We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    423
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
692
62
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastgreenwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all !!
Great Location, Great Rates, Great Staff that go out of their way to make you feel welcome and exceed your expectations in every way!
Matt,Chris,Emily and the rest of the staff made our stay in Sydney hassle free and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.
We will stay here again and tell all our friends and work colleagues to do so as well.
Thanks again guys for an amazing stay !! Hope to see you soon !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for review!

I appreciate you taking the time to highlight the great location, rates and staff! I’ll be sure to pass this feedback on directly to the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
774 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Whilst the staff are friendly and helpful, the location excellent and common areas stylish, we found our room to be very basic and the bathroom poor. We stayed six nights, booked via our travel agent, and I feel that this was part of the problem, being assigned an internal facing room with no soundproofing. Perhaps had we booked directly with the hotel we may have received better service and value for money. We could hear all the noise from people in the courtyard and also had an intermittent and regular noise that did not appear to be connected to the air con, but kept us both awake, every night, resulting in the worst sleep in Australia! We spoke to staff twice about this but no one appeared interested or willing to look into the source of the noise. The bathroom tried to be industrial but was dated and done on the cheap - even the washbasin pedestal was not square and there were holes in tiles in the shower and bathroom where items had been mis-fitted and moved, with no subsequent attempt to fill the holes. Towels were grey and poor quality and on our first night one was stained with black marks. The toilet seat was cheap and bent when sat on and there was dirt behind the bathroom door that, after 3 days, I cleaned up myself! Three times we had to either ask for the room to be made up or for supplies to be restocked: this should not be necessary in a hotel that aspires to boutique status, and I can only suggest that the owners look at several European boutique hotels for inspiration: Jules et Jim in Paris, Relais Julia in Rome, Porte Leone in Verona or Hotel Indigo, Tower Hill, London. We have stayed in all in the past 18 months and they are excellent in very different ways and push all the buttons that The Harbour Rocks just seems to miss. We were so looking forward to staying here having read reviews and been recommended by our travel agent, but felt let down and very disappointed at the value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay Skippy.

It was disappointing for me to read that your stay did not live up to expectations on this visit. I do appreciate you highlighting where you felt you were let down. I can assure you this information goes a long way to assisting me in improving services for future guests. I apologise if the overall comfort and enjoyment of your stay in was impacted by the shortfalls you have highlighted above.

If you are ever looking to stay in Sydney again, don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.


Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Harbour Rocks is a great place to stay in the center of the old part of Sydney. The service is excellent and the room was comfortable with a beautifull view of the Sydney Opera House. We enjoied the breakfast very much and there is a nice little terrasse to sit and have an afternoon coffee or tea. This is a place I want to return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review!

You are right in saying, we are in top location down in The Rocks. I will be sure to pass on the feedback in regards to the service you received from our team. I’m glad to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast down in Scarlett restaurant!

We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There is an industrial feel to the interior décor but nothing cold or wanting in the provision of the accommodation. The hotel is ideally sited and from our room you could see the Opera House when the cruise liner left! The room had all that was needed including a docking system for the iphone 5 The staff ensured you had all that was required. There are restaurants and eateries nearby which are also listed on trip advisor

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay!

I’m glad to hear you were able to make use of the rooms facilities and that you were able to get a peak of the Opera House once the cruise liner left! I hope you had time to try a few of the wonderful restaurants located near by!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really funky hotel in a great location in Sydney.

We experienced no noise issues and had a room on the inner courtyard. The bathroom was
a fair size with the shower behind the door, although the room was a little dark. I had no issues with the shelf above the sink that everyone mentions on here.

This hotel was a great base for our stay in Sydney!

The car park is literally opposite but expensive. You can also leave the car on the street overnight where the parking meter ends about 6pm I recall. So if you time it carefully, you can save quite a bit of money.

The bar and lounge downstairs is a really nice place to chill. We relaxed here on christmas day whilst playing scrabble!! Although they had some strange rule about not serving alcohol unless you were eating ( weird........only applicable at xmas and easter?!?!) so we ordered a few nibbles and a few glasses of wine!

I would recommend this place to stay in sydney, although the use of an outside pool would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icklenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Icklenal! It sounds like you had a great time with us down in The Rocks!

I’m glad to hear you were able to make use of the hotels facilities and in particular a game of scrabble downstairs! Yes, we do have some different rules in relation to the sale of alcohol at Christmas and Easter, but as you said, all it takes is a few nibbles to go with your drink!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing