We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still waiting to check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still waiting to check in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have now been waiting for an hour to check in, 1 1/2 hours after check in opened. Only offer of a free drink, not good enough

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Zoewolf,

Thank you for the gift of feedback and I apologise for your late check in experience and the inconvenience this has caused you. While we endeavour every effort to check in guests as soon as we can, there may be times when delays happen. Your feedback is very important to us as it enables us to better understand how we may improve areas of service where we strive to meet and exceed guests expectations. As such I would welcome if you could contact me at the hotel directly, regarding the details, so I may personally follow up. I look forward to speaking with you and hope this incident will not deter you from staying with us.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    1,451
    616
    219
    158
See reviews for
381
1,250
222
1,060
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the harbour view room and had great unobstructed view of the harbour. The size of the room is reasonable but what's important was that it was very clean. Service was excellent in all departments. The buffet breakfast at the hotel had a lot of variety and was really good. So was the buffet seafood dinner.
Best of all, the hotel was within walking distance to Darling Harbour which was great. I think it took us less than 5 minutes to get to Darling Harbour from the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay at Four Points.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear scgs,

It was a delight to read your excellent review and thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to know that we have met your expectations on all aspects of your stay, from the good location of our hotel, the size, comfort and cleanliness of the guest room, service delivery and your dining experience. I will certainly share your favourable comments to the team. Again, thanks for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Well, I’m a Starwood junkie and love to rack up those SPG points. I could have stayed at the Westin, but decided to stay at the Four Points based on the location and the walk to the Convention Center. I looked online and the property looked like a top notch Four Points property. Well, upon my arrival, there was no one at the door to offer assistance. I walked to the front desk and checked-in with the property SPG guest service agent. The process was flawless and was given my room key. I was given room 666…. I know what your thinking, but I’m open minded. As I entered my room, I hoenstly felt that I just walked into a Motel 6 room. The room was plain, small bathroom, no heavenly bed, pillows were not to “Brand Standard” no plastic cups-based on the amount of bacteria that can be gathered on the glassess, plastic should always be an option for the guest, mini bar looked like the property was on rashions, no slippers, no bottle water, and no robes. Bar lounge is tied into a small scaled resturant/café- you’re better off walking out the door and going to the pub next door. The resturant can be compared to a cafeteria setting. Room service menu is way overly priced with very few selections. If you plan to visit Sydney and you’re an SPG member-choose the Westin..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Angel A,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay in particular for the shortfall in the arrival experience and room appearance. You may appreciate to know that room enhancements are part of our capital expenditure plan and when completed will give our rooms a new, modern and revitalised look. As a valued Starwood and SPG member I would welcome the opportunity for you to contact me directly at the hotel so we may arrange for you to experience one of the new rooms including enhance amenities on your next visit. We value your feedback and thank you also for your comments concerning room service menu and pricing, On a positive side, I am pleased to know that you do recommend our pub at the Dundee Arms next door which provides more options with a point of difference. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Yours sincerely,
.

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the last few years. The level of service, furnishings and welcome just keep getting better. From check in to check out the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly and set the standard for service in Sydney. Great value. We will be back again

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney and taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your patronage of our hotel and I am delighted that you are happy with our services and facilities. We always do our best efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful experience and I am glad to know that you will be returning to stay with us. Again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to your next stay in Sydney, hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here in three nights. Good sized room. But no dressing robes nor slippers provided and no complimentary mineral water. Our room unfortunately faced part of the car park with offices and a gym at the far end. But we were walking distance to the Aquarium at Darling Harbour and the shopping centres.

However, service was very good and fast especially when we requested a couple of blankets for our room. Breakfast was varied. Great to have a variety eg. Japanese food instead of the usual bacon, sausage and eggs. Huge range of fruit which I love. Complimentary breakfast included after our third night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aster_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear aster_palms,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your views online. I am glad to know that you were happy with our service delivery and our great location which is just a short stroll to Darling Harbour, local attractions, shopping and entertainment venues. I appreciate your favourable comments concerning your dining experience at our Corn Exchange Restaurant. We have made a number of enhancements in our dining venues, from food quality, presentation and menus offering a variety of food options to our guests. As for the slippers and robes, while these are not standard items in all our guest rooms, they can be provided on request. Again, thanks for the gift of feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points and hopefully you can try our harbour view rooms on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. We were even upgraded to a suite. The view was wonderful of darling harbour. So much so that we didn't close the curtain a night so we could enjoy the view. The breakfast buffet is excellent, great variety of food and the staff are always willing to help. The check in staff were also lovely and helpful. We were there for hair expo and because the hotel is so close to the convention centre and darling harbour, we could walk everywhere, which saves on taxi fares. We will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was in a great location, and upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff. Everything was handled promptly, and we were given a room with a gorgeous view of the harbour. The buffet breakfast was good, and in-room dining was not too bad either! For the low price one is paying, this is an excellent hotel no doubt, home away from home! :)

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Dudsy00,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location and warm hospitality. It is always a delight when we receive positive comments and learn that our guests had a wonderful experience at our hotel. I certainly appreciate your gift of feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing