We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-Cruise Stay in Sydney.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    528
    256
    83
    44
See reviews for
435
287
62
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was in Sydney for 5 nights attending an exhibition in Darling Harbor. For a business stay the hotel has everything, good staff, good food (and not overpriced room service). Breakfast was excellent, good wifi connection (although you do have to pay for this). In terms of the location its near the central station so in the evenings I could get around the city very easily. If you are staying in Sydney on a holiday, I am not too sure if the location is good for that, you may want something based more towards Sydney Harbor, but all depends what you are looking for.

All in all, good stay, good price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyroooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear andyroooo,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Sydney Central.
It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our guests.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is newly refurbished and close to Chinatown. Requested from the front desk and called housekeeping for a toothbrush (cost of $4) for my teenage son. Guess what, 20+ minutes later, it is still coming. And to think, it is not a big hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JG_Coast2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear JG_Coast2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is disappointing to read of your experience and I can only hope that your will allow us another opportunity in the future to be of service.
Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Close to the exhibition centre and the harbour and all the attractions, right off Chinatown, this hotel offers good friendly service with comfortable rooms. I accidentally flooded my bedroom on one stay there, and rather sheepishly told them about my faux pas. When I got back to the room that evening, they had moved me in to a new one.

The breakfast buffet is actually very good - yes it is all same same, but the service is great, and the coffee very nice (ask for a latte - you can have it there for free, but if you want one to go then you have to pay extra).

The internet can be a little slow, but it generally works fine.

And one of the best things - of course completely unrelated to the hotel apart from its proximity - is that it is close to Lao City Thai, where you get awesome Thai food at stunningly decent prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipeiredlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Taipeiredlion,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Novotel Sydney Central and for posting such great feedback, we really appreciate the comments you made and hope to be of service again in the future.
Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#80 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing