We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in great location”
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #142 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at The Devere for one night for work. A fantastic location and such good value for money for accommodation in central Sydney. While the rooms have aged and the property may not be what it once was, the value for money is unbeatable. I would recommend The Devere for a stay for any reason. Close to rail station and shops and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a single room if travelling for business. Great value
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for DeVere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very average hotel, but then sometimes all you really need is a firm bed and running hot water. Sydney is a pricey city when it comes to accomodation so Devere is decently priced. But sometimes it's worth it to pony up the dollars for a nicer place in a less seedy part of town. During the day it is not so bad but on a Friday and Saturday night it can become a little unpleasant.
Kings Cross train station about a five minute walk, hotel close to the nightlife, if that's your thing.

If all you need is a place to stay this hotel ticks all the boxes. Not concerned about ambience or grand and spacious foyers? Devere is what is politely termed as 'quaint' and 'budget'. Remember you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snickers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great value for money. Needed a place to stay asap and they were the best we found. Actually cheap for great value.
Was just what we needed. Nothing fancy. Just a place to stay.
Would recommend to backpackers & people not looking to spend too much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Shalee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Hi,

When we arrive to hotel, they welcome us with good news-they upgrade our room on superior (room nr 205) for free - for 79A$/night is super deal.

Room was clean, with some space for our backpacks. Toilet with little bath (it was more shower) and hairdryier was equiped.

The only thing was a pretty small bed (was for two people, but I think it has 170cm wide) - just be ready for this or ask staff for bigger bed.

Staff was friendly, takes 20A$ as key deposit, they also have the small discount cards with a lot of books/travelguides there.

If you want to visit city by foot (as we do), dont be affraid - it takes you cca 15-20 min to Opera ;)

I can recommend this accomodation for people who want cheap and easy going rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Díša M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed twice – once for a week and once for one night.
I opted for a room with a harbour view and I have to say the view was worth it
I appreciated the view morning and evening and also during a thunderstorm too.

The location is good – you can easily walk to the Kings Cross railway station, or to Oxford street, or to Hyde park, or down to the nearest bay

The breakfast buffet was great for me.
.
Considering the price I paid, there are a couple of things I didn’t appreciate: The carpet (in both the rooms I had) was heavily stained.
The towel changes and bed making was either really late afternoon, or at one time early in the morning (the maid was sitting on the stairs waiting for me to open my door, and go to breakfast. I think she might have been trying to see if I had anyone staying with me for the night, as this is not allowed)

I did have 2 incidents of where my key would not open the door. Both times there was someone from maintenance helping me within minutes and able to fix the problems.

Re the location being close to Kings Cross – I was quite apprehensive, but it’s actually quite amusing. It’s just a big mix of tourists, sex club workers, pie shops, kebab shops, tourist hostels, bars, a tourist information booth, flight booking centres, more pie shops and a few drunks and down and outs

Room Tip: My Harbour view room was well worth it!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImASunseekerMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel was very nice and basic. the room was small. Location was convenient but not safe at night (near kings cross). The staff were nice. However the staff at breakfast were really rude and one of them was picking on the buffet food with her bare hands and eating in front of everyone while talking to the other staff members in Chinese.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were nice but extra 10 - 20 dollars per night maybe not worthed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

In August 2012, we were staying at this hotel. The hotel is well located in this wonderfull city. The room is well equipped and not that expensive. The only minor of our room was the high temperature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 178 in Sydney
182 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#131 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
856 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#109 of 178 in Sydney
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £60 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing