We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place in The Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming place in The Rocks”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

A lovely, quaint hotel just 3 levels high. Warm, cosy setting with very friendly and attentive staff. We stayed 2 nights and loved the close proximity to restaurants and cafes, and the Circular Quay ferry and train terminals. The main attraction was being in the heart of The Rocks and all its history! There is a dummy waiter-like lift only for luggage so rooms are reached via stairs but that's all part of the experience :) Lots of people have evening drinks at the bar which doubles up as the reception (I know, sounds weird but it works here!).

Room Tip: We stayed in 221 and you can hear a nearby band in the daytime but it got pretty quiet at night so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    423
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
692
62
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

we stayed here one night only as a stopover & it was a very pleasant experience.the rooms are very modern with everything there for you & good free toiletries aswell.The staff here are smartly dressed,well spoken,very polite & courteous .nothing was a problem here & everything was sorted for you.this hotel is not for groups but ideal for couples & families.there is lots of bars & eateries nearby.You are in 2 minutes walking distance from The Harbour Bridge & 5 minutes walk from the Opera house.the main shopping area is a 10 minute stroll away.i would recommend this hotel for that special occasion & would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petertoonarmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels in the world. It's not particular cheap but is a great boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful. I used to go to this hotel whenever I was in Sydney on business but then my company made a rule that you had to stay in a Sheraton or Westin when on business. A great shame.

Ideally placed for the restaurants and bars on the Rocks and not far from Circular Quay.

Try it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singaporemark56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Rocks for three nights over New Year's 2013. We booked a room with two queen beds. When we were shown to our room, there was one queen bed and one pull-out sofa bed with an old, thin uncomfortable mattress. When we expressed our dismay at seeing only the one real bed, the staffer explained that NONE of the hotel rooms have more than one real bed. That is deceptive to advertise the hotel accommodations so misleadingly.

The air conditioner buzzed ALL night long, even when it was off! When it was on, the air blew right on top of the beds. No way to focus the air up to the ceiling, or at least not onto your body while you are trying to sleep.

The bathroom sink was tiny tiny tiny, and had a tall faucet, with a shelf right above the faucet. This made it impossible to get your face over the sink to brush your teeth or wash your face, without getting water on the floor. Who designed this bathroom?

The bathroom door was the heaviest door we have ever encountered in a hotel. It was heavier than the room door leading to the hallway. It had an automatic closure to it, and a latch so you could hook it to the wall in the open position. This was annoying for healthy adults, but would have been impossible for my elderly mother, had she stayed at this hotel, and could be very bad for guests with young children -- who could easily be knocked over by the auto-closing door.

We had a street-facing room along the main drag. EVERY morning we were treated to loud trucks making their deliveries, starting at 5:30 a.m. -- old thin windows.

Television was smallest tv in all the hotels we stayed at in Australia. And it was soooooooo slow to start up. Made my old 12-year old tv at home seem positively speedy in comparison.

In addition, there was no elevator in the hotel and we were on the third floor. If you're a healthy adult, no problem. If you have walking issues or are elderly, this would be a VERY annoying attribute.

The only reason good things about this hotel is that all the staff were very nice, and the room service food was good.

But overall, during our two-week trip to Australia for the holidays, where we stayed at numerous hotels, this was the WORST by far. Great location, and I can see if you only needed one real bed, it could work. But we also stayed at the Sir Stamford, and the Radisson, both in Sydney at various points in the trip, and they were great. Real beds, elevators, sound-proofed rooms, roominess, real bathrooms with real, normal sized sinks!! Imagine that!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We at ayes over New Year 2012/ 2013. It was a wonderful stay. The price was obviously more expensive over a couple of the nights, but everywhere in Sydney was the same! The location was brilliant, the rooms very good and the downstairs bar was very small, but very good. Staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location just a few minutes away from Circular Quay and within an easy walk to the Opera House. We've stayed here several times before on trips from the UK and were intrigued to see the recent refurbishments which have been done with style and imagination. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a good sized bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean with a housekeeping team who clearly take pride in their work. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay nowhere else in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy. Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing