We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Sydney Central Train and Bus Stations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Ranked #90 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“At Sydney Central Train and Bus Stations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

No need for Taxi when I arrived at Central Station from Brisbane. Hotel just across the road from the Train Station and a Bus Station and the light rail station. Took the green free bus into CBD and also to circular quay. My clean room was serviced daily and and I enjoyed the comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast was very good as were the two evening meals I had in the hotel restaurant. A great jumping off point to explore Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Carmel K,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

The team and I were delighted to read about the great meals you enjoyed in our Restaurant. My team were especially pleased by the comment you made regarding the evening meals you enjoyed so thank you for this recognition, it is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    690
    310
    130
    79
See reviews for
257
599
136
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a treat it was to stay in this very nice, centrally located hotel! Our first room was a whole suite including a dining area, a living area, a huge bedroom and really nice bathroom. More than we ever expected, but much appreciated and truly enjoyed. When we booked for a second stay, we got a regular room but it too met and exceeded our expectations. Very nice bedding, trendy bathrooms, good tv's and very clean and modern for a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Closets are hidden but large with plenty of extra supplies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Julie R,

It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Sydney and look forward to welcoming you back.

Tip: When booking your next stay, pre-book your breakfast on check in to enjoy a discount!

Warm Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This is the first time to Sydney for us and we are delighted that our travel agent secured this hotel for our two day visit. It provided all we could want for and we took advantage of the excellent breakfast. Very handy swimming pool on the roof. We have been dighted with our stay here. Plus it is just a 2km walk to see the opera house and bridge during which time you we see sooooo many shops!

Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay here even more enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevetkdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Stevetkdme,

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Hotel.

I am pleased that you were happy with our staff and that they made your stay here even more enjoyable.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

After a gruelling trans-pacific flight I found the hotel welcoming and was able to settle in with a minimum of fuss. The central location made exploring the city easy. I dined in the hotel restaurant with a friend and we both found the menu and service good. I appreciated the air-conditioning (not too cold and not too noisy), the bed and the toiletries. And I especially welcomed the internet service, as the ability to stay in touch is important to me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Steffi O,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Hotel. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

I am pleased that you found our air conditioning, internet and bathroom amenities a welcomed service. I appreciate your feedback on our restaurant menu and services and will ensure that this is passed onto the team.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed for one night for business last week. It was fine - easy to find and close to the railway station which I used the next morning to get to the airport for an early morning flight. You can get there by an underground tunnel near the hotel.
Check in was good, check out very easy. It is a basic hotel, my bed was not that comfortable but the room was clean. The TV worked well and it had the toiletries I needed during a quick business trip.
It's name refers to "Studio" hotel but I didn't have any kitchen facilities, just a mini bar so this may an issue for people who were expecting to have these facilities. I didn't need them so no problem for me - I just needed a bed for 10 hours.

So it is good if you just need a basic room near Central - otherwise I would prefer to stay closer to the CBD next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear HughesChristchurch,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.

We were glad to hear that you found our front office team efficient with your check in and check out service.

We have also passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to share with the team.

We would like to inform you that we have an array of Hotels within the Sydney CBD and would be more than happy to arrange accommodation with one of them for your next visit to Sydney that better suits your location requirements.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Kind Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

On our visit to Sydney from 26 Feb - 2 March, 2014, we stayed at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel opposite central station, purely for convenience. We had a busy schedule over the four days and the location suited us perfectly. Near buses, trains, shops, restaurants, pubs - you name it, it was close by!

We actually did not know anything about this small hotel except what we had read on the website. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice and inviting the hotel lobby was, how friendly and attentive the young receptionists were, and how spacious and comfortable the rooms were. The huge, extended balcony from the room, overlooking the Central Station complex (no sight of or noise from any trains whatsoever) was also a plus for those wanting some fresh air.

One downside was the design of the shower recess. No doors, no slanting floor so water from the shower seeped out onto the carpet. In fact, the carpet outside the bathroom in our room had permanent water stains on it from the bathroom. Outside our room on the 3rd floor, there were also large water stains on the carpet.

The other thing that we noticed was the thin walls. The guests in the room next door came home late one evening and we could hear them come into the room and start chatting and giggling. However, we had the TV on so soon forgot about the noise.

All in all, a nice place to stay in Sydney, close to where all of the action is, very comfortable beds and at last, a hotel with bright lights to enable you to read in bed!! . Value for money? reasonable...but a little hard to judge since were were visiting Sydney on the same weekend as the mardigras so all hotel rates were on the high side.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the massive Sydney Central Station complex are great as you have a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWin178000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear IWin_12,

It is always lovely to hear that a guest has had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the water damage to the carpet in your room. If you can kindly contact the hotel directly to provide your room number so we can have this rectified as soon as possible would be greatly appreciated. Kindly email: reservations.sydneyc@rendezvoushotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Location wise this hotel was not bad not that far from the main attractions of Sydney right beside the train station that was handy.

The staff we not the most friendliest bunch in the work,they went about their tasks in a very mechanical manner,not overly helpful you would not be confident in approaching them for help from that point of view the hotel would want to up their game.

The rooms were the highlight we stayed a week so having a big spacious room was a help with luggage etc.the bed was one of the most comfy hotel beds I've slept in.

I would advise any one to avoid the breakfast we paid $16 ok it's a buffet job and you can eat as much as you like the quality of the good is very poor go down the road to some of the cafe's and get a quality breakfast for the same price

It's well located with good rooms but need to shape up on everything else

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Vitara07,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience of our Hotel. Feedback is always welcomed as it ultimately helps us to improve our services and products and in turn boost the overall guest experience.

Your comments regarding the service from our Front Office team have been noted and have been used as a training tool in our meetings. We have also passed on your feedback about the quality of the food to our Food & Beverage manager and Head Chef and we aim to have an improvement shortly.

Kindly contact us directly to look after your future bookings for Sydney via email: reservations.sydneyc@rendezvoushotels.com. We can assure you that you will see a positive improvement in the areas highlighted by you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Marque Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing