We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious enough and beds are comfortable. Checkout for some reason took nearly 30 minutes, so allow plenty of time if you need to be somewhere. I personally don't like staying down that end of the city, as a single female traveller going out, catch a can back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Kimmmm,

Thank you for your review.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. While it sounds like you enjoyed many facets of your experience with us, I apologise that we may have missed the mark on a couple of items. I will review your comments with our team to see how we can make improvements.
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Upon checking into our rooms I noticed that a refurbishment had been completed recently - the rooms were clean and tidy with a simple yet stylish interior. The beds were comfy and the location was perfect, very close to Market City / Paddy's Markets / China Town and Central Train Station. Would be perfect for tourists if you don't mind a walk / train ride to the harbour. Overall a good stay for one night.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view even from the top floors - this hotel is located in an area surrounded by ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Stephanie O,

It pleases me to read that you found your stay with us to be great. We have definitely made some improvements since 2013 and some renovation works are still in progress until 2015, so I’m hoping you can come and see our property again soon.
Regards,

Srah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. The room is a good size, bed very comfortable, no view from the window.
The front staff were very helpful and we were checked in early with no problems. Very close to Chinatown and Paddy's markets. Lots of places to eat around the hotel as well. If you walk up to Central Railway station there is a free bus that takes you down to Circle Quay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear watts54,

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you found your stay with us enjoyable, and our team friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again on your next stay in Sydney.

Yours Faithfully,

Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights in double queen room, everything was clean and tidy and reasonably spacious. Quite and comfortable beds, as an accor member was given all the little extras that many Accor hotels forget.
Sheron on front desk was just a delight, from giving me great directions (finding underground tunnel from Central Station which made this a very handy location) to giving service a personal touch. Thanks Sheron.
Would stay here again when well priced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MytimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear MytimeSydney,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for posting your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and to acknowledge the service provided by Sheron.

We hope to see you again soon.
Yours Faithfully,

Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Room was very clean and bed room had heaps of room to move fridge was a bit to small they had a grate range of minibar but a bit to much so couldn't put anything in and I asked for 2 rooms with interconnecting door and my room had one but it was locked and was told it don't open even with the key

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Teresa,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made. I will certainly look into some of the issues you have raised and will ensure these are resolved to avoid future occurrence. All our interconnecting doors can be opened by our Duty Manager and Front Office Manager so I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Yours Faithfully,
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RVC799
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a weekend in the city to celebrate our son's birthday. The family fun package is great value and well worth the bundled accommodation, buffet breakfast, free parking, free tickets to Sydney attractions and 30% off Imax tickets. Not at the glamorous end of town however location and proximity to major attractions, markets, Chinatown etc a real bonus. Issue with online pricing, Imax vouchers and air conditioning dealt with efficiently.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 576yvettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear 576yvettem,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

We hope to be at your service again in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,

Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,035 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £100 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing