We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Sydney Central
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
415
617
273
88
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
617
273
88
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourtwo queen bedspaddy's marketclose to central stationaccor memberbuffet breakfastbalcony roomcapitol theatrelight railgeorge stdefinitely stay here againreception staffan upgradepublic transportopera houseutsjuicer
Filter
Updating list...
1,004 - 1,009 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great central spot in sydney close to rail, tram and bus connections. Walking distance to my meeting in Darling Harbour and surrounded by more eating choices and shopping than you would ever require. Polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwendyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear drwendyb,

Thank you so much for praising our property and staff, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your saty with us, we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Faithfully
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived early in the day after a long flight from the UK. The staff were very welcoming and allowed us into our rooms straight away, plus we got an upgrade for one room! The hotel is in a perfect position for sight seeing in Sydney - close to central station where you can get a free bus down to the harbour, plus buses to other Sydney areas. You can also walk a few minutes to Darling Harbour and Chinatown for great places to eat. The breakfast buffet is extra but there is plenty of food available. All staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was no free wi fi in the rooms, although terminals were available for free timed internet access.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear trulyscrumptious07,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney Central recently and taking the time to write your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad that we were able to get everything right for you (internet is never free in australia but hidden in the cost).

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our stay in Sydney was ruined by this hotel. My wife and I had some Easter surprise activities planned in Sydney for our children and had saved our money for over 6 months to spend a great weekend enjoying Sydney, how wrong we were.

We are a family of 2 adults and two children; I booked a Superior 2 Queen beds with Balcony room with a Familily Fun Offer for two nights, instead of our booked room we were given a small room with 1 king bed, I phoned reception and we were sent two rollaway beds to squeeze into the room for the kids and was told rudely "too bad, that was it". Our room was much too small for 4 people, we had to climb over beds to get anywhere in the room.

Nothing was explained by staff about our "Family Fun Offer", the buffet breakfast or carparking arrangements. We found out everything by asking other guests, asking the reception people seemed to be a bother to them. I asked the reception staff where the Capitol Theatre was and was told rudely "it was just around the corner", I don't know Sydney very well and asked which way and got glared at.

I contacted reception for extra towels and pillows after the rollaway beds were squeezed in as there were only enough for two people in our room, we received an unclean, black hair covered pillow and 1 damp towel. I asked if we had to share 3 towels between 4 people and were told rudely by reception that there were no more towels to be given out.

After our room was cleaned by the maid on the Sunday, we had no towels at all, I asked the maid and she said she was not given any for our room although there were towels on her trolley, I asked "why no more for OUR room", she would not say, I called reception and they said that there were no more towels and hung up.

More issues: the bathroom had a toilet seat that did not fit the toilet; the lighting in the bathroom was not very good; the balcony chairs were filthy; the balcony for the room was dark, cold and dingy and could be accessed by anyone walking to the pool; the room air conditioner was very noisy and could not be stopped at all, so nobody in our room had a restful sleep due to the noise, I asked reception about it and was told that it was noted for repair.

On departure, the reception girl could not explain why we were treated like this and not placed in our correct room or offered a larger room, she could explain anything and was shocked we had not enjoyed our stay. We left Sydney very tired, very unhappy and dissatisfied because of the hotel and staff and wondered why we ever had saved our money to go to Sydney in the first place. Nobody in the hotel would assist us in any way and we would not recommend anyone to stay here, especially if you are a family.

The manager has since contacted us but has offered no reasoning for this disgraceful treatment and told us he was addressing the issues. The only compensation he offered us was a minor discount on a room for a future stay at this hotel, something we will not be doing. I would have thought that if we booked a certain type room and didn't get what we had booked then you would recieve compensation for that, but no, they would rather take your money and offer nothing but disgraceful service and treatment in return.

The manager is constantly apologising and after reading other VERY simliar reviews on this site, the issues we had are frequently recurring and are NOT being addressed by the hotel or the chain. I am an Accor member and DO NOT expect this from the Accor or Novotel brand.

This hotel is a very bad advertisement for not only the Novotel brand but for Sydney, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, reserve another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TonCheDaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent central spot in Sydney, and matched facility description perfectly. Great breakfasts (included in our offer). Suitably formal and friendly staff as you'd expect at a place like this. Sure, a little impersonal, but that's city living. Highly recommended for short family stay. Close to central station.

Room Tip: Balcony room option chosen, but probably no greater benefit for level we were on (8).
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney Central recently and taking the time to post such a fantastic feedback!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay especially the hotel's central location and that you found my team's attitude to service excellent. Your compliments and appreciation will go a long way with them.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours Faithfully
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews