions in all our rooms. Our Horizon Club rooms currently have such televisions, and we look forward to upgrading our other rooms shortly. I am however glad the size view and facilities met your expectations.
You comments about our location, being at the top of a large hill, has been mentioned in several other reviews, however as you discovered, this location also gives all of our rooms unsurpassed of the city and harbour.
I am sorry you did not find the Rocks Area as entertaining as other areas of city; however, for those not familiar with Sydney, we are located only 10 minutes for Darling Harbour and 5 minutes to the city centre.
I above all thank you for your recommendation to other travellers and I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Mr. Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews