We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros n Cons of it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #78 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pros n Cons of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Pro:
1. Superb harbour view, could see the firework and fountains directly from the room

2. Good location, accessible to various attractions within walking distance

3. Friendly and helpful front desk staff and concierge



Con
1. No slipper, tooth brush, comb provided

2. Bathing was unpleasant - water was too hot. When shifting the mixer tap to the cold end, minimal water came out. Essentially, can't get a comfortable bath at all (I actually have relatively high tolerance to hot water)

3. Insufficient advice for breakfast options. I was not told I could order the order the omelette from the service staff. Breakfast menu too repetitive day after day, only minimal changes of 2-3 dishes

4. Wardrobe a but dusty

5. Room service was inconsistence , first day was good , 2nd day onwards was so-so

Room Tip: Harbour View if you can afford , we had on the 4th floor which was quite good , not too low nor too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KolaXiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi KolaXiong,

Thankyou for your review and taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments as they allow us the opportunity to learn areas where we did well and those we need to improve on. Such feedback is important to us as we continue to make improvements on our product, facilities and services to enhance our guest experience. Rest assured, I have shared your comments with the relevant Department Heads for their attention and follow-up. Thank you for your post and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    1,424
    600
    204
    150
See reviews for
370
1,223
219
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on the 18.6.14 and we could not be happier. The room was quiet, clean and had a great view of Darling Harbour. It is close to everything in Darling Harbour and on our way back to airport after checking out, we realised we had forgotten our iPad and I rang the hotel and it was sent back to us on the same day. Thank you Four Points. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Looly1,

Thank you for your favourable review and sharing your impressions of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable and uncomplicated stay with us. Further, it is pleasing to know that we were able to assist in locating your personal item and sending it back to you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very good hotel and location, BUT, beware of unauthorised charges made to your credit card. Even if you have paid in full for your booking in advance, this hotel will insist on taking details of a credit card on check-in.
We arrived at this hotel with printed reservation confirmation and printed pre-paid vouchers. At reception we were informed that our reservation had been cancelled, but they were unable to tell us how the reservation had been cancelled or by whom. After a lengthy delay, we were eventually allocated rooms. I must say at this point that the rooms were excellent.
When checking-out, three days later, we were presented with a bill for accommodation charges in excess of A$500. After another lengthy delay and production of the pre-paid vouchers, issued by British Airways Holidays, AGAIN, the accommodation charges were deducted from our bill.
We checked out of the hotel on 27th April '14. On receipt of my next Am X bill, dated 3rd May, approx. £300 of unauthorised accommodation charges had been made to this credit charge by Four Points by Sheraton Sydney.
These charges were made known to BA Holidays, who assured me that they would investigate the issue. I was later informed that the hotel would refund these charges as soon as possible. A month later, on receipt of my next Am X bill, the charges had NOT been refunded. After further conversations and e-mails with/to BA, who have been most apologetic and helpful throughout, an immediate refund was promised once again.
As at today's date, more than 7 weeks after leaving the hotel, my funds, taken without authorisation, are STILL being withheld by Four Points by Sheraton, Sydney.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a 'Harbour View'.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Philip J,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to provide feedback. We sincerely apologise for the confusion and the inconvenience caused to you on this occasion. We take such matters seriously and I understand that the billing issue has been addressed. Please do let me know directly should you still have any concerns so I may be able to assist. We hope this experience will not discourage you from visiting us again, and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour in the future.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hi we stayed there for two nights. First impressions were good, but changed. I had asked for a room with a bath but none were available and with terrible hip pain I was disappointed to only get a shower. I was offered a room but for an extra $800 for the two nights! The room was nice and clean, no view, but everything was in working order. Bed was comfy but pillows were too soft and you couldn't sit upright to read in the bed as the rock hard headboard made it impossible. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were superb. Friendly and efficient. Room service was really good too with lots of extra nice touches. Food was lovely. We had a dinner in the ballroom which wasn't so lovely. Stone cold food, rock hard chicken and lumpy mashed potatoes and cold veg. Overcooked hard salmon. The wine was horrible so I went and bought my self a decent bottle from the bar. The desserts were nice. Breakfast too was a let down. Could have been great. Food overall was lovely, lots of selections and plenty to eat. The problem was the service, both mornings I had to ask for a teaspoon and more sugar as none was left the table. Both mornings I asked for English breakfast tea and eventually after about ten minutes I got another tea, not the one I wanted. Both mornings I had to ask for milk. Toaster on the left was on the blink and by the time I had toast that resembled toast my breakfast was cold. On a positive the view from bar eleven was amazing ad the fireworks a great bonus. Shame the tall Chinese or Asian waiter was the rudest man I have ever met! I asked him a question and he bluntly told me he was too busy and id have to wait! There was no one else at the bar just me! We wanted to know if we could have a bar meal, obviously not! Needless to say we went elsewhere. Concierge staff fantastic. Overall its not bad, but needs a lot of attention to detail and its a shame I was disappointed as it was a weekend away without kids and could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Sydneymorv,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour and for taking the time to provide feedback. We value both your positive and constructive comments as they allow us the opportunity to learn where we have met our guest expectations and areas for improvement. Your complimentary remarks on our comfortable bed, the fine service you received from our Housekeeping and Concierge teams, your in-room dining and Bar Eleven experience are much appreciated. On the other hand, we apologise for the service lapse and inconvenience experienced in other areas. We take such feedback seriously and rest assured, I have shared your comments with the relevant department heads for their attention and follow up and to ensure we consistently delivery our on-brand services at all times. Thank you for your post and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Sydney.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I liked this hotel much more than the Sheraton on the Park. As a SPG Platinum I got upgraded to a Suite without using Suite Awards and it is within short distance to the harbour and casino. I was there for only 1 night and it was awesome!

Room Tip: Face the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brasilwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Brasilwill,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place is conveniently located for Darling Harbour and has easy access to other parts of the Sydney CBD. As other reviews have stated, the staff are friendly and helpful, the service is generally very good. Breakfast and wifi were included in the package I got and both were above average for hotels of this type. The lobby bar is pretty small and devoid of any ambience whatsoever. I had a late night snack and it was OK but not great - the sort of thing you'd expect in a tourist hotel late at night. Rooms are comfortable and mine was quiet. Pillows were good. No bath, showers only. Shampoo & soap etc. were fine quality and enough provided. I would stay again - the location, the staff and wifi/breakfast pull it above the norm.

Room Tip: As always keep away from elevators if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillySpuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi BillySpuds,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to know that overall you had a great experience at our hotel and would consider staying again with us. Your highlights on our excellent location, welcoming and caring associates, and comfortable rooms are much appreciated. Thank you also for your comments on our bar. We do have another bar, Bar Eleven, located on our rooftop with amazing views of Darling Harbour and we would welcome the opportunity for you to experience it on your next visit. Thank you for your Tripadvisor post and we look forward to welcoming you back soon..
Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Second time we have stayed here and enjoyed it again. We believe the location is excellent, pretty much right on Darling Harbour, and easy walking distance to a number of attractions. The ferries are only a short walk away, hop on to get to Circular Quay and where ever you want from there. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops a short walk away. On Saturday nights there is a fireworks display and from the harbour view rooms the show is excellent. Staff are friendly and obliging, always smiling and welcoming. We booked through the hotel website about 2 weeks from our visit, still got as good a price as any booking site, but, I checked the next day and the hotel site had rooms considerably cheaper - but that's the gamble you take - it's a popular tourist location and a popular hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a tourist or haven't been to Darling Harbour before the Harbour view rooms are wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_and_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSS, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Audrey_and_Rusty,

Thank you for your review and staying again at the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments on our great location and caring associates are much appreciated. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to visit many of the city’s highlights. From time to time, our rates do fluctuate given the market demand and volatility. We hope we can welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing