We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, nice refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel maybe 50 nights over the past 6 years and have always found it to be a terrific place to stay. Parking next door is pretty good value and its a short stroll to Chinatown, the markets and Darling Harbour. This is the first time i have stayed since it changed to Novatel from the Citigate. The staff were pleasant but not friendly like the old staff were. The rooms have been refurbished and are quite nice (although im not sure about the half a lounge chair). There used to be a great view across to Darling Harbour however a new building has been built across the road and the view has all but gone. Otherwise, the room was lovely and fresh, the breakfast was great (as always) and the value was pretty good.
Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconys are well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_t_man05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear the_t_man05,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback.
We are most concerned to hear your comments regarding our customer service. Please accept our sincerest apologies for what has occurred as it is not indicative of the usual high standard of friendly, professional service that many of our guests praise us on.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Danesh Bamji General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Walking along the corridors of this hotel felt reminiscent of wandering through a military barracks.

The rooms are pretty barren the furnishings are perfunctory and it's all looking a little bit tired.

The enamel had worn off the bath and it had a rust spot! The paint is peeling on cupboards. The iron had no steam. The windows were filthy.

There is a residential tower block adjacent to the hotel where your neighbours are perfectly able to watch you getting ready to go to bed.

On the plus side the breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful.

In general I'm usually happy with Novotel hotels but this one is letting the side down. I for one will not be rushing to book to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank too_low_terrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear too low terrain,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.
Our hotel rooms are undergoing a refresh over the next few months which will be focusing on the areas we have identified as dated. This includes the carpet and the bathrooms. We are also replacing all the bath tubs. (currently in progress)

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our stay was ok, restaraunt was fantastic but service on our way out was awful. We prepaid our room, yet when we were checking out we were told we had to pay an upgarde fee, even though we stayed in a basic room! Then when I finalised our bill i was told the money wouldn't come off my card and said to the guy there who clearly was at the back end of a night shift that the reciept said i had just paid for it but he told me again and again it would not come off my card! Guess what.... It came off my Card!!!!!! Horrible service after listening to the same conversation to the customer in fornt of me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is obviously disappointing to read your comments and I can only apologise for the lack of service you encountered throughout your stay.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

We do empower our staff to use their initiative and experience and on most occasions the feedback we receive is positive so I am at a loss as to why we failed on this occasion.

Once again thank you for the feedback.

Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. Staff so helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast amazing especially for a vegetarian but naturally catering to everyone with hot and cold assortments. Loved the relaxed atmosphere of the foyer areas. Very close to Chinatown and Central Station. My package was low cost and included train trip to Sydney from Grafton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimCooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear KimCooney,

We thank you for your fantastic five-star review as well as your in-depth feedback. It makes our day to read that our hotel is the best in which you've stayed in Central. Our team will be thrilled to hear this.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff are generally pleasant and friendly. The facilities are quite reasonable. It is a pain that you can't get street parking near by unless you are extremely lucky so that adds to the cost. I suppose you can make that up on a cheap meal at Chinatown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Naomi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank TravelExperience2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 182 in Sydney
5,042 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#48 of 182 in Sydney
427 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £101 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing