We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking - an added bonus for this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Felt this was a very well-priced hotel for the quality. And, my favourite - reasonably priced parking! A rarity in Sydney hotels :)

Big rooms, super-quiet and very well-located to the centre of the city. Probably not the ideal location for tourists who are looking to spend alot of time around the rocks/harbour but perfect for people looking to work back late or have a night out in the city.

Very helpful staff and an easy check-in process. Parking was also not the nightmare that it can be at some other accomodation!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Juicy Blue,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you enjoyed our great location and found our staff helpful. I've passed your feedback to my team and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will say first that the staff I dealt with were all quite friendly and helpful. The room was quiet, and the bed comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of central station, but in hindsight I should have stayed closer to The Rocks/Circular Quay for what I wanted to do/see.

This hotel may very well have been renovated recently, but there was an obvious lack of attention to detail when this occurred. In my room there were paint drips on the skirting boards, plastic (where a tag of some sort used to be attached) on one of the curtains, and the white painted coffee table had very worn/tattered edges.
As seems to be all too common in many hotels, upon checking in I found several long dark hairs in the bathroom (in the tub and on the floor). Worst of all, the carpets had definitely not been vacuumed that day, there were A LOT of bits of dirt/thread/etc all over the room. The bed valances also had various stains on them. I had arrived somewhat late and was in no mood to make any complaints. The following day I was storing my luggage for a few hours so I opted not to make an issue of things, but was pressed for time when I returned, and was not able to bring these things to the attention of the staff.
I have been employed as a hotel housekeeper in the past, so I take great notice of little things - like the fact that the small hotel stationary/notepad on the nightstand had not only a food or drink stain on the top page, but on the second page was a drawing made by a child on a previous visit.

Overall a very disappointing stay, especially since I had previously stayed in an amazing room at The Westin (booked via lastminute.com) for not much more money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Tracy,

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for bringing the housekeeping items to my attention, and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. i have addressed these items with our housekeeping team and reiterated our high standard of service. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Called up to book just to stay over night for a spa and pool deal. Felt like relaxing in the spa.. To my knowledge the spa and pool were open. When I checked in and headed down to enjoy myself in the spa. The spa was "closed until further notice" which is so stupid considering I called them and asked specifically for the pool and spa package... The food was terrible, ordered off the menu and some how they managed to burn toast not once but twice after sending it back and all the waiting time I lost my appetite. Then the next morning I searched the menu to find something they couldn't mess up, but surely enough they did it again... I ordered a milkshake and they ruined my morning. Overall the only thing that was good was the discount I got when I left because they were shocking.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guywhoisangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guywhoisangry,

We are sorry we have let you down on this instance. I have discussed your feedback with our chef and restaurant and will ensure every order is followed up with a call from our team to ensure our guest satisfaction is maintained at all times. In regards to the pool closure we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience as this was out of our control. Our team had picked up that someone may have vandalised our pool and it was in the best interests of our guests we had the entire pool flushed and deep-cleaned to ensure it was perfect in as little of time as possible. We hope you understand our predicament and hope to see you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We found our stay to be very enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently located and is walking distance to Paddy's Markets and China Town. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. My family and I will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear LVAus,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled you found your stay with us enjoyable, and our team friendly and helpful.
Hope to see you again on your next stay in Sydney.

Regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

House keeping at 10am knocked and just walked in.
Someone came to check the mini bar at 9:45.The room wasn't even ready for four people even though I specifically booked for 4. I noticed our room was on level 10, then we were 'upgraded' to a room but with no balcony. I asked what was different and the lady said the nothing but there's no balcony. I told her I chose this room online because it had a balcony It was an ok experience but not memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Pamela,

Thank you for your honest review. I certainly apologize for our team member entering without fair warning. We take that very seriously, and will review your feedback with our team.
If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me in advance and allow me the opportunity to welcome you back and ensure that your visit is of the highest degree in quality.
Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has spacious room. I stayed in Twin bed room which offers two queen beds along with full in-room amenities. The hotel is just renovated for around 2 years so it looks very new. The hotel is very close to University of Technology Sydney, Market city and Chinatown. There is no free wifi. The room rate is a bit too much so I would suggest this hotel as quality stay but if you plan to go out early and come back late evening just to lie your head down, it is better finding another hotel. There are lots of hotels in Sydney and also nearby area of this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Daer TONY_TravelLover,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,930 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 179 in Sydney
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £116 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing