We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #137 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here in August and we found it to be great value for what we paid! The room was basic but we were happy with that and it was only a short walk to Kings Cross Station. We had no problems with the hotel at all and I would stay here again. Even if the room was basic it definitely wasn't dirty at all as other hotel guests have described on this page in fact we found it to be quite nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    182
    164
    62
    60
See reviews for
70
175
108
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Mum & I stayed in the Devere for a week, at the start of a 4-week holiday-of-a-lifetime to Australia. Sadly the Devere didn't make a very good impression ....

After travelling for 24hours to reach our destination, the last thing you want to see in the hotel is steps UP to the lift. And when you get to your floor, steps DOWN to your room. With luggage in tow, we struggled ! After finally reaching our room we walked in with anticipation since Reception had great pleasure in telling us that we have been upgraded - but were we in for a shock ! The room was shabby and grim. Every window was cracked, the seating was stained, the bath was stained & chipped, the underside of the sink was falling apart, the bottom of the bed was falling off, the under-sink cupboard was disgusting, the carpet was toe-curlingly sticky.... To top it all, our dock lock jammed on the first morning and staff had to literally kick the door down to let us out - probably explaining how the lock on the bathroom door was smashed too !

The only saving grace was clean bed-linen and comfortable beds - but once you were out of bed you wouldn't have wanted to stay a moment longer in the room !

The hotel is a fair walk from the City, so you are best to go by bus. But the train station is only a few minutes walk away, taking in all the sights of Kings Cross along the way !

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms are being renovated - make sure you get one of these !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Keep in mind that Sydney is an expensive city to stay in, and this hotel is at the low end of the pricing spectrum. For the price paid we were very happy with our stay.

We stayed in a superior double, and while the room was dated, it was clean, had plenty of space and best of all, had an AMAZING view out across Elizabeth Bay. The hotel didnt seem particularly busy during our stay, which may have contributed to the fact, but we found it to be really really quiet, no outside noise at all, and while you could hear people in the hallway, the slightly strange layout of the hotel means that there are never many people walking past your room, as there are lots of little hallways off the main part.

We didnt have much interaction with reception staff, but when we did they were friendly and helpful enough.

We really liked the area, it's far enough from Kings Cross that it feels really safe, and there are lots of places to eat, plus a supermarket across the road. Getting into town was easy on the bus, or a 30 minute walk.

The deal we got online included breakfast, which was only average. I don't think I would have paid for it given the choice, there was enough selection but a lot of it seemed a bit old.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBaxtersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Rooms were quite old but tidy, a lot of narrow staircases. There was a lot of noise comming from the restaurant downstairs. The location was pretty good for the price. Reception staff not very helpful and not interested in guests.Housekeeping staff didn't speak English very well I guess, when I requested no service they came in later and did my room anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewertowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is by far the worst hotel my wife and I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. The only decent thing about it was the lobby and reception. The room we were allocated was adjacent to the lift and it was used throughout the night and extremely noisy. Have they never heard of sound proofing? Apart from that customers returned at various times throughout the night i.e. 1a.m. -2.a.m. - 3.a.m. and 4.a.m. and first thing they do is put the tv on just to ensure you don't go back to sleep and during that time they thump around their room like elephants.. They young female staff are charming and helpful. They said we could extend the room the night before we were due to leave upt to 12.30 p.m. However the male receptionist on the last day at 4 p.m. gave a discourteous and resounding NO NO NO NO.. It was impossible to use my Android machine with their Wifi whereas it would work elsewhere. outside the hotel. The rooms can only be described as less than basic and are in need of a good lick of paint. However our room was clean and the bathrrom had clean towels. The hotel was only yards from the sleezy part of Sydney which of course is a backpackers paradise. The hotel is one step up from the bacpackers quality. It is rated has 3.5 star - god knows how they managed to achieve that - the assessor must have been blind and obviously did not stay overnight.

Room Tip: If you are determined to stay there avoid room 306 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel during a short visit to Sydney. The location was ok, felt safe though it is located in a dodgy area. Was easy to get to and from. The hotel itself was very old and dated. The room was basic and old. The window opened out to, what seemed like a wall. The elevator is probably centuries old. Had to buy vouchers for wifi which wasn't great; it should be free for the price paid for the room. I stayed here alone for a night, so I didnt mind the hotel too much. I would probably pay a little bit more and look for a better place next time. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

when we first arrived we had to wait as the room was getting fixed, staff lacked of customer service. To many stairs for luggage, 2 towels in room for 3 guests. Bath had chipped marks everywhere. Bathroom mirror had black stains on it. Rooms were outdated. Every morning we would be woken by either someone doing maintenance by drilling or the bin truck picking emptying the bins and we were on the 4th floor thats how loud it was! House keeping would leave green garbags of dirty linen and rubbish in the hallway for hours. $100 was deducted from our account as they said there was smoke butts in the room and smelt heavily of smoke. Neither myself or anyone in our group smoked in the rooms. It was a completely unfair. I would not recommend anyone to stay there!

Room Tip: Anywhere but Devere Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#114 of 176 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Property: DeVere Hotel
Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing