We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #28 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Can't fault the service or the location. It is so near the Sydney harbour, Circular Quay train station which also made going to the airport such a breeze. The room was always made up perfectly by the staff in the morning and during turn down. Locally produced oiletries were wonderful. Very comfy bed and quiet room facing the city. The gym is well equipped and maintained with a lovely view of the opera house.
The room however was a bit small. The property had a very 70s look but well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,114
    1,416
    620
    209
    135
See reviews for
794
2,664
323
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this hotel for two reasons - location and Four Seasons reputation

Sadly this hotel is a Four Seasons hotel only by name.

Booked full harbour view room but the room was small and really tired on 28th floor. Had crayon marks on bathroom wall, Chair in room was broken, insufficient space for long stay guests, had to ask for towels to be sent up as insufficient for 2 people, only one bathrobe.

No Menus provided for either restaurants in room. All info was supposed to be on the information system on the TV - but wasn't.

Pool was terrible compared to FS Hong Kong were we had just arrived from.

It was our 30th wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. We had let the hotel know this on booking and via telephone when we called to confirm booking was ok. Reading other reviews, I don't know what other people did or said but we received nothing as recognition. In Hong Kong we were upgraded to a suite, champagne and birthday cake provided, hand written notes congratulating us on our anniversary and birthday. This was compounded by our daughter, who lives in Sydney, going in to the hotel before we arrived to ask if she could provide champagne to be in room for our arrival. She was told there was no need as the hotel knew it was a special occasion and would be providing something. When we received nothing our daughter was rightly upset and annoyed.

The room we were allocated was right by the lifts and noisy. Given we were staying for 12 days we requested alternative room. We asked on four separate occasions for a room away from lifts but nothing was done. On 4th occasion we were given an option to address location. Pay $2500 for upgrade to suite. In the end we gave up.

Breakfast buffet was both expensive and most days cold. And number of times we had to send the bill back because it was incorrect.

Level of service received was what you could only call inconsistent. Staff in the Grain were excellent, some of the staff at breakfast were excellent whilst others were not. Concierge was helpful.

The attention to detail that we expect from a Four Seasons hotel was sadly lacking. I have had better experiences at 2 & 3* hotels than this.

On a positive note, the location is excellent for The Rocks, Ferries, Opera House, shopping.

Would we recommend FS Sydney to anyone - No

Would we stay there again - No

Note to management. If you want to see what a Four Seasons experience and hotel should really be then visit Hong Kong or New York.

This was not an experience we would ever have expected from a Four Seasons Hotel

Room Tip: Maybe select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pika_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Pika_UK,

Firstly, my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience of your stay. On such a special occasion for your stay, we should have been able to provide you with a wonderful experience. I will be looking at all aspects of your stay very closely, and speaking with the relevant team members involved to see why our standards were not met on so many instances.

If you would like to forward me any further feedback, I would welcome hearing from you at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

In the meantime, I wish you safe travels.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just steps away from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and all the sights, ferries etc.

The hotel is as you would expect from a city centre Four Seasons however it does lack that personal touch and parking is a nightmare! Definitely ask for a room with a harbour view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for my birthday recently for 2 nights. Room was sensational but unbelievable views over the harbour ( was a full harbour view room). If you are like me and wanted to pay a little extra for a top quality hotel as a treat book this room as it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were greeted on arrival by the very pleasant and efficient staff. The lobby is a nice place to be and the breakfast buffet is one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had. The pool area would be nice in summer and the common areas have a refreshing open feel for an inner city hotel. We could not fault the room and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the curved chair that was in our room. To pick a fault I would say that the bathtub was a bit narrow to be useful even though neither of us are large, but I am just nitpicking for the sake of the review. The rest of the bathroom was great. The hotel location is perfect for site seeing and our room had a great view. The train station is practically over the road from the hotel.

I felt the most impressive aspect of the hotel is the housekeeping staff. This hotel is perfect for tourists and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Only had one night here on the way to a conference, the staff were efficient and friendly , room service was good and not too expensive.

Located close to Darling harbour, I would highly recommend. Breakfast as expected was also good, lots of choices.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank foofernoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were in Sydney for a big rugby match and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Fantastic service.
We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. Check in was a breeze. Staff were very pleasant. Even our 9 yr old felt extra special as he was spoken to and mentioned by name. We were up on the 30th floor - Full harbor view room. As expected, room was spacious and clean, view was amazing - Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay and the Harbour Bridge! It's nice to just sit by the window and watch the world go by. Bed was comfortable, I had a really good sleep. Free Wifi! Excellent location! 2mins walk to the train station, 2mins walk to The Rocks, 2mins walk to Circular Quay for whale watching. Lots of cafes and pubs in the area. In all, we had a perfect stay! Four Seasons is my first choice for Sydney City Centre :)

Room Tip: High floor, full harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,285 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing