We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Sydney Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. Staff so helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast amazing especially for a vegetarian but naturally catering to everyone with hot and cold assortments. Loved the relaxed atmosphere of the foyer areas. Very close to Chinatown and Central Station. My package was low cost and included train trip to Sydney from Grafton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimCooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear KimCooney,

We thank you for your fantastic five-star review as well as your in-depth feedback. It makes our day to read that our hotel is the best in which you've stayed in Central. Our team will be thrilled to hear this.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff are generally pleasant and friendly. The facilities are quite reasonable. It is a pain that you can't get street parking near by unless you are extremely lucky so that adds to the cost. I suppose you can make that up on a cheap meal at Chinatown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Naomi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank TravelExperience2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is good location near chinatown. Gym is ok, pool was a bit cold. Buffet breakfast was average, we had to wait few minutes to be seated. Room is very comfortable. Bathroom looking new, could be better designed especially the shower in the bathtub is a bit small and can be difficult to get in/out of for less mobile people. The porters are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Jim,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After reading previous reviews about the staff, I had low expectations before arrival to Novotel Sydney Central, however, the initial meeting and first encounter with front desk was amazing. We checked in late, 8:30pm and the staff member upgraded one of our rooms to Executive Level (17th floor). I booked one room (King Executive) through the Sydney Weekender Special and the second was a standard family room which was upgraded to be next-door to our King Executive room (they changed our Exec room to a 2 x queen also - no dramas). So staff were wonderful.

However, found that the shower water pressure was weak in the bathroom, was hard to have a decent shower as it was practically "sprinkling", not only was there a lack of water, but the water temperature kept changing so it'll be scorching hot then freezing cold... then we had the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air vents in the bathroom. It was so bad that it smelt like someone was actually having a smoke in our bathroom??? There is poor lighting in the bathroom too, the lighting felt like the "emergency lighting" - you don't get much from the lights from behind the mirrors either.
Had dramas with my keycard access all weekend, I'd get to the Level 8 (pool level) and my card won't read in the lifts, down to front desk, get into lift -> key card doesn't work. Get to my room -> key card doesn't work... so being on the 17th Floor, I went 4 or more times to have my cards fixed up.
Peering outside your window - you're looking right into a Backpackers Hotel generally for University students as UTS is nearby, had to keep the windows shut as we were looking right into other people's business... and didn't want them looking into ours.

Besides these issues, found the stay quite wonderful. Buffet breakfast was great, they have a kids buffet with the plastic plates, cups and cutlery + pancake machine which is always a hit. The pool was outdoor but heated so we had a evening swim despite the cold chill outside. The gym is conveniently located on the 7th Floor, would however like to have seen toilet/shower facilities at the gym.

Staff are great, they even extended our checkout an extra hour and stored our bags after we checked out while we went for a walk to Paddys Market for a last stroll. They were really helpful towards me during our stay with our requests.

This hotel is conveniently located near Paddys Market and Convention Centre with the ABC building behind... parking was $23 although I saw a $11 4pm-4am and $15 All Day Weekend? That was the hubby's fault as he paid and probably didn't ask about the specials. Not sure if it's better to pay at the Paystation or Hotel Reception?

Also, there is a Woolworths nearby - at Central Park (on Pitt St) - across the road from UTS, 5mins walk from the hotel. This will save on snacks etc for the kids instead of raiding the Snack Bar, also, to get any items that you may have forgot, such as, deodorant, shampoo, shavers, toothbrush etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Akstar,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank maidmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great central spot in sydney close to rail, tram and bus connections. Walking distance to my meeting in Darling Harbour and surrounded by more eating choices and shopping than you would ever require. Polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwendyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear drwendyb,

Thank you so much for praising our property and staff, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your saty with us, we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Faithfully
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 182 in Sydney
5,039 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 182 in Sydney
426 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £100 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing