We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights from 23rd of October and it really is a lovely hotel! Nice rooms close to train station (to the right of the hotel) and shops and a lovely pub to the left of the hotel called the woolpack! Free wifi, towels and helpful staff :) would tell anyone to stay here and it's a safe area to be in!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    263
    98
    42
    20
See reviews for
258
109
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed at the Central many times over the last couple of years and have always found it to be of a consistent high standard. It is always clean and the staff are friendly. It is not too big to be impersonal and its "boutique" style makes you feel right at home. For the price, location and quality you can not find better in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

when i arrived on saturday at the hotel , no elevator struggle to drag heavy luggage up 2floor totally unconveniece. nobodies mentioned reception closes
at 9pm, we left when we returned the door was locked, nobodies explained how to use the key(but we managed to get ) party lots of noise from we arrived Evening to until we left the next day 10 am , we cant sleep the whole night

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We landed in Sydney on 20 October 2013 at 10.30 am. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. We wanted to leave our luggage at the reception then go for sightseeing in Sydney because we were only supposed to check in at 2.00 pm. Then we realized we left one of our luggage in the taxi. Alex and Virginia were at the front office at that point of time and they were so helpful and let us used the hotel telephone to call the taxi company and locate our lost luggage. After a few phone calls we managed to speak to the taxi driver. Virginia also was so kind enough to let us checked in early so that we feel comfortable while waiting for the taxi driver to come and return our luggage. Without Alex and Virginia help and hospitality our Sydney trip will be meaningless. Thank you Alex and Virginia for your kindness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginie185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurieton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Having read some very negative reviews written earlier in the year (after booking of course) I was dreading my husband's reaction to the hotel. However, reception was helpful,the room was on the ground floor as requested, spotless and the carpet looked new. The room was also much bigger than many we've experienced in higher rated hotels.
One negative - the blurb on the website implied that the hotel had an airport shuttle bus which isn't the case although reception will book this for you.
We were also provided with a boxed breakfast as we were leaving at 5.30am.
All in all a very good $128 worth




Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for one night before going on a cruise. There was meant to be 4 of us but ended up being 5 we told staff and the had no problem with the extra person and let them stay at no extra cost. It was clean and tidy. The only bad thing I would say is, we had a heap of big suitcases (as we were on our way overseas) and the entrance has some steep stairs and there us no lift and we were in the third floor so we had to drag them up two flights of stairs, but the reception lady did help us which was nice of her, but its really a pain especially for some one who doesn't do to we'll with stairs. But apart from that it was great and had a great location! And really cheap we got a discount through work and it only cost $107 for the night for the 5 of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindzlee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Overall was a great place to stay, very clean rooms and serviced daily, handy location (short walk to Central Train Station with cafes along the way to get a coffee) Or turn left from the hotel and a short stroll to some more restaurants and little convenient store. Hotel was simple and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff what more could you ask for, Will definitely stay again if I return to Sydney!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Property: Central Railway Hotel
Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing