We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A warm welcome from the hotel staff on arrival. The room was warm, the beds comfortable and the hotel quiet, making for a great nights sleep. Room and bathroom nice & clean although the bedside table and desk were shabby and should be updated. The room had a balcony which was nice, but unfortunately it looked straight at an apartment block so not much of a view. Excellent breakfast provided by the hotel and the staff are very friendly & helpful. Great location to get around the city with easy access to the free shuttle bus. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look onto the apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamNZ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Pam NZ10,

Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that we could offer you a great experience while in Sydney. Our hotel rooms are undergoing a refresh which will be focusing on the areas we have identified as dated. This includes the carpet, the bathrooms and the desk/minibar cupboards.
I apologise that all these changes have not been completed prior to your stay with us.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    520
    253
    82
    43
See reviews for
424
283
62
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here overnight when in Sydney on a conference. I found the king size bed very comfortable , the room was clean and nicely decorated.

The best part was the restaurant - dinner was expensive though delicious and the breakfast buffet was also very good. Some hotels will charge you extra for a expresso coffee, but here is was included, which made the price seem more reasonable.

Also found the service very good in both the restaurant and when checking in/out.

In great location close to Chinatown and Darling Harbour. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Geokult,

Thank you for your lovely 4-star review! I’m so happy to read you found our location ideal, our team friendly, and your guest room comfortable. We’d love to see you again in Sydney.

Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Room was basic and tired looking. Not very cosy. 1 seat, no desk or table. Bath was dirty and chipped and the plug looked rotten. I was looking forward to relaxing in my room, but did not enjoy the stay at all.
Kettle provided to boil water was also old and starting to rot.
Definitely not even 4 star, maybe 3 if lucky and certainly not worth paying nearly $200 for a room for 1 person on business.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bio-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Bee26B,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Sydney Central. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.
Our hotel rooms are undergoing a refresh which will be focusing on the areas we have identified as dated. This includes kettles, the bathtubs and the desk/minibar cupboards.
I apologise that all these changes have not been completed prior to your stay with us. I can assure you we are committed to addressing these issues to improve our guests experience.
I hope that you will accept our apology and if you do need to stay in Sydney in the future I hope you can consider us again.
Yours Faithfully,
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

On arrival our suitcases were taken from us to be brought up for us. Usually you are met at the taxi and helped up the stairs if the concierge isn't busy. Rooms are nice and clean but ours on the 8th floor had a terrible view of an apartment (being nice here) block which was very close and very high, so no sky to be seen. As soon as our bags arrived we requested another room which was done without fuss and immediately up to the 14th floor. We had a much better view of the ABC building, other buildings into the distance and more importantly- sky! It was very quiet too.
Our package had breakfast included which was very substantial, lots to choose from. The kids had their own pancake bar which was great, but I would have preferred to see fresh fruit, honey and maple syrup instead of chocolate, strawberry topping and 100's and 1000's.... Not really great for breakfast. Lovely selection of juices and fantastic coffee - from the bar, not the percolated one in the breakfast area.
All staff were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful.
2 for 1 cocktails from 5-7 was pretty appealing to us Mums! Not a huge selection but nevertheless great!!
Dinner was very tasty, even better when you don't have to leave your room! A phone call is even made to check if you are finished and all was good. When we told them the girls ice creams didn't come with the waffle cone as advertised (we weren't too fussed about it, but just wanted them to know) they promptly brought two new desserts up for them, happy days!
After we checked out our bags were tagged and kept for us while we did a bit more sight seeing. On return they were brought out to the taxi for us and loaded in. Thanks Matthew!
Very central to all touristy things, Chinatown was great as was Paddys market, just down the road.
All in all, could not fault our stay.
We felt very welcome, nothing was too much too ask and everyone had a smile on their face. Definitely stay there again, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the ABC side of the building, a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthkero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Perthkero,

We thank you for your fantastic five-star review as well as your in-depth feedback. It makes our day to read positive comment about our facilities. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sarah Connelly
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has very good location, near central station and china town, nice stafs specially very friendly receptions. We had a room with balcony with 2 queen size bed, space enough for family with 3 young children. Very small heated swimming pool.
Before we arrived to this hotel we had worried a lot because of some bad reviews from other guesses who experienced inconvenient stayed, but it didn't happen to my family. We had great stayed experiences at this hotel and we met all our expectations. Thank you so much to Novotel Sydney Central team.




  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CinJoRich_Gnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear CinJoRich_Gnd,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed our Hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Sarah Connelly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Novotel Sydney Central on the 11th July, 2014 for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed very warmly. We checked in quite quickly. We asked for an early check in and our room was ready by 12:30pm. Once we got to our rooms our rooms were clean and well equipped. The beds were also very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was amazing! It had everything one would ever want for breakfast. The waiting staff were very friendly and cleared plates away promptly. The food in the buffet was constantly checked and topped up. Location was wonderful, close to Central station and the free green bus. Not to mention very close to China town, Paddy's Market and Market City. We requested a late checkout and got that too! Checkout was also very quick and the staff very efficient. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Novotel Central, and we especially enjoyed our free Merlin attractions passes. Nothing more a family can want from a hotel!! Thank you to all the staff for making our first visit to Sydney a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your review. It always make our day to receive positive feedback about our products and services.
I am very pleased to read you had a great 2 nights stay with us and we hope to weloming you back soon in Sydney!

Yours Faithfully,

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,655 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#96 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing