We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff and Location in Darling Harbour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #78 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Charters Towers, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Location in Darling Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I and a friend stayed at this venue last weekend and can not rate it highly enough. On arrival we found our booking had been lost by the travel company that made it, but Trae was very helpful, patient and courteous in handing the matter. When all was sorted, he upgraded us to a water view room without even us expecting it. All the staff were amazing and very helpful and friendly.

Our room was very spacious as we had 2 single beds (which were so comfortable it felt like sleeping on a cloud), extremely clean and the views to die for.

The accommodation was very close and only a short walk to everywhere we had to go - from Allsports Arena (caught the train at Town Hall Station), Lyric Theatre and the Capitol Theatre. Being so close to the walking bridge to cross to the shopping complex and Lyric Theatre on the other side was a breeze.

I can not rate this Sheraton venue highly enough and will definitely stay here again when in Sydney.

Everything was excellent making for a very happy and pleasurable stay. Thank you Four Points by Sheraton.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a water view room, you will not be disappointed. Rooms are just as good on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Debra D,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour and for your excellent review! We appreciate the very kind words and we are happy to know that our associates looked after you to ensure you have an uncomplicated and enjoyable stay with us. I will make sure to pass on your complimentary comments to the whole team. Indeed, we have a great location in Sydney, a short stroll to shopping, transport and an array of exciting entertainment venues and we hope you were able to take advantage of our proximity to visit many of the city’s highlights. Thank you for your Tripadvisor post and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    1,424
    600
    204
    150
See reviews for
370
1,223
219
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just had a 2 week stay at the 4 Points and cannot say one bad word about it. Nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Buffet breakfast and dinner were exceptional, plenty to choose from and delicious. A special thanks to Patrick in the dining room,, always friendly and ensured I was looked after every time I dined there and made sure I had my cappuccino in the morning ! The hotel need to make sure Patrick is recognised for exceptional customer service. Hotel close to Darling Harbour and city centre. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone holidaying in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi gail1470,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are certainly thrilled to learn that all aspects of your stay were met to your expectations. Favourable reviews particularly on our associates’ fine service are a delight to read and surely encourages us more to improve our services and facilities. Your recognition of Patrick’s wonderful service and your complimentary comments will certainly be shared with him, his superior and the whole team. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel just has it all. Fantastic rooms with the view of the darling harbour. A 2 min walk to all the major shopping on market street. The staff is par excellence. Each and every staff from the front desk, concierge, restaurants is one better than the other. A true gem in sydney. Don't think twice just book yourself here and trust me it will be worth it. Loved our 4 days stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Karan T,

What fantastic feedback! We are thrilled to read your positive comments and to learn that all aspects of your stay were met to your satisfaction. Your kind words, particularly, on the fine service of our associates, are most appreciated. It gives me great pleasure to work with a dedicated and service-oriented team! We look forward to delighting you once again on your next visit to our hotel. Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed over for a couple of nights fantastic location just minutes from Darling Harbour. Comfortable and clean good base but spent most of our time outside the hotel. Easy shuttle (not free) to the airport. Would recommend and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Moira K,

Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at this property for 3 nights during the mother's day celebration. Hotel checked in was smooth and front desk staff were attentive to my needs. I was allowed an early check in and received a free upgrade to a suite in recognition of my SPG status. I was delighted we were given high floor with excellent view over Darling harbor and Cockle Bay. The hotel was strategically located to major attractions.

5 minutes walk to Aquarium, darling harbor bridge, 20-25 minutes walk to Opera house/ The rock through George street.

I would recommend stay for this property facing harbour view on Saturdays lay over. You would be able to witness fireworks at about 8pm :)

I Would definitely return on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Alvin C,

Thank you for your excellent review! Meeting and exceeding guest expectations is important to us and it is very reassuring to know that all aspects of your stay were met to your satisfaction. Further, we are delighted to learn that our associates look after you to ensure you have an uncomplicated an enjoyable experience with us. We trust that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to explore the city’s many exciting attractions and entertainment venues, and of course to watch the spectacular fireworks display at Darling Harbour. We certainly look forward to your return visit, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel from May 9th to May 13th. Room with harbour view was great, clean, service pretty good (especially day shift) and the breakfast buffet was great. The location is just great if you are looking to do some tourist sightseeing. Concierge is also very helpful in planning those touristy activities. You get value for your money. The reason we rate this hotel only 3 stars, is because they charge for Wifi (49 AUD for 3 days!!) and bottled water. This gives the impression they try and rip their guests off with, while still charging healthy room prices. We would try another hotel when back in Sydney.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Erik R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback online. We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments as such allow us the opportunity to learn where we did well and those we need to improve on. We apologise for not meeting your expectations on some areas and rest assured we value such feedback as we continue to make improvements to enhance our guest experience. Although you have indicated that you would try another hotel next time you are in Sydney, we do hope that we could welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

As usual this hotels keep a good standard, Good restaurant and a rick Breafast, Location perfect if you are out walking 30 min to Sydney Opera walking and 5 min to Hard Rock Cafe.

Rooms OK even if they feelt a bit naked

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi JHE,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel. We hope you were able to take advantage of our proximity to visit many local attractions and to explore the city’s highlights. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta Mc Donald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing