We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #55 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Central Railway hotel at the start of our trip before moving to Coogee for a conference. The staff were amazing! So helpful and friendly. Fantastic location that is close to the heart of Sydney, but just far enough away to be very quiet, away from the hustle and bustle. Clean and tidy and good little kitchenette. Liked the personal touch of getting a daily information card with weather prediction. Will definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VegasFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. I was delighted to read your review of Central Railway Hotel and our staff. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very central location, walking distance to Central Train Station, CBD, China Town and Darling Harbour. Too bad it's quite close to the red district area. But otherwise really great value for money. Stayed in Quad rooms, free internet, serviced daily, friendly receptionists. Laundry facilities. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YS010109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I was pleased to read your comments regarding Central Railway Hotel. I hope we get a chance to serve you again next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we've stayed at this hotel afew times now,and have been extremely happy each time. Clean, spacious, friendly, close to central and city and great value, as with a family of four its very difficult to find a room thats affordable. the first time a couple of us stayed for a week and at $99 a night and having a microwave provided meant we didnt have to eat "out" constantly which cut costs even more. This hotel is always our first choice of accommodation in Sydney

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 250marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your review on Central Railway Hotel. I was delighted to read about your experience with us. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel with family of 3 from 24th to 28th March.We flew from cairns by domestic flight of virgin Australia.At the airport VA charged for our 2 check in bags 40 AU$ each.It seems our booking was saver fare,that doesn't include free baggage?While booking they never mentioned about this baggage rule.(When I travelled in USA and booked local flights they mentioned clearly about all baggage rules at the time of booking itself.Thanks USA).On flight they gave only coffee free.Arrived at SYD at about 9am and took a cab to hotel.Cab fellow charged 30AU$ even though meter is showing 26AU$ in the name of airport toll,which never existed when I enquired later.So at the Hotel front desk we had pleasant experience with young girl at the counter.She welcomed us politely and quickly arranged for an early check in at 10 am itself.We are given room no.1 on the ground floor with one king size bed and one single bed.Room is very clean,with balcony ,good airconditioner.Oven with a few bowls,a wash basin,coffee/tea maker with free supply of sachets and bathroom is small but no complaints as the price is very reasonable a little over 100 AU$ for 3 persons/day.The reception girl gave a printed sheet about near by transport details,restaurants,places to visit etc.along with city map.Our stay was very safe,comfortable and quiet and on checkout time our luggage was kept in safe custody in a room behind reception till late evening as our flight is at 10.30 pm.All the staff at the reception were helpful with a smile.I certainly recommend for families and have no hesitation to stay again.Best thing is there is free high speed internet.Twobus stops are there just on the road ends outside hotel,many go to circular Quay via central station.(8minutes walk to central)Only thing is it is one way road so when you return from circular quay get down at Devonshire stop((2 stops after central stop.)Surrey hill hotel is seen/Elizabeth street crossing cleveland street) and walk down for 4 mts.(Bus 309 ,310,M20 etc.Many buses are there )

Room Tip: As there is no elevator prefer ground floor!Less luggage more comfort always!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drsivakumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Railway Hotel. I was pleased to hear your experience with us was one that you would recommend to other families.

I will also be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our receptionist regarding her friendly service.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I booked into this hotel because it was 2 doors away from my family whom I was visiting . I thought at $99 for a double it would be very , very basic but it was cleaner and bigger than some of the more expensive rooms I have stayed at in Sydney. Two small singles pushed together for a king (albeit slightly different size mattresses) made for a comfy nights sleep. Yes the hotel is on the main road but noise wasn't a factor on the night. All in all - a pleasant stay for a good price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeMac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. If you choose to return to Central Railway Hotel you will be pleased to find that we have replaced the smaller queen singles with king beds. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The room was clean and tidy ,the 3 flights of stairs we had to carry our bags up was a bit much. The staff were very friendly and helpful, I left some clothes behind which they posted very promptly to me .It is close to the central railway station which we found very convenient. The local pub down the road they recommend was wonderful,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for posting your review of Central Railway Hotel. I was pleased to read your positive comments regarding your room and the staff. I will be sure to pass these comments on accordingly.

We do have staff available to deliver guest luggage to rooms, I apologise if this service was not offered to you.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you next time you visit Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room we stayed in was meant to be a queen bed but it was just two incredibly hard singles mattresses pushed together. We were given 4 pillows and all of them were hard and one filled with paper. When I went to have a shower it obviously hadn't been cleaned because there was hair still on the shower walls and floor.

At night it got worse, for about 4 hours the people from the room on the bottom floor were screaming and carrying on (it sounded like a someone was getting murdered) and the night guard didn't do anything until 1:00 in the morning.

My overall experience of the hotel was very poor, I will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_Macdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your concerns. We have taken all your comments on board and value your feedback as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximise service to our guests.

I was sorry to hear of your experience at the hotel. I have spoken to our head housekeeper and night manager regarding the points you have raised and we have implemented process's to endeavour to reduce the concerns you have raised regarding cleanliness and noise control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#24 of 179 in Sydney
154 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#49 of 179 in Sydney
880 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,403 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 179 in Sydney
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £73 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing