We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE and the photos do not dipict the rooms or location”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crest Hotel
Ranked #139 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE and the photos do not dipict the rooms or location”
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Our group arrived in Syndey on November 16, 2006. Prior to checking in, our group took a tour of the city. Our bus driver asked us where we were staying. We told him the Crest Hotel. In his fine Australian accent, he says oh you are staying in the "RED LIGHT DISTRICT". We all laughed, like he was joking. We finally arrived to the hotel to check in at 8 p.m. Low in behold, our tour bus pulls in front of a the hotel. All of our jaws dropped and said the bus driver was telling us the truth. The street infront of the hotel was full of drug dealers, prostitutes, XXX locations, strip clubs, sex shops, bath and massage houses and and so in and so forth. Once we unloaded the bus, here they come to solicite you. We had to remind everyone to hold and watch there bags.

Once we entered the hotel, we were given our keys. One elevator was broken and the two others were slow. The desk crew was young and inexperienced.

Once we arrived to our room on the 8th floor and street side, the problem became worst. The windows were open and there were no screens on the windows. Who knows what had could of crawled in. As I lifted the drapes to close the window, the drapery lining fell into my hand. As I look closer I noticed the drapes were falling apart. As they fell apart the dust starts flowing in the air. I thought for sure we had tons of dust mites. As I check the room, next to one of the beds I find an unusual brown substance flowing midway down the wall to the floor. I have never seen anything like it before. My party and I pondered what it could have been. As I looked at the wall and the positioning of the bed, our thoughts came to the conclusion that it was feces left from a romp from the activitites outside. At the same time one of us check the bathroom and there was missing appliances, the doors weren't painted, and the wall paper was falling off the ceiling and the walls. I call the front desk to complain, and they tell me no one is avaliable. Finally I demand a person to come and check the room. They finally come with a dry towel and some water. I had asked them about some disinfectants, but they said they did not have access to any, because housekeeping was gone for the evening.

I am finally fed up and go to the front desk. As the elevator doors open I see the other members of my group. Approx 60-70 people. The complaints were enormous. There was one couple who had rat feces in their room. Another who had no bathroom, because their bathroom was out of order. The complaints went endless.

The complaints were so enourmous, everyone wanted to check out of the hotel and go to another. Which is impossible at 10 or 11 p.m. at night. We demanded our travel agents to do something. That became diffilcult, because of the agreements sets. So we were stuck for 3 days.

During the days we were on city tours, at night we stayed at the hotel just to sleep and have breakfast. The nights were long and noisy. On the 8th floor, with the windows closed, we could hear the howling from the strip clubs, the strippers theme songs, the overly intoxicated yelling, the horn honking coming from the vehicles and taxis, the street bands until 5 or 6 in the morning. In the morning when you look out, you can see the ones who could not make it home, hanging around the shops and the entrances to the metro rail.

This story could go on and on. If you like this kind of area oe hotel, this is the place for you. If it isn't, do not stay here.....

I have photos, will try to post after I find out how to do it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The stains on the wall, drapes and decor
  • Tips/Secrets — This hotel is located in the "RED LIGHT DISTRICT"!
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank VacationsNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    2
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
2
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A place called Planet Earth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2006

A friend of mine and I visited the Hotel in August 2002 and we really enjoyed our stay!

We had a hotel room, which ovelooked the opera house and the bridge (Great full view)!

The staff is very nice and very helpful, the location is very lively at night and we never got bored walking in the hotel area!

Please note that when we were there there were quite a few strip joints in the area and there were people soliciiting clients to enter! That didn't bother us but if it bothers you don't go to this area!

Furthermore, there are several restaurants and bars in the area and the place is lively all night long but you will not hear any noise from your room!

  • Liked — The Amazing view of the city and the bay area!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — don't take taxis in the city - Walk it!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanspirit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights. Reception staff were friendly. Room was tired and lacklustre. Even had wallpaper on the ceiling!!

I'd stay here again, but I would request a room that overlooks the city rather than Kings Cross - which is a real grotty part of Sydney. If your room overlooks Kings Cross, then you will find it very noisy at night! I found it very hard to sleep.

Staff were helpful with storing my suitcase and arranging transport to the airport, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crappy rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room on the city side of the building
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moggybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales, uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

Ww stayed here for a week and loved it! The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room with 1 double and 1 single bed for the two of us with a great view of the tower.

The hotel was a bit tatty, especially the bathroom where we had a permanent drip, and there was a strange smell in the corridor outside our room, but, apart from those minor details, we were really comfortable and relaxed. We were also glad to make use of the underground parking. The hotel offered a special offer for two people having breakfast which was very good value, but with so many alternatives we only had breakfast once at the hotel.

There was a great little pavement cafe next door to a bakery more or less opposite the main doors which served very reasonably priced but delicious food (also a very acceptable claret) where we ate cheaply and often.

The main beauty of this hotel is that everything you need is right there. Station, bus stops, supermarket, bars, cafes, restaurants, chemists, massages and most went on until very late so no worries about buying the bits and pieces that got overlooked during all that sightseeing.

Kings Cross is the red light district, and there were a number of adult entertainment venues, but the street was well lit and crowded, and as two females of a certain age we can say we felt perfectly safe and unmolested at any time of night.

If you are looking for those little extra touches of luxury, I guess you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for a reasonably priced. lively location with good transport links this could be the hotel for you.

I hope to make a return visit before long, and although possibly due for a refurbishment, I really hope it doesn't change too soon.

  • Liked — casual comfort. the view from our room, transport links, local facilities
  • Disliked — the dripping tap
  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Arrived at hotel and taken to room that had a good view of the city on floor 6. Upon further inspection found dried blood (quite a bit actually) on duvet, rang roomservice to advise and made to feel like i was a nuisance. Walking into bathroom looked at the carpet to find someone elses disgusting toenail clippings, obviously not a great cleaner.
2nd night the power in room blew at 9.30pm, rang reception, (ours was the only room this had happened too, so it wasnt as though they were trying to help alot of others) half an hour later someone came to look - we are sitting in dark room waiting- he says he will be back shortly, rings and says power not able to be fixed that night pack up (in the dark) and they would move us to another room. Not impressed did as he said and waited another half hour until he finally came up with another key. We had been in a non smoking room, this time they moved us to floor 12 and overlooking the cross, noisy as hell especially coming from a room that was quite, also this was a smoking room.. No sorry kiss my ---- or anything from reception.
All the carpets are stained and the wallpaper is ripped. Everything is old and needs a lot of work to bring it up to a reasonable standard. Around bath is disgusting all needs to be re sealed. Dont look too closely you might not like what you see.
At $104 nz per night per person this place is far too expensive and would never stay again, would also advise others not to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank notimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Stayed for 3 nights during a trip from Africa to New Zealand. The hotel is old but cheap & comfortable. Staff were not you typical hotel staff but that made the stay better! The room maid kept everything very clean, the breakfast girls were always smiling and friendly and the front desk clerks couldn't do enough to help. Will stay there everytime I'm in Sydney!

  • Liked — Great Vibe
  • Disliked — Age Of Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Always Tip - They Will Always Help!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OzMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2005

We always stay here when we go to Sydney. It's right above Kings Cross station which is like one stop to the city. It's also a short walk to the Botanical Gardens or Oxford Street shopping strip. The rooms are big and comfortable. The staff are not very friendly but they do their job.

The major downside (for some) would be the location - although convenient with the train station and walking distance to good food etc. - it is not family friendly. If you are one of those people who gets intimidated by groups of youths who aren't white or advertisements for strippers, you will probably be severely put off. Unofrtunately that is what a big city is like and we don't mind that to walk through.

The BEST bit is the buffet breakfast. They have everything you want and it's thrown in the price, it's the kind of breakfast you'd pay $35 for at another hotel. Sausages, bacon, eggs, cooked vegetables, cereals toasts, asian breakfast. And eat as much as you want. mmmm!

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#103 of 174 in Sydney
132 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 174 in Sydney
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#71 of 174 in Sydney
494 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#116 of 174 in Sydney
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest Hotel

Property: The Crest Hotel
Address: 111 Darlinghurst Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen-story Hotel located in Kings Cross, 50 meters from Downtown train station, near commercial & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing