We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #41 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dysart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel was lovely, quaint and right in the middle of an exciting area which was vibrant and alive! The management were very helpful in acommodating my very elderly parents by putting them in a room that required the least amount of climbing stairs. We were thrilled to be able to check in early as we had just disembarked from a cruise ship amd didn't want to have to lug our luggage around. The rooms were spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank macgregor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    429
    138
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
703
62
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April.
Positives of our stay: great location, good a la carte breakfast and dinner menu and comfortable beds.

Negatives of our stay: when we arrived we were given a room over looking the courtyard on the ground floor, which was a good size and had a good sized bathroom however the happy hour meant that there was lack of privacy and noise issues right outside the room (curtains and blinds had to be drawn the entire time for privacy), if you're not bothered by this then overall it is a nice room but we asked to be moved as it felt a little "open". We looked at two further rooms but the bathrooms were tiny, barely enough room to sit on the toilet. The rooms are comfortable but just on the small side - especially the bathrooms. They offered us the king room but the bathroom was the same size so didn't seem worth paying more. The service was ok, but they didn't really seemed that bothered that we were not happy with our room and did not come back to us on the Sunday as planned - I would expect more from a 5 star hotel .

The service in this hotel is friendly but I think they were a little understaffed at reception at times.

Great location but I wouldn't stay here again, I think there are lots of other options close to harbour rocks (not in harbour rocks though!) that can offer more space and better service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liviburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Liviburden,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Harbour Rocks Hotel and for the constructive feedback you conveyed, regarding the lapses in service you experienced during your stay with us.

We value all feedback from our guests and appreciate the time that you have taken to inform us of the issues you experienced. At Harbour Rocks Hotel we pride ourselves on our excellent facilities and customer service, which in this instance were lacking and I sincerely apologise.

Please be assured that I have passed on this information to our Front Office Managers, who are using this as an example to the team to ensure that a similar situation does not recur. Due to the Heritage nature of the building, were we not approved to move any walls and therefore some rooms have limited bathroom space for which I apologise. We certainly do have rooms with larger bathrooms and I am disappointed that these were not offered to you as an option.

I apologise once again and I am hopeful we may welcome you back to Harbour Rocks Hotel in the future in order to show you that this level of service is not indicative of our usual high standards.

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel located in a very convenient location. Only minutes walk from the opera house and plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants right outside the doorstep. Also circular quay ferry/bus/train station is right nearby so very easy to get to any where in the city you need to. Fri/sat/sun markets also only 50m away which was lovely. Lots of food stalls and unique designers. Only downside was the street noise coming straight through the windows. Perhaps a room on a higher level towards the back of the hotel would be better. Also make sure you double check the staff have correctly booked your shuttle to the airport as we were waiting around only to be told 20minutes later that they had incorrectly booked it. Then had to pay for a taxi instead.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a wonderful location , we parked the car and didn't need it again until we left. Our room was very small but had everything we needed. There was no on site parking, but there is a Wilsons directly opposite at a discounted rate. All the staff we encountered on our stay were very polite and extremely helpful. Would stay here again

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melovetotrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, it was recommended to me by friends and I can see why. This is a five star hotel, that makes you feel at home from when you first walk in to when you leave. It is in a brilliant location, full of places to see, eat and drink and shop for all types of items. When you are visiting Sydney this is a great place to stay and do whatever you want.

Room Tip: The room that I had was near the reception and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravelpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Uktravelpen

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Harbour Rocks Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is very nice , great location, close to Circular Quay railway station so shopping was no worries. There are lots of stairs and no lift so if you cannot manage stairs you would have to ask for a room on the ground floor.Did not take the car so cannot comment on parking. The hotel restaurant was great and the service was excellent. The hotel is very central to the Rocks and not far from the Opera House, lots to do and able to walk to most places. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lindenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The breakfast was excellent and well cooked. The one dinner we had was delicious. The staff were delightful, the position was good and taxis constantly outside the hotel made life easy. The fact that it was a walk-up was difficult for one of us, being aged, but ground floor rooms were available ( if only I had known). We will be back when next we are in Sydney if a ground floor room is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank happytime_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing