We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crest Hotel - Cheap and Reasonable”
Review of The Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crest Hotel
Ranked #139 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Crest Hotel - Cheap and Reasonable”
Reviewed 7 January 2008

The Crest Hotel was a good comfortable place to stay. If you are a budget traveller and you want a SAFE place to stay, this is a place I would recommend. Its in Kings Cross which is in a red light district, but the GOOD side to this is the food. THe food is amazing on Darlinghurst Street. You can get pizza, kebabs, indian food, thai, malaysian, chinese - you name it. And very cheap prices! Best of all,
they are open all night. The street has peddlers who ask for money and
you might see some red light workers on the streets in the early hours
of the morning or late at night but having stayed here twice I had no problems.

The views were incredible, the bed although it was old was comfortable
and clean. The sheets were clean. I took off the main cover. The bathroom was clean. It came with a table and a basic tv, an alarm clock that worked (this is very important).

Overall, for 80 dollars or so and for its central location close to Elizabeth bay and the harbour views to the opera house I would have to say I was satisfied. What more could you ask for on such a cheap price? Seriously you get what you pay for and a little extra here. IF you can handle the fact that the hotel is old 70's style hotel and needs a renovation then you will be most pleased.

Sydney hotels this close to the harbour dont come cheap, and I guarantee you that no place, no matter hoe expensive does not come with the range and diversity of food choices as this place. Take a step out of the hotel and you will be amazed. For $10 dollars I got 2 curries, 2 tandoori chickens and 2 slices of pizza.

You go anywhere else and you will pay almost $20 dollars for that.
Also the hotel is within walking distance of the botanical gardens. I stayed at Manly once, and it required a ferry and a bus and cost me almost 50 dollars return.

With regards to safety in Kings Cross - this is my advice for you. The
only way you might get into problems is if you actively look for this kind of thing. If you walk down the street at a brisk pace and dont stop like I did, you can avoid any troubles.

Hopefully some people out there will be agreeing with me. As with anything - you get what you pay for - THIS PLACE - you get what you pay for and extra.

  • Liked — Views, safety, food
  • Disliked — Potentially Dangerous and sleazy surrounding area of Kings Cross
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony_au77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    2
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
2
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2007

I stayed at the Crest hotel for two nights in April. I had a room on the 14th floor. And indeed it looked nothing like the photos on the hotel-website. There were stains in the carpet, the in-room fridge did not work. Some of the light switches were cracked. In the bathroom there was mold in the shower and plaster peeled off the ceiling...so far so bad.

But the hotel is in a great location, good restaurants and bars nearby, excellent train and bus connections to all major city-attractions. And since I only needed the room to sleep and not to hang out all day, I must say the room smelled surprisingly fresh, the beds were clean and comfy, and I got an unbeatable rate considering it was easter-weekend.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We got a taxi from the airport which was about a 20 minute drive at a very reasonable rate. On arrival at the hotel, the area didn't look too bad (how wrong I was) and from the outside, the hotel looked OK. The reception area looks fine, but the staff were miserable and didn't seem to want to be there.

The room was an average size, with a mini-fridge and TV. The view was of Kings Cross, very noisy and not a pretty sight at night! The carpet and wallpaper was stained, would not walk around bare-foot! The bathroom was very small, shower curtain was filthy and some of the towels were stained.

The air-con did not work in the room (we later found out that the air-con had broken in the whole hotel) which made for a very unpleasant night sleep.

The area surrounding the hotel is Sydneys red light disctrict, lots of prostitutes, strip joints and beggars around.

On the plus side, the breakfast is decent and the hotel is around a 10-15 min walk from the city centre and the city sight seeing bus stop is a few metres from the front of the hotel.

Hotel is ideal for anyone who is on a tight budget and doesn't really mind about the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — The bus stop is right outside the hotel
  • Disliked — The room was dirty and very tired
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

it does look tired in place, my room had stains but was clean. Area is ropey - there's slappers out at like 5 in the afternoon. worst Macdonalds in the world in the area - now man thats dirty

  • Liked — location to train station and sports bar
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — go no further in kings cross than the above mentioned train station!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4wkwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2006

My wife, my two children, and I went on the vacation of a lifetime in Australia this year. My travel agent booked this hotel for us stating it was in the city, close to nearby attractions, and has been given 3 stars. My travel agent has booked many outstanding family friendly hotels in the past, and I thought this would be no exception so I didn't even bother to investigate the details of this hotel.

When my family arrived in Sydney in November 2006, we took a taxi to the hotel. The taxi driver asked a few times if the destination was correct as if I had been mistaken. When we arrived I was shocked not only by the location, the local people, but the hotel itself. There were scantily clad women sipping from champagne bottles at 7 am in the morning. Men urinating on the street, and many what seemed to be minors either hung over or strung out. I'm from a small town in Minnesota, and I was not expecting our travel agent to book us into this type of area with my 2 children.

My wife freaked out at this scene, but I comforted her and proceeded to check into this "hotel." The front desk person was young and partially dimissive, but not rude. We had asked for 2 double beds and what we got was a large corner type room with a queen bed and a single bed. The room was dank and musty with decor from the early 1980s. The carpets were worn, stained, and in some areas burnt from cigarette butts. The window overlooked the street with the champagne sipping women, and the leather clad strung out men (were they pimps?). The windows would not open, and the air conditioner leaked water which may have explained the musty smell.

The bathroom was unclean, the grout was moldy, the toilet soiled not only with urine and faeces but pubic hair as well.

I frantically tried to call my travel agent, but she didn't answer. I went downstairs to report the state the room was in, but there were no more rooms with two beds. The receptionist did contact their version of housekeeping and the bathroom situation was partially rectified. Feeling exhausted from the flight I had no energy to look for another hotel that day and my wife and children slipped into the yellow stained sheets of the lumpy queen bed. I was too afraid to let my children attempt to sleep alone in that single bed. We had a decent rest and as it was the evening we thought we should get showered and go for something to eat. My wife was first to shower, and when she used a towel to dry herself there were small black eggs on the towel. I'm not an entemologist so I don't know what kind of eggs they were, but feeling energized I called the Novotel in Darling Harbour and we stayed there instead. And no, I did not receive any refund by leaving early. The Novotel was offering rates for about $55 a day more than this place which is worth it to avoid insect imbued towels.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Unclean bathroom and room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here if there are other hotels available avoid the King's Cross area.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SighMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater in California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

We stayed at the Crest Hotel in November 2006, we had a horrible time. The pictures on the web site are nothing like the hotel.
This hotel ruined our stay in Sydney. The rooms are awful, smelly, unsanitary and loud. Our entire room was wallpapered, including the ceiling. The wall paper was pealing off the walls and there was severe carpet stains. It looks as the entire floor had water damage. The room smelled of urine, feces, smoke and alcohol.

The room was unsafe: exposed wires on the wall, wall sockets and the TV power cord. The air conditioner was very loud, it was like being inside a truck engine. The control was broken and we could not turn it off. But at least the sound of the refrigerator would drown out the A/C, and when that didn't work there was the screams, shouts and yells from the street. We could not close our drapes as the rod was broken. The dead bolt for the adjoining room was missing. We had to pile our suitcases in front of the door so no one would come in.

We could not use the bathroom as it was covered in mold and we had brown water.

The area outside the hotel is not a family area. There are hookers (legal) several strip shops and live sex shows. Bums (homeless persons) sleeping and peeing on the street. Beggers and street performers (not very good ones). The street party goes on 7 days a week, starts at sundown and goes on until sunrise.

The hotel staff was totally discourtesy and refused to help. We could not find another hotel room because of the Billy Joel and U2 Concert, as well as conventions in Sydney. They had no more rooms and knew we couldn't find another room. They just didn't care.

If you are a college student looking for adventure (and your inoculations are current)this might be an interesting hotel, but bring a sleeping bag and disinfectant. All other travelers stay clear of the Crest.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Unsanitary conditions
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay at the Crest!
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank scubacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Our group arrived in Syndey on November 16, 2006. Prior to checking in, our group took a tour of the city. Our bus driver asked us where we were staying. We told him the Crest Hotel. In his fine Australian accent, he says oh you are staying in the "RED LIGHT DISTRICT". We all laughed, like he was joking. We finally arrived to the hotel to check in at 8 p.m. Low in behold, our tour bus pulls in front of a the hotel. All of our jaws dropped and said the bus driver was telling us the truth. The street infront of the hotel was full of drug dealers, prostitutes, XXX locations, strip clubs, sex shops, bath and massage houses and and so in and so forth. Once we unloaded the bus, here they come to solicite you. We had to remind everyone to hold and watch there bags.

Once we entered the hotel, we were given our keys. One elevator was broken and the two others were slow. The desk crew was young and inexperienced.

Once we arrived to our room on the 8th floor and street side, the problem became worst. The windows were open and there were no screens on the windows. Who knows what had could of crawled in. As I lifted the drapes to close the window, the drapery lining fell into my hand. As I look closer I noticed the drapes were falling apart. As they fell apart the dust starts flowing in the air. I thought for sure we had tons of dust mites. As I check the room, next to one of the beds I find an unusual brown substance flowing midway down the wall to the floor. I have never seen anything like it before. My party and I pondered what it could have been. As I looked at the wall and the positioning of the bed, our thoughts came to the conclusion that it was feces left from a romp from the activitites outside. At the same time one of us check the bathroom and there was missing appliances, the doors weren't painted, and the wall paper was falling off the ceiling and the walls. I call the front desk to complain, and they tell me no one is avaliable. Finally I demand a person to come and check the room. They finally come with a dry towel and some water. I had asked them about some disinfectants, but they said they did not have access to any, because housekeeping was gone for the evening.

I am finally fed up and go to the front desk. As the elevator doors open I see the other members of my group. Approx 60-70 people. The complaints were enormous. There was one couple who had rat feces in their room. Another who had no bathroom, because their bathroom was out of order. The complaints went endless.

The complaints were so enourmous, everyone wanted to check out of the hotel and go to another. Which is impossible at 10 or 11 p.m. at night. We demanded our travel agents to do something. That became diffilcult, because of the agreements sets. So we were stuck for 3 days.

During the days we were on city tours, at night we stayed at the hotel just to sleep and have breakfast. The nights were long and noisy. On the 8th floor, with the windows closed, we could hear the howling from the strip clubs, the strippers theme songs, the overly intoxicated yelling, the horn honking coming from the vehicles and taxis, the street bands until 5 or 6 in the morning. In the morning when you look out, you can see the ones who could not make it home, hanging around the shops and the entrances to the metro rail.

This story could go on and on. If you like this kind of area oe hotel, this is the place for you. If it isn't, do not stay here.....

I have photos, will try to post after I find out how to do it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The stains on the wall, drapes and decor
  • Tips/Secrets — This hotel is located in the "RED LIGHT DISTRICT"!
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank VacationsNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#103 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#72 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#106 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest Hotel

Property: The Crest Hotel
Address: 111 Darlinghurst Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen-story Hotel located in Kings Cross, 50 meters from Downtown train station, near commercial & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing