We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
South Pacific
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So so stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nothing spectacular, actually a bit ordinary with lots of ordinary guest rooms with pretty ordinary views. Lots of missed opportunities I imagine to profile premium guests for upgrading to their showcase rooms to entice them back. Need to do up access to pool. Overall a pretty ordinary Four Seasons that must struggle to keep up with the competition e.g. the Shangri-La next door where we stayed this time last year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGRL100313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a memorable stay with us. On behalf of the hotel, I sincerely apologise. We are always aiming to leave our guests with a great experience of memorable service, and on this occasion, I see we missed the mark. Should you choose to return to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, please do let us know so we can do our utmost to restore your faith in us.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,930
    1,342
    591
    199
    131
See reviews for
750
2,502
307
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Four Seasons Sydney after finding a great deal on Expedia. Our room on the 30th floor had a fantastic view over Circular Quay. Service was what you would expect from a 5 star hotel and all staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient. We were asked on check in if we would like to upgrade to a larger room for an extra $90 per night which we declined. Our room was on the small side, as was the bathroom, but otherwise well appointed and spotlessly clean. Décor is a little dated but then we did not spend that much time in our room, being out and about exploring Sydney! Perfect location, close to The Rocks, Circular Quay and public transport. 12 noon check out is a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Robs1958,

Thank you for your review, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the view from your room and our staff and service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were booked in to the Four Seasons Hotel as an engagement present during our visit to Sydney. The hotel was fabulous from start to finish. The entrance hall is beautiful and feels so grand and important. Our bedroom did not disappoint either with an incredible view over Circular Quay and the Opera House etc.
Nothing was too much hassle for staff and room was kept clean throughout our stay. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Claire F,

So glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and belated congratulations on your engagement! We hope we can welcome you back soon for more celebrations.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a return visit to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, we had a fabulous stay last time,so decided a return visit was worthwhile. Unfortunately we found this visit didn't live up to our expectations.
Check in was uncomfortable with both my husband and myself being asked for id as well as an unexpected charge per day being "held' on our credit card. This made me feel as if we were not to be trusted? Think we got off on the wrong foot....
The room was clean, well appointed, with a lovely view of the Harbour Bridge, the memorably comfortable bed was still fantastic. Whenever we had contact with staff they were polite but somehow for us, this visit lacked the 5 star style.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Susan M,

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I hope you do give us a chance in the future to restore your faith in Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, and your next stay is memorable for all the right reasons. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a room on level 27 looking over the Opera House and Bridge. It was worth the extra money for a harbour view room. While the room was relatively small and the decor slightly dated, the service was excellent as expected at a Four Seasons Hotel. The gym and sauna/steam facilities were also good. I would probably book a premier room next time for the additional space. There was some noise from trains sounding their horns as they came into Circular Quay station from time to time, but otherwise fairly quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view on a high floor. Premier room for something a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ausmike_1968,

Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the harbour view from you room, our service and our gym, steam and sauna facilities.

We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was an amazing hotel. Our room was fabulous but quite small with views of the harbour, the Opera House and the bridge. We couldn't have asked for more. Of course the dining was very good with a generous buffet and the location of the hotel was great too. I believe we also benefited from a recent update of the hotel. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of course is fabulous so close to the harbour with iconic views of bridge and opera house just by crossing the road. However what stood out for me was the considerable emphasis on customer service. At check in the receptionist went out of her way to make the experience personable and at check out I was waiting for someone to be free and a member of staff came off the floor to serve me at a spare desk. Every staff member I encountered had a smile and a hello.

Room was well equipped from towels to toiletries, quiet, plenty of power outlets for diverse devices and really great pillows. A clear glass desk made the room feel uncluttered and a proper work chair was welcome.

This was a business trip and over 300 people at an award dinner were catered for by a well-coordinated, unobtrusive team.

It's not cheap of course but I reckon I had good value for money. Final plus point is the easy access to the airport, only 15 min from circular quay station.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are likely of To be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Vanessa A,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel in your review. I'm pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing