We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sincerely terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Called up to book just to stay over night for a spa and pool deal. Felt like relaxing in the spa.. To my knowledge the spa and pool were open. When I checked in and headed down to enjoy myself in the spa. The spa was "closed until further notice" which is so stupid considering I called them and asked specifically for the pool and spa package... The food was terrible, ordered off the menu and some how they managed to burn toast not once but twice after sending it back and all the waiting time I lost my appetite. Then the next morning I searched the menu to find something they couldn't mess up, but surely enough they did it again... I ordered a milkshake and they ruined my morning. Overall the only thing that was good was the discount I got when I left because they were shocking.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guywhoisangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guywhoisangry,

We are sorry we have let you down on this instance. I have discussed your feedback with our chef and restaurant and will ensure every order is followed up with a call from our team to ensure our guest satisfaction is maintained at all times. In regards to the pool closure we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience as this was out of our control. Our team had picked up that someone may have vandalised our pool and it was in the best interests of our guests we had the entire pool flushed and deep-cleaned to ensure it was perfect in as little of time as possible. We hope you understand our predicament and hope to see you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We found our stay to be very enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently located and is walking distance to Paddy's Markets and China Town. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. My family and I will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear LVAus,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled you found your stay with us enjoyable, and our team friendly and helpful.
Hope to see you again on your next stay in Sydney.

Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

House keeping at 10am knocked and just walked in.
Someone came to check the mini bar at 9:45.The room wasn't even ready for four people even though I specifically booked for 4. I noticed our room was on level 10, then we were 'upgraded' to a room but with no balcony. I asked what was different and the lady said the nothing but there's no balcony. I told her I chose this room online because it had a balcony It was an ok experience but not memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Pamela,

Thank you for your honest review. I certainly apologize for our team member entering without fair warning. We take that very seriously, and will review your feedback with our team.
If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me in advance and allow me the opportunity to welcome you back and ensure that your visit is of the highest degree in quality.
Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has spacious room. I stayed in Twin bed room which offers two queen beds along with full in-room amenities. The hotel is just renovated for around 2 years so it looks very new. The hotel is very close to University of Technology Sydney, Market city and Chinatown. There is no free wifi. The room rate is a bit too much so I would suggest this hotel as quality stay but if you plan to go out early and come back late evening just to lie your head down, it is better finding another hotel. There are lots of hotels in Sydney and also nearby area of this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Daer TONY_TravelLover,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank XXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank christmascrazy002
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am a regular at the Novotel Central as I am in Sydney for work. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The FieldHouse restaurant serves delicious food, and an excellent buffet breakfast. The buffet is the usual hotel fare, but the place shines at dinner with some brilliant dishes.

Some of the carpets and fixtures are showing their age but as everything else is new, the hotel is clearly going through an improvement phase. I'm not going to avoid a hotel because of one rust spot in the bath and I'd suggest anyone that does is OCD to the max.

I stayed last week for 3 nights and used the car park next door. When I got back to my car the battery was flat. Even though I had already checked out, the staff went above and beyond their duties to help me start it again. Thanks again to the manager Danesh, and his excellent team!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear James,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for the top marks.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Danesh Bamji, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,035 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £100 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing