We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Ranked #87 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked at this hotel as my wife needed to complete a course in Sydney, so it was more business related and no mood was romance required. Being close to Central Station was a bonus since we hate driving in the city. Paddy's market is a stones throw away and there are plenty of food options and Cafe's with good coffee.
The check-in was very efficient. The guy was very friendly too, even on check-out. Genuinely happy to strike up a conversation rather than the standard scripted conversations.
I wasn't expecting much from the room, but was pleasantly surprised to find it quite clean and modern. Best of all, it was a decent size. I could name a hotel on the same street with an well known international name that doesn't have this standard. The bathroom was nice and I liked the shower head. Let's you move about the shower with ease.
As usual, the mini bar is ridiculously overpriced but we never use it anyway. We didn't utilise the restaurant/bar in the building so can't comment on the food. The atmosphere down there seemed pretty good though. We didn't utilise the Gym or Spa either. Will look to use both in the future. Overall, our stay was good enough for us to return in the future or recommend to others. It was good value even for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacey306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear pacey306,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at our Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you found our team helpful and effecient.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, please contact the hotel directly for your next booking so we can arrange a package that will help you get the most out of your next stay with us.

King Regards,

Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very centrally located as it is very close to the Central train station and a bus stop at the side of the hotel. A quick bus ride away from Hyde Park so majority of the tourist landmarks in Sydney is closeby. We were in their suite room at the 11th floor which has a sofa bed and a dining table for four. Very close as well to Chinatown so we had a lot of local asian dining options.

All basic amenities are included in the room but the free wifi is only good for 3 hours. Not too bad since most of the time we are not in the hotel anyway since we are busy exploring. Have complete dining utensils but no microwave or cooker. Well trained and cordial staff. Not the friendliest but very professional.

Good value for money. Will stay again when in Sydney.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pearlie_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Pearlie_76,

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will return on your next visit to Sydney.

We would like to bring to attention that our wifi is offered complimentary for 24 hours low speed which requires an access code. Each access code will last for 3 hours to give our guest the option to upgrade to our high speed internet. To receive additional access codes for low speed internet please contact reception who will be able to assist in providing another code/s.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Such a great place, have stayed here many time when coming to Sydney from Canberra. So close to everything, short walk to city. Train located opposite. Great stay, went to Luna park for the day & was even able to leave the car at the hotel for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Jasjay,

It is so great to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us.

A helpful tip: Try booking our Drive and Stay package which includes accommodation, parking and breakfast for 2 for extra savings on your next visit. Please contact the Hotel directly to book.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here in May for a second time for two nights while in Sydney to see the Loin King show at the Capitol theater, a great location and close to the theater, just a ten minuet walk. our stay again was peaceful and we had two good nights sleep. the room was clean and well presented and a very comfortable bed made for a good nights sleep.
our room this time was at the side of the building and with triple glazing at the windows very little road noise was noticeable,
we had the buffet breakfast that was great for the money and set you up for the day, all was freshly cooked and tasty.
The staff were helpful and friendly and were happy to assist in any way.
Would i stay here again, yes i sure would, for a hotel in such a central location it was good to know you could relax with a bit of peace quiet while the rest of Sydney went about its business outside.

Room Tip: top floors seem best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi paul h,

It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you would return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the near future.

Warm regards,

Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Straight too it, the room itself seemed and was quite nice.
Television reception was so bad it was unwatchable, reception - we'll check it tomorrow.
After the first night I suffered from an air conditioner that would go at random from full heat to full cold at random. This ended up giving Neva full blown cold.
2nd night doing the same but discover it before I go to sleep this time so i decide to use blankets, none in the room - reception, there are blankets. After we argue this I state I am already tired and unwell and have a big day for tomorrow and need the sleep & rest so they promise they will deliver blankets immediately, these never arrive and after an hour followed by another phone call to reception to say they have been too busy checking in new victims, I mean customers. Never mind the ones already staying there so I give up and make do with what I have.
For the record the breakfast area if you purchase this option has very little to choose from though you do have 4 varieties of what they say was juice but I suspect was highly watered down juices, you will be hard pressed to find a seat/table

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank SeanBAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear SeanBAU,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests.

First and foremost we would like to apologise for the service you received during your recent stay with us. The service that you describe is very foreign to the high standards we set ourselves at this Hotel.

We would like to inform you that we have spoken to the team members involved regarding your requests that were not attended to promptly. We have also passed on your feedback regarding the air conditioner and as a result, this issue has now been resolved.

Once again, thank you for letting us know about your stay and I hope we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Rendezvous Studio Hotel Sydney Central in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayden Sarkis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at this Hotel over the June long weekend. From our arrival on Friday the customer service and experience of booking in was the best I have every received. We then proceeded to our room to find it spacious and spotlessly clean. Have stayed before and will being definitely staying again.....Would recommend this to all our friends. Customer service, cleanliness and location.. all things you need when visiting Sydney

Room Tip: A room away from the corner of George & Quay streets if possible
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Jennifer T,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at our Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you found our team helpful and that you would return to us.

We would like to encourage you to book directly with us next time so we can arrange a quieter room for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Studio Hotel Sydney Central in the future.

King Regards,

Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend stay with the hotel due to its amazing location and decent prices. First off, the staff were friendly, prompt and polite - they really are doing a fabulous job. Upon check in we were upgraded to a larger room and allowed a late check out which made us really happy. The room was clean and neat with double glazed windows which ensured minimal traffic noise. My favourite room was the bathroom which was modern and had a fantastic rainwater shower head which had great pressure and heated up quickly. Free wife with a code every three hours was fine for us as we were only there at night, although I found the speed to be very slow. Breakfast was well appointed and well priced, $18.The disappointing thing though, and I guess the most important thing, is that I barely slept. Why? Our room adjoined another's and we could hear everything (and I mean word for word) they/their TV programmes were saying. This made us very reluctant to even gave conversations in our room as we knew they would be able to do the same to us. The front door to our room was equally thin meaning every time someone walked past it was as if our door was open. The second disappointing area: I was so excited to be in a king room because of the bed.. Unfortunately, the bed was VERY springy with no comfort top that I would expect in a four star hotel. The pillows were so thin and flat I had to sleep on three of them to lie on my side effectively. The bed also slightly caved in the middle which meant you got to a point in the bed and kept rolling into each other. Normally I can sleep anywhere, truly, having travelled extensively, but this was the worst nights sleep I have ever had in my life. I urge the hotel to rectify these things as the hotel is doing an amazing job elsewhere and I would definitely stay again if the door and bed issues were rectified. In total, a well priced place to stay with great staff and a good location but ensure you don't get an adjoining room and check out the bed quality before it's 1am and you're desperate to go to sleep.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank alexandragfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden S, Supervisor Front Office at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Emoxhair,

It's great to hear your comments regarding the service provided to you from our Team at the Hotel.

First and foremost we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests.

We have already began ordering new pillows for all of our guest rooms, if you could contact the hotel directly and provide us with the room number you were in so we can investigate further the issue with your mattress.

Tip: Book directly with the Hotel on your next stay so we can guarantee you a quiet room with no adjoining rooms on either side.

King Regards,

Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £86 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing