We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, value for money :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #44 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, clean, value for money :-)”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Overall was a great place to stay, very clean rooms and serviced daily, handy location (short walk to Central Train Station with cafes along the way to get a coffee) Or turn left from the hotel and a short stroll to some more restaurants and little convenient store. Hotel was simple and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff what more could you ask for, Will definitely stay again if I return to Sydney!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    266
    97
    42
    20
See reviews for
262
112
47
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Better than backpacker!Surprisingly nice room at back on first level.No lift but we had no trouble with the stairs and we are in our 60's, no good for those with mobility problems though.Garage was cheap at $22 a day and fitted our 4wd. Well serviced daily and helpful office staff.Quiet when we were there, not many staying.Wifi worked well and was inclusive. Aircon was a bit noisy so we did not use it at night.Take a small frypan in your luggage if you can.No microwave cooking gear at the moment but they are considering it. A nearby Woolies and some cafes/pubs/newsagent/bakery. Nearby access to major road corridors. Redfern park just up the road. Let staff know if you have any concerns, they are keen to improve.We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on ground floor for courtyard and laundry noise and smokers.Rooms at back are quieter.No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is my third time staying here. I've always gone back because of the competitive prices, no fuss check-ins, simple and clean rooms, and handy location (10 mins walk to Central Train Station, 15 mins to Chinatown, 20 mins to Darling Harbour).

Our group of four had no issues checking in, early check in was requested and our room was ready by the time we arrived at noon.

Overall its a decent place to stay given the price. Simple and comfortable. Will definitely stay again if I return to Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Overall very good. Functional, clean accommodation and extremely friendly and helpful owners. It was in a very handy location near to supermarkets pub and and of course the train station. We walked to the opera house in about 30 mins.

Reading other reviews here, it is not the Hilton but is fine and given the price I think it's great for Sydney. Not really backpackers as our en suite room was superior to other 3 stars I have stayed in in Australia.

Only complaint was that the wifi is very poor and only reached our room sometimes. Wouldn't put me off returning though.

Also lovely outdoor areas to sit in. Great for Sydney and a big thanks to the kind staff for letting us check in early and leave our bags on our last day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very good in a nutshell. I was impressed with it's close vicinity to Sydney CBD. It was just a stone's throw away from Central station. All I needed to do was take public train from Kingford-Smith airport, drop off at Central station, and just walk down around 100m+ down to Redfern where the hotel is at 240 Chalmers Street. If you need directions, just ask around, and the people around are very friendly. I was impressed with the presence of a balcony too, which allowed me to chill out at nights, and enjoy the cold wind, and traffic. I also hung my wet clothes out.

However, it has a few cons as well. Firstly, it is just average, and in fact just better than a backpacker. For a hotel, you can't complain much. I was satisfied as it justified the AUD$149/night I paid for. Had I wanted better, I could've checked myself into a swanky 5-star. It served its purpose well. Secondly, the website said there is a kitchenette. However, the was no stove. It was nothing more than just a microwave oven, a toaster and a flask. If you need to make your own breakkie, buy instant food please. Thirdly, the Wifi was always interrupted. I don't know if it's the router or something else.

Choose room #16 on the 2nd floor as it is at the corner, so you get more privacy with less noise.
Also, choose a room that faces the front so that your balcony faces the road, so that you can chill out and enjoy the wind at night.

All in all, it is value for money as it does have a cheap rate, but surely more can be done to improve our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room #16 on the 2nd floor as it is at the corner, so you get more privacy with less noise. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophianjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

August 2013. We had a quad room on first level over looking Chalmers St. Room and sheets were clean, although bed was quite firm, I would suggest taking your own pillow if possible because equally as firm. Although overlooking street it was not noisy. Reception was friendly. For those unfamiliar with Sydney, its a 10-12 minute walk to Central station, there are local convenience stores and uphill 10-15 minutes is Crown st Surrey Hills, The Clock hotel has $5 drinks from 5 till midnight on Sundays which was great for us. The shower water pressure is lacking but for a 2 night stay, I would book again for these rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catbow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family (husband, 16 yr old step daughter and mother in law) for 3 nights.
Rooms - beds are very hard. Showers are not disabled friendly. Room servicing is very average. Rooms are clean but obvious marks on carpets etc from use. No room to make breakfast - no bench space at all.
Noise - my husband and I were in room 6. Right next to the laundry and outside seating area. Very noisy at night and in the early morning when people were leaving. Room 8 was ok.

We were on the ground floor but still have to climb stairs to get in from the street and car park. This is NOT a disabled friendly place. No lifts at all.

It is close to the city. A 10-15 min walk to Central Station and a bus right out the front that we caught (on a Sunday) to Circular Quay which took 15 mins.

The staff were very friendly and and prompt.

We would stay there again because of its location but ask for a room away from the noise. The price was $732 for 2 rooms for 3 nights. And $66 for car parking for 3 nights. $133 per room per night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,999 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Property: Central Railway Hotel
Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing