We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Railway Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Reasonable rate, clean and situated at a nice, quaint location. We had a good 7-10 minutes breezy walk to Central Railway Station and 20 minutes walk to CBD. An ample free-flow of packet coffee and tea too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Central Railway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was great to have a kitchenette in the room and a couch to sit on. I did not like the shower being on a 20 cm platform and I would have preferred curtains rather than shades but for the price it was good value overall.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases do not go for the second floor as there is no lift as far as I could tel...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnfoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the Central Railway Hotel recently and found it well located away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD but still very close to Central Station.The room was extremely clean and the staff very friendly.Rooms have been tastefully refurbished recently - new beds ,televison and fittings.The bonus is having a microwave and toaster so limited cooking can be done in the rooms.This was handy as Woolworths is only a block away across the road from Redfern Park.My room was on the second floor a couple of units back from the street and it was hard to believe I was in Sydney - very quiet and peaceful.I have always stayed somewhere else when in Sydney but was so impressed I will be staying here in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main street if you want a quieter room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Central Railway Hotel is about 10 mins walk from the Central Station, which is very convenient to us, plus the beautiful view we had while walking through the Prince Alfred Park to the station and back everyday. The room was good enough for the four of us (family with 2 kids)- 2 queen beds,mini pantry and a 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was rather small but clean and all basic necessities were provided. Microwave, kettle and basic cutleries were also provided and for us it is definitely a plus point - especially when you are travelling with kids! And yes, the Free Internet came in as a big bonus. Would recommend this place definitely.. my credit goes to Virginia at the front desk who had been very friendly and make us feel at home. …breakfast can be better though..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As two of a group of ten attending the Rotary International Convention at Olympic Park we found the location, approx. 900 metres to the Central Railway, very handy. It was on the main bus route into the City which was also great as we were able to ride straight to Circular Quay and the Rocks.
Our room was clean and in good condition. The bathroom was a bit cramped but we coped. The facilities in the room, micro wave, toaster, electric jug were very handy.
Free Wi-Fi is always a bonus in Australia, although the best place to connect was the courtyard.
The courtyard was very handy for our group to meet and relax.
The only down side is the steps up to the entrance and no elevator between floors.
Overall well worth considering again.
Virginia at the front desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor to avoid stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked two rooms for family members for a wedding at $299 each for a Sunday night. The rooms were very clean but are overdue for an update particularly in the bathroom where there is no vanity shelf space and the shower head is very small. However the beds were very comfortable and there was little street noise on the second floor The taxi fare for a maxicab to and from Doltone House (across from Star Casino) was less than $35. There is only underground parking for a dozen or so cars but this was no problem on a Sunday night and there were parks to spare. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.Would stay there again if we wanted to be in that part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Traveling from Coffs Harbour arriving at Central Station only 5 minutes walk to the hotel was very welcome. The room on the second floor was clean and had all the amenities we needed. The beds were spacious, and comfortable, the shower was a bit small but worked fine. The air con/ heater didn't work properly so it was a little 'cool' in the evenings. The really great thing about the Central was the friendly and helpful staff, well done. The location is ideal for getting around the city with bus stops outside and Central Station close by. Thank you for adding to a great trip to see the Lion King at the Capital Theatre.

Room Tip: Chalmers Road can be a bit noisy so go for a room at the side or back, we thought the second floor w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumber1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 178 in Sydney
2,464 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,877 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
859 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#78 of 178 in Sydney
401 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing