We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So not a Four Seasons!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #29 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So not a Four Seasons!!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in a harbour/opera house view room. The windows were not clean and the decor of the room very dated. Everywhere was "dusty". We did a little survey whilst waiting for our taxi, 2 banana skins were left on a coffee table in the seating are close to the checkin desks. They were there for an hour - surely NOT Four Seasons attitude to litter. Sadly the hotel seemed to be resting on its' laurels.
In saying all of this, the location was really great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear intrepidLondon,

Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback regarding your recent stay with you. I do agree with you that the standards you experienced during your stay were not Four Seasons standard, and for that, I apologise. We are working on these one-off incidents with our Housekeeping team. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location and friendly service, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,177
    1,430
    631
    215
    136
See reviews for
813
2,717
326
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A mark of a great hotel is consistency, and four seasons always delivers the absolute best in service. We originally had planned to stay in another town but had a change in plans in the last minutes. we stayed 3 nights in one of their grand view rooms. when made the reservation for myself, my spouse and our son. when we got there the room was ready with the extra bed already in place. these rooms have amazing view of the Sydney Opera House and are in a perfect location.Everything from when we walked in, to when we last was well done and up to what you expect from a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behruz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Behruz N,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed our views and location. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, the Concierge staff could not have been more helpful and the arrival staff (driveway) was just terrific. However, the front desk staff is perfunctory at best. More than one person was barely able to communicate in English (vs Mandarin, which seemed to be the language of choice). Our travel agent booked us at rack rate here, and though we were provided with an upgrade to "full harbor view" on a high floor (32) the front desk agent seemed to do it with reluctance vs graciously. If you don't know, tipping is pretty much not done in Australia, and the only time I felt uncomfortable about not doing it was when the bellman brought our luggage to the room, he was the only person on the entire trip who "hung around" clearly waiting for a tip. Though the view was great, the room itself was surprisingly small, we had to request luggage racks and when I asked for a larger bathrobe, they didn't have one. It's also a big hotel so we had to contend with "the conference crowd" that was there. The breakfast buffet is good, but only if it's included in your room rate - I don't think any breakfast is worth $35+ per head. Other than being the perfect location, and great concierge staff, this property simply does not live up to our expectations of a Four Seasons Hotel.

Room Tip: High floor. Harbor view (Not Harbor/City view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear NYtravelingcouple,

Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback following your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and the expertise of our concierge staff. I am disappointed to hear that you had some issues with our Front Desk staff. Please be assured that we regularly conduct training sessions for all of our staff which address areas of concern, such as the one you have kindly noted for us in your review.

Should you wish to contact me further about any of the issues you raised, please feel free to email me at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We took the grand harbour view room with adjoining room for the kids - view was exactly what we wanted (Bridge and opera house). Rooms were immaculate, with all excellent facilities and plenty of space. Room service for the kids was great and housekeeping were very good.
Hotel is perfectly located for easy access to the Rocks area or the bridge or opera house and circular quay for ferries. Equally its a nice walk across the bridge to Lunar park or along to Darling Harbour - all in all with views and location this hotel is perfect for a city stay.
Staff at the hotel all very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, concierge excellent.
Overall - an excellent stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Take the harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cc_KL,

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad to hear you had an excellent stay with your family. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this truly 5 star hotel and were mesmerized by the Opera and Bridge View room. The food was exceptionally well prepared and the staff was solicitous and friendly. Location, location, location is what makes this hotel beyond 5 stars. Its in the Rocks Quay area, close to the ferries, the highly efficient train to the airport, the botanical garden and close to wonderful walking tours in the HarborQuay and great shopping on George Street.
I would recommend this hotel as a standard for all other hotels to emulate..
Well done

Room Tip: Try to get a package with breakfast and an extra day included. Ask for a high floor, 24 and above w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 368Sydney18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 368Sydney18,

Thank you for your great review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney. I'm delighted to hear you had an exceptional stay, and enjoyed our great location. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was fantastic in everyway, stayed in a club room over looking the Opera House and Harbour bridge. Every morning I would wake up and think WOW The views were fantastic, I would sit at the window every morning with a cup of tea and watch the sun rise I felt extremley lucky. The room was extremley spacious but cosey with a very warm feel. The beds were fabulous very big and comfy.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greated by very friendly staff who could not do enough for you from the moment we stepped out of our car. I would most definitely reccomend doing the club package which gived you access to the club lounge at the top of the hotel, the food was very good especially breakfast and again the staff were amazing and worked extremley hard.

The location of the hotel is perfect situated very close to the opera house and harbour bridge, the hop on hop off bus startes and finishes just outside the hotel, really was best situated to explore the great city of sydney. There were very nice restaurants and bars close by and great shopping within walking distance.

Myself and my family really did love this hotel and we have all decided we will be back very soon as not only loved the hotel but loved Sydney. Would reccommend to anyone staying in Sydney

Room Tip: Club room with Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeGWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear LukeGWW,

Thank you for your lovely words following your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

A good, large hotel very close to the harbour, opera house and the rocks. The service was good and the rooms are fine. There is a bar that looks onto George street where you can sit for hours and do people watching.
I did however feel that the hotel did not live up to Four Seasons standards.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Reenwoud,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay, however, I would love to hear from you further about the ways in which we could improve our standards, as I see you travel to many Four Seasons properties globally. Please do feel free to email me at david.macklin@fourseasons.com, should you wish to discuss further.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,317 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing