We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Ranked #89 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were most pleased with this hotel. It was very centrally located in Sydney. We could walk to the historic areas, to the water and boat tour, but most importantly it was right across from the train station to begin our journey across Australia. The staff was all very friendly, the rooms newly furbished and clean, and the view from the 12th floor was great. The hardest thing was keeping internet access, as it was limited by time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdgtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear rdgtchr,

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our friendly team.

We would also like to advise we are offering 24 hour low speed complimentary internet that you require an access code for every 3 hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Studio Hotel Sydney Central in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hayden Sarkis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    739
    336
    139
    85
See reviews for
274
638
148
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here and was very impressed from the start. We arrived at 10am after checking out from our first hotel and on asking to store our bags - the receptionist offered us a room on the 12th floor to check in early. We were very impressed with this and meant we could head out and spend more time sightseeing.

Loved the easy access to Central station - esp after 2 late nights seeing concerts it was quick and easy to get back to the hotel.

All the staff were very professional and loved the 3hrs free internet a day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Nik M,

It is always wonderful to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. We were delighted to hear that our team accommodated you promptly on check in.

We would also like to advise we are offering 24 hour low speed complimentary interenet that you require an access code for every 3 hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 810 that faces George St. Noticeable traffic noise but that was expected. Unfortunately next to room with a noisy couple and their friends pre-loading until 11pm and then returning early hours in the morning slamming doors and talking loudly. Walls are very thin and it would be easy to join in a neighbors conversation if desired without raising your voice. Our ignorant noisy neighbors chose to ignore us the next morning despite keeping us up all night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anova26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Anova26,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel.

We would like to inform you that we do have quieter rooms located on the other side of the Hotel.

We would like to apologise for the noisy neighbours and can assure you that if our team are notified we will aim to rectify the situation in the future.

We do hope you choose to return to our property.

Helpful hint: Request a quiet room facing Quay Street. Please note requests cannot be guaranteed but we will always aim to accommodate all requests.

Warm regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Clean hotel in a great location, room was clean as was the bathroom, beds in ok condition. Had room right bedside the door to the pool and roof top - would avoid this is noise is an issue (1202) meant to be no access after 9 pm but don't think guests followed that. Bit of traffic noise but once asleep it didn't keep me awake. Public transport close at hand, walking distance to china town and darling harbour. Staff were all very helpful, I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Tammy M,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experiene at our Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you found our team helpful and that you would return to us.

We would like to encourage you to book directly with us next time so we can arrange a quieter room for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Studio Hotel Sydney Central in the future.

Warm Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very convenient location to walk around Sydney Central, Hay market, etc. the staff is very nice and helpful. Two negative things: noise and smell. You can hear almost everything people doing next door: TV, toilet, walking, talking, ... And of course, the noise from cars in the George street and the trains approaching the station. I hardly could sleep on the first night. The toilet is smelly. I don't think it wasn't cleaned properly by the cleaner. The smell was due to the old sewage that doesn't flush things away properly. The shower wasn't strong and there wasnt enough hot water even though I took very short shower (1 to 2 minutes). Another minor negative thing was the internet. It was said that wifi was free but I had to go downstairs to refresh my log in with help from the hotel staff every three hours. Not very convenient. Overall, I guess you get what you pay for. It is in Sydney Central so not sure whether we have many better choices.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing George street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Hoa N,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our offering.

It is terrific to read that you enjoyed our team here and that you found them nice and helpful.

We are pleased to inform you that the smell in the bathroom and the water pressure and temerature you mentioned has been addressed with our team and resolved.

We would like to inform you if you book directly with us we can guarantee you a quieter room than the room you were previously accommodated in.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Falls, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a great location, giving you access to George Street where it leads to the harbor. The free 555 bus also stops at the huge bus stand right outside the hotel (cross the street).
Lots of food available after 6pm until late. If you're adventurous you can walk all the way to see the Opera House and the bridge.

The room we had had marks on the walls, but really not functionally a problem. Free wifi is 3 hours at a time (can be stretched over days), but we were told that we could always request for another free 3 hours block when the limit was reach.

The strange thing was when we booked the room, no breakfast option was listed. Upon checking in and inquiring about breakfast, we were told there was free breakfast for one (really? when it was clearly stated the booking was made for 2?)

If you're coming from the airport, take the train (it runs until midnight) to central station. You'd probably be looking for the right exit, so just follow 'Western Forecourt' until you leaving the building onto the street. The hotel is right there, obscured by trees to the untrained eye, but you'll see it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Suzy S,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We have contacted you on your profile directly as we aim to attain specific information that will assist us in addressing and rectifying the concerns you mentioned about our walls and the breakfast inclusion options.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hearing from you so we can address these concerns you have raised.

Kind Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

In a fantastic location right across from Central. Clean and modern. Really comfortable. Very friendly staff. I stay here again and again on business trips & always have a great experience. This hotel is way cheaper than the Novotel next door, but comparing the two - Rendezvous is definitely the best pick!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Kate H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and also your past stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney. Kindly contact our reservations team directly to make your booking on email reservations.sydneyc@rendezvoushotels.com

Warm Regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 179 in Sydney
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing