We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel with no Frills at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel with no Frills at all”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

If you want a very basic hotel which if affordable almost in the heart of Sydney at the same in a very quiet neighborhood ,than this is the hotel for you
There is a bus stop across the hotel and the metro station is about 500 meters

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    279
    104
    42
    22
See reviews for
271
123
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Room was ok, we asked for accomodation for 5, however we were on the third floor, there was no lift and two family members struggled getting up and down stairs with luggage.
One of the staff at reception was friendly but the other one was not very very friendly. Price was ok for accomodation for 5 people.

Room Tip: Better on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopy13132008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I needed to attend a conference in the Sydney CBD and had to find accommodation which was convenient. After reading comments from previous reviewers I was a bit unsure about this hotel. However, once I had arrived I was able to form my own opinion.

Checkin process was smooth and efficient, staff in the reception were extremely courteous and helpful. The price I paid for the accommodation was quite reasonable for Sydney at this time of year.

With regards to the quality of the rooms, they were extremely clean and well equiped. I have back problems so often have trouble with sleeping whilst on business, the bed at this hotel was very comfortable particularly after a busy day.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syd_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacchus Marsh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

On arrival at 5.00pm door locked and so used doorbell with no response. Other patron who arrived phoned the manager to let us in. He advised bell was broken! We noticed that door is locked all the time. Room we had was on first floor and was adjacent to next door's cheap boarding house. Patrons of this place sit outside outside every night directly under the windows of the hotel, making lots of noise until approx 1.30am. Hotel has no way to rectify this, so would not advise that folk stay here if they want any sleep. Also stairs to reach each floor has fire door as exit, and so folk going to each floor bang door shut, this goes on until early hours of the morning also. Hotel is not close to the Railway Station, dont know where they got the name Central Railway Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siena
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

first time in Sydney booked this hotel by internet,rooms are big with tv and bathroom,near central station from which you can visit the city.
not very cheap for the room and the service but ok!
for me it's better to sleep in bondi!!!

rooms with nice balcony,table and chairs!!!!
you can have a coffe in room!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2010

stayed in Central Railway Hotel for 3 nights and just loved the place. we had a room with balcony and it was larger than we expected. The place is clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. the room had a small kitchen and en suite shower and was serviced every day. location is convenient, about 10min walk from the central station, a lot of places to eat out nearby (so we didn't really use the kitchen). It was a bit noisy outside in the street on one of the nights, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. really surprised to see some of the negative comments here (which i only read after our trip to sydney) as we had such a positive experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo_G17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Been there for only one night for my flight back to home. For my case, this hotel is not too far from airport (around 20 minuntes of drive) and walk to Chinatown takes 10-15 mins. Yet, there's some more hotels much near to Central station. So its location not that much of its strenght. I could only say the stay was so-so. Room is quite spacious with simple pantry inside. Yet its cleanliness is just of average, you can see dusty desk, hair on your bed sheet. As for the staff, I can't say they are helpful and there is one housekeeping lady was so rude that she wanted to kick us out of the room one hour before its check out time... If you want to stay near the station with limited budget, I recommend you try other.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clngada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,430 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,829 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
846 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Property: Central Railway Hotel
Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing